Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Rachel, Jr. High Reading Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a Jr. high reading teacher, I would use Formative on a daily basis as a tool to assess my students' understanding and knowledge of the day's lesson as an exit ticket or as an assessment to the end of the unit test, as well as any other quick assignment in between.

Strengths: This is a solution to a problem that was beginning to unfold and overwhelm me already this year. Being able to view all of the students responses in the same page and not have to toggle back and forth is a definite time-saver! I love how students can annotate over already made assessments instead of me having to type in all the questions. It is simple to set up and very user friendly!

Suggestions for Improvement: If they offered already created questions for different topics for different subject areas, that would save a lot of time whenever I have to create a new assessment. Another thing that would be great is if there was an option to deliver an assessment to the students at scheduled time and date. It would save me time because i wouldn't have to go back into the site and send it to the students when I am ready for them to take it. If it could grade essays, then that would be cool! I know...it was just wishful thinking.

Verdict: I would definitely recommend this product to my school because it is very user friendly for the teacher and the student and the staff is willing to help and take suggestions. It is a solution to online assessment that offer many ways to question the students' knowledge and understanding about a given topic or lesson covered in class. Formative gives many options in ways of giving feedback to the students. It is easy to set up and syncs up with Google, which is a plus!

Jodi, Math Teach/Ed Tech Coordinator. School Type: Middle School, High School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am always looking for ways to assess my students formatively in my middle school math classroom. This app will help with doing live, on the spot assessment using any device, but more specifically on a tablet where you can draw.

Strengths: I love the feature that students can see previous answers by scrolling up and down the page. (Similar to a google form.) There are multiple teacher views to see the student work too. There are many different types of questions that can be asked of students, including a drawing feature. Teachers can then score each problem using a scale. The scale can be changed by the teacher. The future features look great too: linking to common core and teacher created standards. There is also a built in "chat" feature to reach out for tech support.

Suggestions for Improvement: I had some log in issues when using my google log in. The initial log in interface is a bit overwhelming. I wasn't sure where to begin. The folder structure is not clear.

Verdict: Formative assessment in general is a necessary tool for all students and teachers. This app allows for students to be assessment formatively on the spot. Formative is not only a great tool for assessment, but it will soon be able to track students work with standard based grading. This application could then solve the problem with having lots of student data and no where to store the results.

Teacher/Tech Coordinator, School Type: High School
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this in the classroom and for homework. The ability to do real time feedback is such a valuable tool!

Strengths: The ability to share your assessments with other teachers is great!
Free
Real time feedback!
MULTIPLE formats for questions
Inserting videos

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Add in the ability to see how many students select which answers on a multiple choice question (like A-2 B-9 C-0).
2) Allow multiple teachers, with permission, to have editing access on an assessment.

Verdict: First, it is a free tool, so I know that would help in advocating for the program. You can watch students working in real time which allows you to provide feedback as they are working. You can use it as an official assessment tool or as a way to gauge student understanding on a day to day basis. Another great selling point is that it works for any grade level and for any subject, so its incredibly versatile.

Erik, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use Formative for just about everything! For example, in the middle of a Science class, I would quickly ask students to draw me an example of a closed circuit during our inquiry of electrical circuits. Or, after reading an article about adaptation, I would assign a quick quiz to see where the students are at. This is real-time assessment that gives students motivation to be engaged. I love it!

Strengths: *analytics are incredible *real-time assessment

Suggestions for Improvement: Games! :) Editing ability for pictures. Teacher being able to give permission to other teachers.

Verdict: Our school has already experienced the power of real-time collaboration with Google Drive. However, Formative creates more options with the ability to upload multimedia and for students to draw. Furthermore, this platform has the analytics educators know to inform and differentiate our instruction immediately.

Kadijah, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: It's a wonderful assessment tool. It would share this with the entire staff to create their formative assessments.

Strengths: Students can draw and demonstrate their knowledge as well as write their process in mathematics. Teachers can embed videos and ask questions about the video.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to be able to upload videos because YouTube is blocked in our district. Also if teachers are able to upload their own videos, they will be able to make clips of longer videos or create their own. It would be nice if there was a record feature for students that have poor motor skills or just don't like to write.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because you get to see live feedback of what the student is actually doing. You can give the student immediate feedback. I like that there is a variety of ways to assess the students.

Tony, Teacher. School Type: Higher Education, College Prep School
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this easy to use format for grading. I really appreciate the useful data that each assessment is able to offer to the learning process. Cutting back on grading time is extremely valuable and the quick feedback is great.

Strengths: The data output is a great feature that will help in evaluating student learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: One thing that may help is to provide for a "turn-it-in" feature for plagiarism, although I realize that is not the goal of the product. Some videos of interpreting the data and trends would better help in understanding the data.

Verdict: I would highly recommend this tool because of two reasons: 1. The ease of use and 2. the data that it provides for improving teaching and learning.

School To Career Counselor, School Type: High School
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would love to create assessments for my students that I could access while they are off campus. If they could let the teacher communiate with the students this program would be great.

Strengths: Love this product. I can see it's use in all classes, even mine. Teachers need to be able to see which students need help in real time and this product helps teachers do just that.

Suggestions for Improvement: Data collection results, student to teacher interaction. I would love to have students ask me questions so I could respond in a more timely manner and because I don't see the students everyday.

Verdict: I love the fact a teacher can see real time answers.

Carl, Blended Learning/Tech Coordinator. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Just started. Need more training. Use it for exit tickets.

Strengths: Easy to create classes.
Saves paper
Increase student engagement
Immediate feedback
Can be used by multiple teachers

Suggestions for Improvement: How to move assignments from one class to another. I tried to assign a previous assignment to students who joined later created class and didn't quite know how to make the assignment available to the new students.

Verdict: For it because exit tickets are big at our school and the app is free.

Annie, Math Teacher. School Type: Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Formative would allow me to assess students quickly and show me how each student is understanding the concept. I will also be able to give feedback

Strengths: This product would allow you to go paperless quickly and easily.

Suggestions for Improvement: Allow teachers to have a built in feedback bank of responses maybe in a drop down form. Example: Great Job!; Check your answer and make corrections.; etc

Verdict: Awesome free website that combines the features of Survey Monkey and Google Classroom!

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for do now work, daily warm-ups, and quick assessments during lessons to immediately formatively see how students are performing so that I can immediately adjust teaching if needed....interventions.

Strengths: This product provides immediate feedback- live to the teacher as students are answering problems. It allows teachers to assign problems complete with video and corresponding questions. This makes learning more applicable and more engaging.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Common core standards need to be available in a drag and drop format so that teachers can easily document that they are using common core standards.
2) The ability to easily print questions for hard copy versions of what was shared electronically would be helpful- sometimes- paper is just easier- if technology is not always available to all- and a hard copy for teachers and students.
3) The rubic tool needs to be better thought out than just a simple 1-10 scale- perhaps with bullet points of expectations. The rubric does not communicate to students what they should be learning.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool as it is free- web-based, and the teacher has a dashboard which shows student work as students are working- live. Also- all student work appears together on the dashboard so that common misconceptions may immediately be identified so that interventions and corrective instruction may take place.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up