Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Shannon, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Students have their own lockers and they can use that locker that follows them throughout their years in the county. Warehouse account for students to use and download the content they want. Transient schools can have students easily access their accounts and content. We can access their old graded work.

Strengths: MS office and google are compatible. It's going to travel with students throughout their education in the county. Even if they move around the county frequently, they will not lose their content. Staff can use this for the students permanent files. Great digital application to our conversion for a one to one way to teaching. Single sign ons with various portals. Works with all devices.

Suggestions for Improvement: School or district level purchase. Would be better if the site license was more affordable for title 1 schools

Verdict: BCPS is going one to one. We need collaboration among students as well. Especially when we are allowing students to be independent in their learning. The locker system is ideal. Students will have their locker from pre-k and keep it until they graduate from high school. It's very accessible and versatile. The digital lockers are 10 GB. There is a social wall for communications. Dropbox is wonderful for teachers to use. They can assign things for students and students can have access to this material at school or at home.

Media Specialist, School Type: High School, BYOD Devices
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to collaborate, have students collaborate, manage workflow, and teach social networking concepts.

Strengths: It is a fantastic & secure way for classroom workflow management.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make a "lite" version of this to try at the school level.

Verdict: Love the moderation, and it's a total EDMODO killer.

Intervention Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Use it to deliver my lessons to my intervention students.

Strengths: Content filtering.

Media manipulation

control domain access.

Suggestions for Improvement: I can't think of any.

Verdict: This is a great tool to enhance the classroom organization and instructional delivery.

Kristi, Mathematics Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Home base for everything...It would be my one-stop shop for all of my resources that I want my students to be able to have. They can have access to notes sheets and any other files that I might happen to upload and then they can DO stuff with it. A discussion board capability is there, which would be great for Q&A when students have it. Also nice that everything is filtered

Strengths: Provides a onestop space for students to access classroom materials. Seems easy enough to upload. EXCELLENT filtration system. I'm very impressed that actual human beings are hired to personally filter inappropriate items students may send to each other. Kudos!

Suggestions for Improvement: Grading, grading, grading...There has to be a faster and easier way than to open up 30 word files to check students' homework.

Capability for grades to be exported to Excel? (I'm not saying you don't do this, just didn't think to ask this when we were talking).

Verdict: Definitely recommend, but being Baltimore County PS, its really not a teacher or school's decision at this time. :(

Brian, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Dashboard type program with digital learning environment.

Strengths: Availabilty of rewources. Multiple applications. Filtering

Suggestions for Improvement: All in one capability such as gradebook or reports. Ability to tie standards to content. More storage may be needed as teachers begin to develop a comprehensive library.

Verdict: The possible abilities that are linked and resources available especially with a link to google.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This application can be used to communicate and collaborate with colleagues and students.

Strengths: The fact they use 24/7 monitoring to help prevent students from being exposed to inappropriate material.

Suggestions for Improvement: The fact that a student is logged out after a few minutes of inactivity.

Verdict: The fact that they put energy and effort behind monitoring the web.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would link it as my class page and to upload resources and have students to upload resources because its monitored.

Strengths: I like that the service in monitored by a live person.

Suggestions for Improvement: monitoring.

easy access for teachers.

Student can actively engage with each other.

Verdict: It is monitored.

Maggie, Professional Development Teacher. School Type: High School
Feb 21, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it as yet another tool in my tool belt. It appreas that I could act as a home base from which my class would operate. I could create interactive walls where students could post and respond to each others' ideas, post clarifying videos and graphics, and demonstrate learning and growth over time. I would use it promote collaboration and student accountability and reflection.

Strengths: 1. Safety aligned to guidelines to keep our students safe

2. Organizaiton everything in one place

3. Socialbased learning and infusion of digitallyrich content engagement

4. Student accountability tracking students growth, learning and interactions

Suggestions for Improvement: Unfortunately, I do not know this product wellenough propose enhancements.

Verdict: I like that it seems to be "one-stop stopping." This would help keep me and my students organized, safe and engaged. I like the idea of being able to give my students immediate, high-quality feedback and they could do the same with each other. I do not have enough information to rate higher than a 3.

Jane, Spanish Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use assign work to students ahead of time and have it push out assignments according to a calendar.

Strengths: I really liked how easy it was to use the email and how it looked like a regular inbox.

Suggestions for Improvement: Pull in products so I don't have to attach them.

Make the platform more interesting looking so kids are more excited to use it.

Demo something other than government...not too many teachers teach that subject.

Verdict: I have seen many other products like this and I have other tools that I use to do this. Also, the platform that goes along with the textbook is easier to use by just adding textbook resources from the website.

Amanda, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Student document storage and sharing

Strengths: Love that the locker is used as kive documents where students can make changes and save over the old file

teachers can upload materials for student access

very customizable

cell phone app access

color codes who has accessed and edited what

Suggestions for Improvement: Similar to other programs

Im not sure that I kike that students can use this acct for facebook and other such sites

there is no monitoring of student activity in real time

Verdict: Similar to other search engines but I love that it is a safe engine to use

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up