Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Spec. Ed, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would share this product with other teachers and parents at my school.

Strengths: This seems like a good product to help kids with specific problems that they are experiencing.
It allows them to choose which tutor they respond to.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not sure there is anything that might need changing.

Possibly some tutors that might give ideas to both teachers and parents about how to help special needs kids learn a particular topic.
Ie-- a few special ed specialists that might provide some ideas about how to accomodate or what could possibly be standing in the way of their learning.

Verdict: This seems to be a viable, students friendly way for kids to access tutoring to solve problems that they are having with their school work.

It is reasonably priced and it was stated that if families cannot afford it--the company willl find a way to allow the student this resource.

They have a very comprehensive way of screening their tutors.

Spec. Ed, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would share this product with other teachers and parents at my school.

Strengths: This seems like a good product to help kids with specific problems that they are experiencing.
It allows them to choose which tutor they respond to.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not sure there is anything that might need changing.

Possibly some tutors that might give ideas to both teachers and parents about how to help special needs kids learn a particular topic.
Ie-- a few special ed specialists that might provide some ideas about how to accomodate or what could possibly be standing in the way of their learning.

Verdict: This seems to be a viable, students friendly way for kids to access tutoring to solve problems that they are having with their school work.

It is reasonably priced and it was stated that if families cannot afford it--the company willl find a way to allow the student this resource.

They have a very comprehensive way of screening their tutors.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product for student who ordinarily could not afford a tutor to have one online everyday all day.

Strengths: This product allows students to have access to a tutoring every day all day which is great especially when some students wait until the wee hours of the morning to do homework or study. The inexpensive nature of the product is definitely its selling point. For less than a pizza your child can get the help they need in order to be a successful student.

Suggestions for Improvement: The only improvements were the ones we talked about which are easy fixes for this company such as making Google drive accessible for tutor and student, as well as adding content. Thanks for a great product.

Verdict: I would recommend it to parents for their students for 15 dollars a month they could have a personal tutor for their child that could help with homework, studying for test, and support other than parent and teacher for their child´s education.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: i would use it as a way for my students, parents, and other teachers to be able to stay connect with each other. It is important for students to get academic support when they are away from school.

Strengths: The program allows for the parents and the students to be able to connect with academic tutors at home. Easily accessible for the students and parents

Suggestions for Improvement: There are really not many things I would change about the program. It will probably make it too complicated. Right now it is very accessible for the students and the parents .

Verdict: I live in a low income area where the students are not exposed to much culture. Therefore, our students lack the real life connection with the lesson. Alot of things are unfamiliar to them. So they would need access to a tutoring program when they are away from school. I can not be with them at home but they can get help 24/7 with program.

Angela, Humanities Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Project Based School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this service with my AVID (college prep program) classes.

Strengths: This service does a great job of providing one-on-one tutoring for students in need of help with specific academic courses. Oftentimes, teachers do not have enough time to provide the one-on-one support that students are in need of and this service addresses that need .

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to use this product with study groups and possibly whole classes to conduct mini-lessons in areas I may not be proficient in teaching. In addition, I would be interested in implementing across schools and districts. Finally, it would be helpful to have a teacher portal that would track student use of the system to give the ability to give participation points in their assigned classes to students using the service.

Verdict: I would recommend this to support the academic development of the AVID program students.

Kahlil, Teacher. School Type: High School, Project Based School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a recommendation for students/parents who want/need tutoring.

Strengths: This product seems quite obvious. All students need help once in a while. Because there is a minute measurement, it is actually affordable. The fact that there is video chat and a white board and chat makes it an excellent, interactive resource.

Suggestions for Improvement: Seems like they are having some technical difficulties in the presentation. Hope that is not a reflectiion of what it would be like for a student to use. They need to change the name PRONTO. It does not communicate who they are and what they do. Also, advertising "free tutorials" is a little misguiding. The product is golden. They should market it accurately.

Verdict: Many, if not all, students need a little help every so often. I appreciate that Gradeslam allows this to happen virtually.

Jordan, Ela Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would recommend this to students who need additional tutoring.

Strengths: I think the fact that this is open to students 24 hours a day is one of its main highlights. However, the fact that it's only $15 a month is very revolutionary. It's unfortunate the tutoring is usually only open to students with quite a bit of money

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if this was integrated with Google Chrome. Moreover, it would be great if teachers could see students conversations with tutors. I know these are both teachers but they are currently working on.

Verdict: I think it's great that students could get tutoring anytime of the day instead of having to schedule dates far ahead of time.

Anita, Sped Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to grade all of the students daily tasks in all subject areas. I could also use it for the task analysis that I do daily for my sped students

Strengths: It would solve the mondane task of grading by hand and would be more effective tool for ALL teachers.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would have to gear it more toward the special ed population
There is nothing else I would change at this point
Once I use it for a while, I may have more to add as to what I might change.

Verdict: This would be an awesome tool for my entire school. My administration would love this tool as well as the ease of using it.

Teacher, School Type: High School, BYOD Devices
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this service for struggling students who cannot stay after for tutoring.

Strengths: It solves the problem of cost involved with tutoring. It also saves parents time, and it also solves the problem which occurs when trying to find a tutor.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think the product does not need improvement. It seems to be perfect for the needs of both students and parents. It also gives teachers a way to offer extra help.

Verdict: I would advocate for it because it makes tutoring accessible for all students, and it is cost accessible.

Dennis, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is a great tool to have students gain access to out of class help.

Strengths: Individualized help. Students can interact with the tutor. Tutor can draw diagrams to help visually.

Suggestions for Improvement: -Not sure if there's a phone mobile version but that would be helpful.
-Time track function where teachers can see how long kids get help for.
-"Share" function where students can share w/ teachers and parents the total time they spend.

Verdict: Students can get further learning opportunities outside of class.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up