Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Kindergarten Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This product is an excellent tool for any classroom! Research shows that kids should get up and move about every 20 minutes. Go Noodle provides the resource at your fingertips to achieve this. I have a "favorites" site which GoNoodle helps to set up in minutes. We choose a movement or yoga activity to show to the class and everyone participates. The short activities are motivating are highly motivating to the kids, and they quickly develop favorites! This is so easy to use!

Strengths: This product REALLY does easily provide movement activities that are short and effective for many different ages. I am telling you, the kids LOVE them!! It gets the kids re energized after working and studying. It gets them up and moving! There are activities of various lengths,so you can choose what to use and when, and you can review everything ahead of time and try them out yourself. The site makes some of the videos in house but will also refer you to other safe sites. They do the leg work for you. If you find something else, you can incorporate it into your favorites and have the activity there as well. Go Noodle compiles it all for you into one simple site. It also keeps track of how many minutes they have dances or moved and give class rewards with characters!

Suggestions for Improvement: I would put folders within my favorites to make selection just that much faster. Some of the sites go over the dance moves bit by bit at first, and perhaps more of the dance sequences can do that so kids can learn the moves first. They enjoy them just the same, though, but it would actually teach some of those gross motor skills with more coordination. Last, I would love to see more verbal directions, such as, raise your hands three times, or lets run in place for one minutes. Get some integrated curriculum into that movement!

Verdict: The site help you set it up in a very short time. There are a variety of selections, and they are always sending updates from which to choose. Within the selections, you can review and decide if it is one you want to use with your class, and then have it under your favorites to use access quite easily. You can bookmark it and find it fast!

Lisa, Health And Physical Education Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This program can be used in any classroom to help the students to get some movement in before the lesson begins. Often the children in the lower grades are not moving from classroom to classroom and the inactivity results in children that are not ready and focused for the lesson of the day. I can also see this to be used for indoor recess when the weather is not cooperating and the children can't go outside. Finally some schools do not have a gymnasium for the physical education teachers to use. This could be used for a physical educaiton instruction and help with the students to be intertained.

Strengths: One major strength is that is has the kinesthetic portion that I have not seen in any other program so I feel that it is unique. Another benefit is that it's graphics are spot on for elementary school aged students. I like the fact that the more you do the more the character grows and develops which could help you get a health lesson in as well. The fact that it is free for so much of the program was shocking to me. I will be giving this information to our athletic director so that he is aware of the program and try to get the academic teachers to use it to get more movement in for the children.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love to see a middle school and high school version. This could definately still be used in high school however, it would need to be done in a more limited fashion as some of the students may balk at the animation that has been choosen. Different graphisc for different school levels. We have school for 190 days, so increasing the options would be a suggestion. I know you can add video which is helpful though.

Verdict: First of all it is free, which I was shocked and amazed about. I know that there is a version that included the common core for purchase and I think that is a wonderful idea as well. We have the evidence that movement assists with children and adults for that matter in learning and memory. I try to get my own children to take breaks and go to the gym during their college studies. This can help start the habbit in the younger ages.

1st Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product as an incentive, brain breaks, and inside recess. GoNoddle provides fun videos that keep my students moving but focused. In my class I use GoNoddle as an incentive for my students with good behavior in class. They are able to earn more GoNoddle time and have the opportunity to choose the fun video. If students are antsy or have been seating for a long period of time, I love to give them a little brain break. This gives my students an opportunity to take a short break to move around. I also use GoNoddle if it is raining outside or PE is cancelled. GoNoddle has several inside recess videos for different time increments.

Strengths: This product provides great fun videos that keep students moving and focused. The students want to participate in GoNoddle to help make their champs grow and transform. The best part about GoNoddle is the activities for Tight Spaces.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add educational songs for students to learn and sing along. I would create an interactive Math game where students can input their answers. Also, I would like to have a fun Go Noddle video for doing movements while still seating.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because it provides fun movement videos for kids. Exercise and physical movement is very important for our children. Also, GoNoddle have interactive videos that practice Vocabulary and Spelling Words and Math.

Alma, Special Education Teacher/Autism. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use Go Noodle in my class as a rewards system. As a class, we pick a character and give it a name. We work together to get more and more points until eventually we have enough to upgrade our avatar. I especially like Go Noodle because it is extremely engaging and gets my kids moving.

Strengths: It engages students very well. It helps students with autism take extra and unwanted energies out from their system by doing the yoga and the rest of the dances and exercises. Kids with autism are also visual learners and the video presentations will help them see, move or act out, learn, enjoy and have fun while being able to calm down and focus for the next activities. This product will not only help students focus and learn, but also teach them to enjoy music and have fun. Such a great help for teachers like me!

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if there's an online pre assessment feature that would record the student's capacity to do the movement that way the teacher can compare when after doing the activities for a while, she will be able to see the progress in terms of the student's imitation and gross motor skills.

Verdict: It is easy to use and extremely engaging. My kids would love and beg to use it. It has a lot of amazing free capabilities, plus it has CCSS content aligned to it making it a more attractive purchase to prospective buyers.

Brianna, Classroom Support. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would utilize this program in the classroom as a morning activity to wake the students up and get them ready for the day. It also appears to be an amazing tool for calming students who may be having a difficult day and would lend its self well to indoor recess or PE due to high heat, excessive winds or rain.

Strengths: I think the major strengths of this product are the interactive components and the movement choices (Energizing/calming). The range of different activities available and the ability to set up multiple "classrooms" allowing students to have individual accounts managed by the teacher and whole group activities for team building.

Suggestions for Improvement: First, I would like to see an individual log in for students that would require less oversight by the teacher, for those students who need more movement and expression time. Next, having themes available that are familiar to children, ie..cartoons they watch, star wars or angry birds. Last, Having the points be able to "build" on to the avatar so your champ becomes individual.

Verdict: I would advocate the benefits of letting the students get up and move, which helps to focus during times of teaching. In addition the program allowing for tracking and graduating your avatar allows the children to see and take ownership of their progress.

Shelly, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it when my students are feeling tired in the afternoons since I have a heavy schedule after lunch. My students have cognitive disabilities so have difficulty getting them to focus or sometimes disruptive behaviors increase because they don't want to work hard. I can just click on one of the videos for a brain break.

Strengths: Variety of videos to choose from that matches the age level of the students. Very visual and engaging. Easy to navigate through the website.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would include closed captioning or transcripts for deaf/hh students or classrooms that have poor audio fields. Built in lesson plans. Alignment of ccs to physical education.

Verdict: I would recommend it because our students function at PreK level or lower so they have very short attention spans. The common core standards increased the rigor for them so they are having difficulty maintaining their focus. The administrators spent thousands of dollars on the new sensory room to give the students a brain break but the problem is that all of the students and teachers have to take turns using the room. If a class is having trouble keeping the students focused and the sensory room is being used, the teacher can use this digital resource as an alternative means to help our students refocus.

Ronald, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High School, Higher Education, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, Blended Learning
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: GoNoodle gives you moving or quieting, short activities that all the class can do. This app is written for k-5, but I would definitely like to see it used for Middle School. i particularly liked the quieting tasks which could be appled to transitions between activities.

Strengths: Students have trouble transitioning between one activity and another. This app would provide something predictably different that could be inserted easily at different points in the class to wake students up. I have block periods that last 1 1/2 hours. This is long for me and my students. This would be easy to implement to break up the time. Also, I like the idea that the icon grows as students come back to this app. It gives them a reason to return.

Suggestions for Improvement: Thinking creatively, I would like to see a way for students to create short activities. I even see projects for high school students aimed to use at feeder middle schools or elementary schools. Wouldn't it be neat if a younger brother could be doing an activity created by his older brother. This would involve the activity having some kind of signature to identify the creator.

Verdict: The activities are short and engaging and varied. There are so many of them that the students would always be doing some thing new. It is free.

Rob, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I have used this product as a change of pace with my students, such as to stretch and move after a period of sedentary activity. I teach 4th/5th grade and it seems too "childish" for my 5th graders but they have enjoyed it.

Strengths: I would recommend it for our younger grades TK-3 as a daily activity. I can see using it more regularly with upper elementary now that it does allow importation of You Tube videos.
With that feature, which I learned of today, I anticipate becoming a huge user and advocate of it.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would expand the library of ready made activities to include those more appropriate for Upper Elementary grades.

I would perhaps have a more leveled approach to the dashboard based on age appropriateness.

I would give a better teacher training area so educators can easily see how they can better use this potentially great program.

Verdict: I would recommend it for our younger grades TK-3. I can see using it more regularly with upper elementary IF it could have a more "Tween-Ager" feel to it. When I play oldie songs from You Tube as my own Go Noodle substitute, my students get into it. I would love if GoNoodle did this for me. I am glad to see today that there are such options now.

Technology Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, College Prep School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to regain focus in my classroom. Each class is 40-50 minutes long with students grade 1-5. Students tend to get wiggly or antsy about half way through. I would utilize it to expend extra energy or take brain breaks allowing students to re-focus on the task at hand.

Strengths: It gives dozens of options for needed brain breaks. It shares with teachers many different ways to calm, energize, or refocus their class. It does all this with engaging, no equipment required videos.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) update the graphics. The background is white in many areas and seems less kid friendly or engaging than it really is. 2) from the videos I sampled, it appeared that the dance moves might be a but complicated for younger learners. Maybe the moves could be simpler or taught in the video. 3) as a technology teacher, my room is filled with expensive equipment. It would be nice if there was a section specifically designated for classrooms with limited space, but still get the kids up and moving

Verdict: As elementary school teachers we have all experienced students who need breaks in order to regain focus or composure. It would give every teacher an easy, free set of fun tools to provide those necessary breaks.

4th Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We use this platform pretty much daily with our 4th grade class. The students love their "brain boosts". From guiding dancing to stretching, to so much more to help get their wiggles out and continue to learn.

They are constantly continuing to improve their product. It's always fun to be able to see what they come up with next.

Definitely a must for those teachers. They even have an "indoor recess" mode.

Strengths: One of the strengths of the product is that they are constantly improving. Visually, the champs are engaging to the students. There is thought into which activities to include within the platform.

Suggestions for Improvement: At times it is difficult to find the activity that you want. I would like the ability to "download" a few activities in case the internet goes out... Or possibly even a quick start option that goes right to an activity. I'd love to have little stuffed champs to be able to purchase.

Verdict: I would highly suggest this product for the classroom and for the school. It is easy to implement for each of the classes which is critical when implementing something new. Students love their breaks which is another important part. Plus, it's just good for the students to move around more.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up