Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Dept Chair, School Type: High School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This product is a "whole school" activities management product. I was hoping that it could be used by the individual teacher to manage classroom activities, but it is for whole school activities. For that, it appears to be QUITE good.

Strengths: Real time activities management. It would make information immediately available to the entire school community. It provides students information about what is going on each day and allows them to choose their participation. Information is then available about which students/teachers are involved in the community.

Suggestions for Improvement: It could be more attractive; it could allow teachers to modify it for their own students for course activities; it could allow for database searches without being exported to another program

Verdict: It looks like an extraordinary program. Students can select the activities they will be involved in and the advisor for the activity would know who is interested/attending. This allows for follow-up with reluctant students - getting them more engaged in the school community. Teachers could assign make-up activities for absent students that would override their extra curricular activities - allowing students to remember they need to complete academic work first. It will schedule tutoring sessions and pullouts for remediation.

B, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to set up field trips and school events so that parents could e-sign and pay for those events that cost money.

Strengths: It is easy to use and the support that is offered for the product seems outstanding. We will eliminate forged signatures as parents can update the permission slip in real time.

Suggestions for Improvement: I really cannot think of anything that I would change at this point since I have not actually used the product. The only thing I could think of is that I would like to integrate the list with our Hero program software.

Verdict: Getting back permission slips is an arduous process for many teachers. Kids often try to forge parents' signatures because the forgot to get the permission slip signed. Parents try to give permission over the phone, but this does little to protect the school and District.

Cic, School Type: Middle School, BYOD Devices
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We currently have an advisory period. Students choose activities based on interest for two days a week. Managing student sign ups and getting them where they want to be is a mess. We also have tutoring during this time. This would make managing tutoring much easier.

Strengths: It allows for scheduling of students during the advisory period. It also allows for creation of tutoring groups.

Suggestions for Improvement: Visual appearance. It looked very DOS based

I didn't get a chance to look at the training videos. Getting staff to understand it would be very important.

Verdict: This could solve our problems with our tutoring and advisory period.

Daisy, Instructional Coach. School Type: Middle School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We have a flex period daily. This program would help us to schedule reteach and enrichment sessions.

Strengths: This product would help our campus to manage our flex period effectively.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) There needs to be a mobile appfor students
2) I think students should have the option to print.
3) Curious about FERPA since student info is involved.

Verdict: We are dealing with spreadsheets and hoping for the best. This product would help us to manage where are students need to be. We don't have a tool like this currently.

L Ibrarian Cic, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to schedule FIT time in my school

Strengths: This product looks good and is easy for the end user to use, also suits our eed

Suggestions for Improvement: 1 - cost is prohibitive - could district get a better price?
2 - would be nice if it could access grading data to put students in tutoring sessions, he said they could work on this
3 - app for phone?

Verdict: THis product would be ideal for scheduling FIT Time - works perfectly for that

Instructional Technology Facilitator, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would like to use this product at my school sites to manage student productive activity during independent study period. This will also provide students ownership of their learning by allowing them to select from the activities in their schedule. It is a great way for implementing Universal Design for Learning (UDL) since it would allow student a choice of presenting their work.

Strengths: A strength of the product is that it allows for simple activity choices among students, while showing teachers where students are in terms of activity and production. Another strength is that the product can be used campuswide. Student can develop their own schedules and decide their study path.

Suggestions for Improvement: Although i think this is a good product, the daily attendance transiency at schools will be a problem in a high transiency population school. A suggestion I would make for the product is to allow for uploading of activity directions or materials (links, image, etc) so that students not only sign up for an activity, they are also able to access the materials needed to complete the activity. Another suggestion is for trackability of student activity completion. If teachers and students could see progress in the activity, it would show accountability.

Verdict: I would recommend the product because it can be used campus wide, and can allow for differentiation for all levels of student ability.

Charell, Instructional Coach. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This fall, our school be implementing an hour of personalized mastery time at the elementary and middle school level. Traditionally, students traveling around the classroom with no "set" room has been hard to do. With Flex Time Manager, our front office secretary and admin will be able to see where any student is locate don campus during that personalized mastery time.

Strengths: This product allows admin to see where students are during the day. It allows students to choose their location and create their own schedule. It links to the SIS system for record keeping and data tracking.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be nice if...
1) There was more visually appealing software for lower elementary students who may be using this product
2) Parents could log in remotely and see where their child is choosing to spend their time.
3) This product could be used within one classroom, maybe as an app, for students to choose what activity or center station they'd like to go to.

Verdict: This would be perfect for our personalized mastery time. It will build student responsibility and will help keep track of students as they learn to be in charge of their own learning. It is time we empower students to work on their own and decide where on campus they want to learn. With Flex Time Manager, this will be an easy task and all students will be better accounted for on campus during that time.

Sarah, English Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 1, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I thought this was designed for teachers to customize activities within their classroom (e.g., for customizing stations). I was a little disappointed to learn that this product was actually designed for entire schools to use to plan activity periods. I do like the idea a lot; I just don't foresee any buy-in from my school's administration.

Strengths: The check-in feature is AWESOME. It means that students will not be able to wander aimlessly as easily as they do now, because teachers receive notifications when students have arrived at their destinations. That seems like it would cut down on disruptions in a big way!

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if there was a tracker built in to the app that would show the student's location in real time (à la google maps); that would be extremely helpful in pinpointing truant students, taking attendance, and minimizing loss of instructional time.

Verdict: I would recommend the product advertised on the back of the FlexTime flyer: e-hallpass! Our school has very little management in place for tracking students once they've made it out of the classroom; we still rely on paper passes, which are not only time-consuming, but also easy for students to steal. E-hall pass seems as though it would keep track of exactly where those students went and minimize the likelihood of disruptions to instruction and to learning.

Teacher, School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I run both Student Government and Leadership classes after school and this would allow me to better notify students and parents of meetings, as well as keep track of who shows up.

Strengths: Allows teacher to assign activities such as tutoring to students. Also then will not allow students to sign up for other activities if teacher has assigned them to one. Gives a cut-off date to sign up and allows students to see their entire week's schedule at a glance.

Suggestions for Improvement: Would be great if it could push weekly schedule to parents.
Would also love if it could push information about assigned academic activities to parents
Needs a reporting function so you can track how often student does or does not show up for assigned activities.

Verdict: We have been having issues with kids staying after school but, instead of participating in activities, they just wander around and sometimes off-campus. This would hopefully help to decrease this problem.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to keep my two groups of students organized.

Strengths: This product would solve the problem of becoming disorganized, especially in a grade that is departmentalized. It would help to keep all student activity organized in one location, along with student data.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make the interface more user friendly and easier to learn how to use in a more timely manner. Also, I would make it look a little more interactive and engaging.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it allows teachers to keep students, student activities, and data organized all in one location.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up