Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to teach world history to low performing students in an alternative school for credit recovery.
I like the fact that it is correlated to state standards. I also like that it compacts the essential information that students need in order to have a basic understanding of the material. During a particular unit I will use the Flocabulary rap as a warm-up at the beginning of each class. The daily repetition of the material helps the students to get the basic essential facts of the particular time period/unit. I also use the accompanying printed material as the text to use for the students. This fills in the background information that isn't included in the short rap. I have constructed my own worksheets to use, in addition to that which Flocabulary provides. I have also used their tests to help construct ones of my own.
I didn't start using this material until almost the last quarter of the year. I was told about it by a colleague who realized how frustrated I was in finding material that my students could actually show achievement. I wish I had had it at the beginning of the year.

Strengths: I have addressed this in my first response.

Suggestions for Improvement: A built in pre-test.
A few more alternate worksheets.
I'm not sure of another. The reason is that it works and the additional items would make it even better!

Verdict: I think it is well designed for the type of student at my particular school.

Dept Chair, School Type: High School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to help students who struggle with vocabulary concepts and spelling in general. As students progress in high school, they struggle with academic vocabulary, and this program can help them receive the help they need in order to gain the vocabulary that is critical in their junior and senior years.

Strengths: I like the way this software product provides an easy yet interactive means of developing their vocabulary!!! By giving the students an opportunity to have fun while they are learning, that is priceless!!! I could definitely see why students would love this program, the logo is even exciting!!! Extremely visual colors and layout for the home page!!!

Suggestions for Improvement: There isn't anything that I can think of to change about the product. I think it is fine just the way it is. My students are going to absolutely love this!!!

Verdict: I would recommend that administration purchase this software. This would definitely help to increase the scores of the students taking Florida Standards Assessment (FSA) English Language Arts tests. The students struggle with the essay portion of the test, because they have a lower grade level vocabulary. This would definitely help them build vocabulary by having fun with it, which is why I would recommend it to administration!!!

Tracey, Ese Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program if I felt that I was losing my students focus when learned vocabulary which could be very boring for students. I teach ESE kids and only have 30 minutes with each group. A nice quick fun video that they will get stuck in their head would help start or end a lesson for me. I would be able to integrate it into my whole lesson.

Strengths: This product takes information that students are not usually excited by and turns it into something fun. The students get a chance to be the master of their own knowledge when being able to put their knowledge to something fun.

Suggestions for Improvement: One thing I could think of is to have the kids be able to put their pictures into the videos. I am not sure if that is an option, I did not see it in the few minutes I had to explore.

Verdict: This product is useful for many ages because music is loved by everyone. It will help with the enthusiasm from students who wouldn't normally be into learning this information. It is easy to use and has a great interface which is user friendly.

5th Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I love the Hip Hop music to learning idea. My students will enjoy this program completely!! It would be of high interest to most students and they will want to do something with it everyday.

Strengths: Many children can easily sing songs or rap. This program solves the problem of students remembering things because now they can put their learning to music! They will be humming all day long!!! Once a song pops into your head it stays there so this will be good for them.

Suggestions for Improvement: I didn't see anything that I would change about it. I am looking forward to using it and the section where students will be able to create their own video in the near future

Verdict: Once you tell administration that this program is aligned across the curriculum to the standards it will be a "Go"! There are writing prompts that are of high interest, assessments and best of all it is free!

Teressa, Literacy Coach. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This product is used to introduce concepts and Sue review other information related to nonfiction topics.

Strengths: Because of the way the students are able to actively engage with this product. Students are easily able to remember the concepts for a long period of time even into the next school year. I also like the fact that he gives definitions and is very repetitious

Suggestions for Improvement: there is not much that I would like to change except I would like specific grade levels for each category that way we can see what is appropriate and what is not appropriate for our elementary age students

Verdict: This product is critical to our science content. It allows the students to learn both science and language arts in a fun and interactive way. The students are also able to remember musical concepts as it helps to remember it through brain/intervention/motivation/motor skills

Donna, Literacy Coach. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I often use it as an introduction to the lesson. My students start off with the fill in the blank frame. They try to fill in as many as they can for the first 5-10 minutes. Then I play the video. While the video is playing, they are checking their work and making the corrections.

Strengths: This program allows students to learn through song. The song becomes embedded in their mind and so does the lesson. It addresses the different types of learners.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would improve its data collection. It reallyis not a program that will allow a teacher to collect data from each student. Students are not able to individually participate unless the teacher is conducting the assessment.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it saves me instructional time and it is a fun way to go over some key concepts. Plus my students enjoy it.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a means to introduce new vocabulary to my students, as well as to allow opportunity for practice.

Strengths: This product solves the problem of having to come up with ways to relate new vocabulary to each student's individual background knowledge. Also, it helps to make learning new vocabulary more fun and interactive, which is a challenge in today's classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: I can not think of anything to change about this product. I have seen colleagues use it and I have watched students' eyes light up as they sing along. Often times, I catch them singing later on in the day and even weeks later.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it incorporates music into learning, which is something that children love. Also, children tend to be able to relate to hip hop and it helps make learning stick.

Library Media Specialist, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To teach vocabulary words in a fun way. The videos are awesome and students relate to them well. Students find the videos entertaining as they are not boring!

Strengths: I like that it plays music and songs that students can sing along with; music always makes learning more fun. Teaching vocabulary can be difficult if students are not interested. However, Flocabulary seems to solve this problem because it makes learning fun!

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't know enough about the product to make any changes. The only thing I worry about is having the proper upgrades on all my student computers so that the program works properly.

Verdict: I would highly recommend this product as it is a fun way for elementary and middle schools students to learn new vocabulary words. Very entertaining, colorful, and educational!

Diana, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to enhance vocabulary and understanding of specific strategies. The students enjoy dancing around with the music that connect with their real wold experiences.

Strengths: The student population has changed, now kids want to see more action in the classroom. With this product students will improve their vocabulary and comprehension.

Suggestions for Improvement: The first thing is the cost of the product, teachers income is not enough to support this program. administration and districts are not willing to help.

Verdict: According to research music and dancing are one of the 20 ways students learn. The whole brain system is alert and students will suck the information like sponges. The program is interactive and even students that are shy or have self low steam participate.

Diana, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to enhance vocabulary and understanding of specific strategies. The students enjoy dancing around with the music that connect with their real wold experiences.

Strengths: The student population has changed, now kids want to see more action in the classroom. With this product students will improve their vocabulary and comprehension.

Suggestions for Improvement: The first thing is the cost of the product, teachers income is not enough to support this program. administration and districts are not willing to help.

Verdict: According to research music and dancing are one of the 20 ways students learn. The whole brain system is alert and students will suck the information like sponges. The program is interactive and even students that are shy or have self low steam participate.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up