Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: If I taught older students I would use this as a tool for increasing student interest in the news and building class culture. Adding this gaming element to the classroom is sure to create increased student achievement through friendly competition.

Strengths: It seems like a product that would be incredibly fun for students. I really like that it encourages students to know more about the world around them. I also really like that it seems incredibly easy to use. The interactive map portion will give students a better understanding of the world they live in.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see a similar program adapted for elementary students. I would like students to be able to earn more points by engaging with the news. It would be cool to compete against other schools.

Verdict: This program is unique and engaging. It lends itself to student interests that already exist. Adding the competitive factor will make students more interested in following the news.

7th Grade Science Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, College Prep School, BYOD Devices
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: 7th grade Geography class would love this. It would make teaching geography more relevant to your students.

Strengths: It puts content at the students' level. It engages students in a subject that is not always easy to connect with.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add lesson plans that tie this into the CCSS.
Create an alert system that connects "pings" when students countries are mentioned through email for students directly.
Add an email response option that sends links to the news articles mentioned to the student.

Verdict: Connects students to geography in a format that they would really enjoy.

John, A+ Computer Lab Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I think it would be a marvelous things to use to connect students with events going on in the real world. World HIstory, World Geography classes...as well US Government.

Strengths: Uses current Fantasy Football to motivate kids!
Integrates World politics and history.

Suggestions for Improvement: Involve improvements that countries make regarding poverty, employment, fuel, etc. to provide additional BONUS points.

Verdict: It is current and it is COOL. Kids would love this and it would cause them to read the news!

Director Of Talent, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: If I were to use it, I'd use it outside of class as an extracurricular activity or club.

Strengths: The tool was visually appealing, it seemed fun, and it had an element of healthy competition.

Suggestions for Improvement: The game should require students to synthesize what they've learned. It should also prevent students from just "guessing" that the biggest countries will show up in the media the most often.

Verdict: It encourages students to learn more about what's happening in the world. However, I didn't think the game pushed students to dive deeply enough with the content they were learning about.

Ben, Stem. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: An excellent way for students to experience current events

Strengths: Student motivation!!!! Fantasy sports interests are rising and this taps in to a market that will grab students attention.

It's new, so I'm not sure of what negatives it could have. The future will see

Suggestions for Improvement: Nothing that I am aware of except someone needs to promote this free program.

Verdict: This is created by a history teacher to motivate students. I believe it will be a immediate hit among students and teachers.

Academic Coach, School Type: Middle School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I think it is great to teach the SS standards in regards to the countries. Love it!

Strengths: Such a creative way to get kids motivated to learn about countries and about today's news events.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. No improvements.

Verdict: It is engaging for students. Creative way to get kids to want to learn about countries.

Librarian, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To deepen students need of Social Studies concepts

Strengths: Introduces students to vocabulary and critical thinking skills.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Elementary level connection
2. App integration on all mediums
3.

Verdict: To get students hooked into learning the material while being engaged throughout

Coach, School Type: Middle School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to develop interest in current events.

Strengths: This builds on fantasy football.
Creates interest in current events.

Suggestions for Improvement: Can't think of any

Verdict: I would recommend it. It would be interesting to students. Most students already are familiar with the "fantasy" format.

Librarian, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This program will be great for our contemporary studies class. They currently come to the library on a regular basis to research trending topics. We could easily use this program to encourage students to actually READ their articles more critically.

Strengths: Clear interface and relevant to students' lives.

Suggestions for Improvement: More areas of focus.

Verdict: It looks great for our social studies program but clearly it has possibilities in other areas. It has a great start and will obviously grow to meet other needs.

Teacher / Dean, School Type: Middle School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to get students engaged with the big ideas and general overviews of social studies.

Strengths: Great flashy aspect, keeps interest high

Suggestions for Improvement: The addition of deeper lessons into the material would make the project much more usable.

Verdict: Seems like a highly engaging tool

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up