Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Math Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would grade tests and homework, I would never lose track of an assignment again and kids would get quicker feedback

Strengths: If it works the way the demo said it would I would not spend as much time grading. The kids would actually use the feedback from test rather than just looking at the grade.

I would be more consistent

Suggestions for Improvement: I cant tell where the uploaded sheets are kept.

I did not see how it dealt with sloppy handwriting

Show an Algebra or Algebra 2 test in the demo, a complete test.

Verdict: It looks to make grading quicker and gets the feedback back to the kids

7th Grade Math / Tech Tosa, School Type: Middle School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Grading

Strengths: 1) Possibility of having very specific data - solves the problem of not having data sorted electronically for teachers to look at
2) Integrates with hand written tests
3) Solves the problem of changing rubrics as we go on, love the ability to create rubrics as we grade.1

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Student name recognition, because 5-10 minutes is a very long time to match up names to tests
2) Integration with LMS (Schoology) for ease of use, without creating new accounts
3) Ability to print graded tests with comments and scores - I do not want another account for students to remember... there are so many accounts already!

Verdict: It seems to be a powerful way to grade consistently. It could be a powerful way to aggregate data, which I'm having more and more trouble with as tests are moving away from multiple choice.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Was not clear on how to implement. I believe you scan assignment and scan student results.

Strengths: It appears to make grading impersonal but potentially more complicated.

Suggestions for Improvement: Clarification on how to set up
Clarification on what students ultimately receive
Clarification on how assignment is recorded

(late in day after eyes glazed over period)

Verdict: It looks very helpful, but time consuming to learn how to use.

Galina, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I think it is similar to Google Floobaru, even though they have more options

Strengths: It gives a lot of useful data for the teacher, and I like the idea of scanning of the test/projects, which is a plus. Visually appealing.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm still looking for an ideal grading tool, which will be easy to use, and give an opportunity for a creative feedback, which will include personal comments along with a grade given. I didn't find it ...

Verdict: It is a helpful tool for teachers, but I'm not sure that they will be willing to put additional effort to use the system.

Music/Behavioral Therapist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this when conducting my research and writing my papers.

Strengths: The highlighting tool is awesome. I like that you can also annotate and also deliver that collected information to be transcribed easily to your paperwork.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am thoroughly impressed with your product. I do not feel there is much need for improvement at this time.

Verdict: I would recommend all schools through higher education implement this tool to refine the search process online and compound tools to facilitate feasibility when conducting research and writing their papers.

Ed Tech Committee, School Type: Elementary School, Higher Education, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To grade short answer assignments.

Strengths: Gradescope makes it possible to load paper assignments and grade them online. It includes feedback mechanisms, rubrics, and all the things that make grading better for students. It also will save us tons of time.

Suggestions for Improvement: Well. I would target community college students and teachers, where the grading burden is much greater because we don't have TAs.

Verdict: The product makes it easy to grade paper-based assignments. Something that hasn't been addressed with all the focus on online submissions and assignments.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: It seems to be a lot more work than they say. To go through and scan all the documents and write the students' names before grading is a lot of work.

Strengths: It makes it easy to use a common rubric and provide instant feedback.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make it grade essays. I would make it so that kids can bubble in their names. I would also make it easier to grade one paper at a time.

Verdict: Its free, which is good. Its a lot more tech intensive and work intensive when the paper isnt an easy grade.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Blended Learning
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to grade papers and for grading consistentcy. I will be able to track student mastery of concepts and grade students' work online and view class statistics.

Strengths: Allowing to see data in one place for my students as a whole and also to differenciate between on-point students to struggling students. The data collected can be useful as a formative assessment that's quick.

Suggestions for Improvement: Having the ability to grade longer essays.

Verdict: This product allow teachers and students to see their progress which will address students' struggles and also to flexibility to modify a lesson or to re-teach a lesson according to data.

Linda, Biology Teachers. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: With 170 students- any way to make grading easier is a huge advantage to me.

Strengths: Looking at, evaluating and sharing student work in an efficient way. Pulling statistics to see where the class had challenges and where they were able to be successful.

Suggestions for Improvement: Link it to google drive/docs. workshops to set it up.

Verdict: If I like it and it works for me, I'd strongly recommend it as a tool to save time and run statistics on student work.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Project Based School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: It doesn't do too much for the grading system in terms of disrupting the way we grade. It's more of a sustaining innovation as it makes grading more efficient but not different.

Strengths: It allows teachers to collaborate to quickly grade paper-based assignments

Suggestions for Improvement: Include an option for students to grade themselves.

Verdict: Our money could be better spent elsewhere since our school is one to one. Most of our students submit work online so the paper-based system doesn't really fit.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up