Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 14, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to communicate with students and parents the progress that it is taking place in the class. I would use it to keep records of each individual student in the portfolio function. Being able to print report cards for parents and students is a great feature.

Strengths: This program allows students to assess their learning instantly and as a teacher it allows me to reteach to those students that are struggling with the content. I would be able to analyze the data that is ba

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add a function in which the reports are printed in Spanish so all parents that struggle with understanding English can still receive all the information in their native language. I would also like for this program to allow teacher to write comments in Spanish to the different app features. I would like for the program to have an activity bank from where I would be able to select assessments for my students.

Verdict: I would recommend this program to teachers that want to communicate with parents and inform them of all the learning that is taking place in the class. The snapshot sections allows for parent to understand what standards are being used and how the content is being taught.

Marc, Teacher. School Type: High School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use FreshGrade to keep track of students' progress and help students and their families organize their class workloads. I would help students keep running logs of their school experience, which they could then save as virtual yearbooks of their academic experience.

Strengths: FreshGrade takes the place of my classroom notebooks and PowerSchool. I would enter assignments, track students' progress with those assignments, and share that progress with students' families. A most valuable classroom asset!

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add multiple language support. I would improve the "virtual yearbook" aspect of FreshGrade, so students would have really nice reminders of their school experience. I would make the program more customizable, so students could take real ownership of the program.

Verdict: I would recommend FreshGrade because it's a very user-friendly and rich system for managing students' academic activity. FreshGrade integrates with PowerSchool, so it's super convenient! FreshGrade also involves parents/guardians, with helpful reminders to teachers to contact families at important moments, or when time has passed between contacts.

David, Physical Educator. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a way of communicating student learning with the students and parents/families. The program makes demonstrating student learning a breeze and allows students to "show-off" their learning to their parents/families. I would use it to assign and track student work and mastery of learning objectives/standards.

Strengths: Social aspect making it fun for students. Engaging for student and parents. In the most perfect world, students would have access to their entire learning from k-12. So this could build excitement around learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: Making information for students more easily transferable from one site to another. Students that may have one teacher that used it at one school and another teacher from another school, but not a school-wide or district-wide program.

Verdict: It takes something that students like (being social) and turns it into a learning and sharing opportunity. It provides parents with an individualized learning portfolio of the their child. Children get to "show-off" there progress.

Leticia, Tech Coordinator. School Type: Elementary School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We are looking for a digital portfolio system that would allow easy parent communication and data / evidence to be "rolled over" K-12. This is EXACTLY what Fresh Grade does.

Strengths: The program allow easy parent communication and data / evidence to be "rolled over" K-12. It also allows for easy data collection and archiving. The app allows for quick uploading of student work. I can't wait to start using it.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Interface / interaction with classDojo or other behavior management systems 2. App on GAFE

Verdict: We are looking for a digital portfolio system that would allow easy parent communication and data / evidence to be "rolled over" K-12. This is EXACTLY what Fresh Grade does. The program is super, duper user friendly and designed to meet a need that we've been trying to make other programs do (which were not written or intended for.) Truly, I have been looking for you for 2years Fresh Grade.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This sounds like the MISIS systme that LAUSD tried to develop but without all the problems we have had. I wish LAUSD had just contracted out. It would have cost more but there would be less trouble than we have been experiencing.

Strengths: Documentation. Sometimes, I send tests home for parents to sign. Right now I have to make a photocopy as back-up for my record, I need to log it in, and then file it into multiple folders. This way, I can keep digital copies, on file, organized, and recorded with calculatiosn done for me. It also helps me to communicate with parents. They can get regular updates, or special positive/negative notifications. Also, it limits the "I lost it." excuse from kids who don;t want to show their parents a negative test result. The eager students want to show off a good grade. The engaged parenst will ask for it. This keeps low performing students and their parents accountable. I have also found that texting parents is less invasive for them and easier both for me and the families. A text is short, to the point, and less intrusive.

Suggestions for Improvement: Parents with multiple children at a school site, twins in different classrooms or the same class, kids with different last names. Consolidating these for parents would help. The push notifications are great. The ease of the apps and phone access is greate. I am still wary about student photos and videos. I have dealt with this before in terms of reporting on behavior, and some parents can object to it.

Verdict: USER- Friendly. The grading applications and the photo capture look great. Data compilation and grade calculation are awesome Parent Communication. The phone app aspect makes it really easy to communicate with parents. Even the poorest families have at least one smart phone. The app makes an easy "basket" to hold the information and not let it get lost within a mountain of e-mails. Most poor families do not have e-mails, so the texting-type option is more accessible than e-mails. PRIVACY. I can communicate with parents without being bombarded with texts or giving out my personal cell phone number.

Sarah, Librarian. School Type: Elementary School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As an International Baccalaureate school, this seems like it would be perfect for our portfolio and reflections. I need more info and to collaborate with our IB coordinator to know for sure.

Strengths: Loving the quick "social media" type record of student progress.
Like that the service is student centered focus...teachers subscribe to them.

Suggestions for Improvement: Fuzzy on the details of how it grows with them through grade levels and years of teachers... Would like more detail.

Seems like there could be some features to assist with privacy concerns on photos.

Presentation thought...might be helpful to show more "example" accounts?

Verdict: Recommend for a streamlined portfolio process of our IB world school.
Quick reporting of formative assessment.
Parent communication.

Ixchell, Lecturer. School Type: Higher Education, High ELL Population, College Prep School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: To share material offline after capturing it on a camera. To keep evidence of student progress in an ESL adult classroom. I could send our director evidence of the student being proficient in a language level.

Strengths: Ability to share with parents instantly Ability to roll-over information to the next year or semester Ability to track student assessment Ability to share with other instructors

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like the option for higher ed ESL instructors to use this. I cant think of any other points at this time.

Verdict: Because it seems like a seamless product to upload materials. In the past I've struggled with student portfolios. I find apps and tools but I do not find the "perfect" one that is also easy to use for the non-tech savvy educator.

harmony, Teacher 8th Grade. School Type: Middle School, College Prep School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As an electronic portfolio and way to let parents into my classroom even more

Strengths: efficient
user friendly from all i was shown and able to see
saves paper!
some much better than the old paper portfolio- so much more can go into this than a file in the classroom

Suggestions for Improvement: the ability to dictate comments for even greater efficiency
*the name confuses me
easy to find/read notificiation for teachers to see when comments are posted by a studnet or teacher

Verdict: save paper, save time, save file space and in a way put a little more responsibility on the students to look online at their account instead of having a file in your classroom

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Love that it looks like Facebook but with a very clean and easy way to upload and share with parents and students.

Strengths: Love that It has the Common Core Standards & Visual Arts.

Suggestions for Improvement: Easy to upload material for student portfolio. Perhaps add a section for working with groups so that students may share within that group.

Verdict: Easy grading. Easy to upload.

Pta President, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Do away with the notes to parents, the progress reports, the slips of paper that often get lost.

Strengths: It keeps a reallly good cumulative history of a student's performance at school--academic, behavioral, whether he/she is on track. It also gives parents some data with which to work at home to search for help and supplementation and support.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Have an easy print function in case people want to have a paper copy 2. Give students incentives for making their "freshgrades" grades look good 3. Have a way to evaluate students by teachers who may not have internet access in their classrooms (i.e., can do off-line, save it, and then upload for later).

Verdict: It makes communicating with parents easier, neater, more effective and easier to keep a history of.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up