Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Science, Math, Coding, and Engineering
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Anna, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to introduce my students to computer programming, specifically game design, as a follow-up to the interest they showed in the Hour of Code activities. Students go through an authentic process of drafting, creating, and publishing an educational game that can be aligned to a teacher's choice of specific content. Students can also choose. Students are exposed not only to programming languages, but also the process of collaboration, research, reflection, and editing. In addition to the real-world application of the skills they would be using, students would also have greater exposure to basic digital literacy skills that they will need for the PARCC assessments, such as click and drag, copy and paste, etc.

The difficulty of implementing this program would be that my students only have access to computers for 30 minutes per week at school. Because the district (AACPS) is currently trying to figure out how to stretch its technology budget to purchase enough screens to implement the PARCC test, it's hard to imagine them being very open to investing in this product, even though its benefits are obvious. My school just received a large donation from developers, so that may be an option for investing in this.

Loved it! Hope to see more like this in the future, to move our "digital natives" from simple app manipulation to a true, deep understanding of how technology works (and how to make it work for them).

Strengths: It does a great job of engaging students and introducing them to computer programming in a childfriendly way. It solves the problem of how to teach students a skill that the teachers themselves may not actually know.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be more affordable : )

Verdict: It provides essential skills, from the obvious computer programming knowledge and skills to more general life skills like persistence and problem solving.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Feb 20, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Our IB Technology class already has a unit on game design. However, many students have found Scratch software to be quite limited, especially when creating multiple levels or cut scenes. Globaloria appears to handle these functions much better.

Globaloria offers a comprehensive curriculum in game design, which is also appealing. This would likely allow for the unit to be extended or expanded to offer a richer game programming experience.

Strengths: This product engages students in learning different subject areas by using the timetested technique of play. We always learn and retain information better when we enjoy what we do.

The product has a wellwritten curriculum to teach game design and programming.

Suggestions for Improvement: Allowing students to code on mobile devices, such as Android and iOS, would allow for a far greater adoption rate due to most students possessing these, but many do not have PC access outside of the classroom.

Reduce the per student price to allow for more schools and district to adopt the software, which would generate exponentially more content and perhaps garner higher interest.

Allow for PARCClike assessment as part of the curriculum to give students more opportunities to practice the test.

Verdict: All of the games are educational, unlike our present unit, which are mostly for entertainment. This provides the double benefit for those who create them and those who play and learn from them.

Cost per student for the entire institution is reasonable. Conversely, it is difficult to secure any funding.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Feb 23, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would replace our present units of study that utilize Scratch, Adobe Fireworks, Photoshop, and Dreamweaver. Instead Globaloria offers a comprehensive course of study of software programming that uses Flash coding.

The aforementioned programs represent approximately one third of the school year and Globaloria more than fills this time block. It could be tailored to individual learner profiles from beginner to advanced and still have more than enough to offer.

Strengths: It offers a comprehensive curriculum for teaching coding as well as offers a lot of fun. Most students love to play games; to make them and allow others to learn by playing them is a win-win.

Suggestions for Improvement: Although learning Flash is valuable and a step up from Scratch's scripting, it is a dying platform. HTML5 is far more valuable and less processor intensive. It also reaches a far broader audience being available on mobile devices. It would require revolution on the company's part to retool this, but you either evolve or fail.

Align to Common Core Standards.

Make it as accessible to all as possible. You might not be able to match Scratch, which is free, but allow my inner city students to have access to this.

Verdict: The product teaching coding in Adobe Flash, which is industry standard as opposed to Scratch's click and drag scripting. If we wish to be the college preparatory school we claim to be we must provide a higher level of rigor and expectations. This would accomplish that.

Tech, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program with my 5th grade technology students. It looks like an excellent tool to go back to the basics of coding AND allow students to create something they all love- games! It would be great for during school activities to enhance coding work, or after school programs.

Strengths: This product is engaging, visually-appealing, and relevant in today's world. I am impressed by the organization and attention to this program by the creators- you can tell that each detail matters. In addition, they are flexible and looking for ways to integrate into the school system in a relevant way. Bravo!

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Add units for 2nd-4th grade students 2. Publicity- teachers and kids need to know about this! :) 3. Strategies for shortening units to do during small "chunks" of time (coding units, extension opportunities in classroom that are student-led, etc.)

Verdict: I would recommend it because it is extremely relevant for today's youth to build upon technology skills by coding. A common quote I heard is that "for every 200,000 tech/coding jobs, LESS than 100,000 people have the skills to fill the positions." Coding is an important skill in today's word, and it is the school system's responsibility to prepare students for the modern day workplace.

Christy, Librarian. School Type: Middle School, Project Based School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a librarian, I'm looking at this company and product for an after school Coding Club. I'm impressed with the self-paced learning for the users, as well as the in-depth training for the adults facilitating these courses. I want to make coding available outside of the school day, especially for girls and students of color --> both underrepresented in the field.

Strengths: access to multiples formats for coding based on student interest: javascript, html5, css, flash; admin/teacher training available with product; access to student progress; self-paced for students

Suggestions for Improvement: cost/accessibility for entire campus; additional code options such as robot c, python, etc.; more advertising of how to use it as extracurricular learning

Verdict: I would recommend so there is access to coding outside of STEM/PLTW/CTE classes for students who are interested in code. This may give students an opportunity to pursue learning in this area and be more accessible to all students, especially those who are unable to fit it into their schedule. The self-paced, online instruction is a great way to access curriculum outside of the school day.

Lori, Special Education Teacher. School Type: High School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product in a number of ways, for APP Club, an after school club that works with students to teach them how to code. We currently use Corona but this is so much better!

I'd use it for myself to create games and apps to teach content and concepts to my Gov and World History students.

And I'd use it in the classroom for the students to code their own games to demonstrate concept understanding.

Strengths: As I said, I've not used the product but I think one of the biggest strengths of this product is its ability to motivate a huge variety of learners.

Suggestions for Improvement: I haven't used it so I am not able to answer this at this time.

Verdict: It will stimulate interest for all students. Students that have difficulty focusing, students that are easily distracted, students who won't participate will all find something about this to like and to motivate them.

Terri, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this in either a dedicated coding class...or possibly an activity as an extension of learning. Possibly even an after school club.

Strengths: I appreciate that this product can be used by beginner coders, but can result in a solid product. It gives real world experience, both in problem solving, and identifying your daily tasks.

Suggestions for Improvement: Did not have much time with the product but possibly the readability of the assignments/text Other than that, until I try it, this would be difficult to answer.

Verdict: In recommending for it, I would mention the many facets. There is a reflection portion which promotes writing, there is individual work, which allows students to work at self pace; There is the ability to apply modifications for special populations. I also like the opportunity for students to attend competitions.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to have this for my students to create a game based on vocabulary acquisition in Spanish or French ie. weather, clothing, sports, etc.

We are required to have sstudents complete quarterly writing projects on different themes.

Strengths: it would allow the student to work independently and use his or her imagination and creative energy to create a product on their own

Suggestions for Improvement: Consider the fact that there are other contents besides Math and STEM Foreign language

Verdict: In that my administrator is a former foreign language teacher he would apprecitae the value of this resource for our students to be more tech savvy and engaged in the learning experience

Rebekah, Library Media Specialist. School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: It is a great way to teach our students about logical thinking in game design. Each game incorporates different design strategies to creativity

Strengths: Love the idea that students get feedback from real game designers how motivational is that?

Suggestions for Improvement: Needs curriculum for primary grades

It might e more of a headache for teachers create yet another login for each student

Verdict: It is a great way to teach conceptual planning on a mathematical plane

Kim, Teacher/Technology Liaison. School Type: Middle School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Student could create video games to demonstrate understanding of content.

Strengths: Fun and engaging for students. Provide resources to teachers and assistance with technical issues.

Suggestions for Improvement: The product is expensive for schools the price ranges from $75 200. The product would benefit students in lion income areas better at a lower cost per student.

Verdict: I believe the program engages students in learning while teaching programming.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up