Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Nieshe, Science Department Chair. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: At St. Pius X- St. Matthias Academy we are in the process of growing into an "edTech" school. Currently we are working to integrate more technology into our curriculum and lesson planning. For myself I am currently using the platforms MasteringBiology and MasteringA&P where students complete their reading quizzes, homework, etc and receive real time feedback. From the teacher's perspective I am able to see student progress in terms of time taken to complete, student responses, class data analysis, etc. All of this allows me to directly address the concepts that individual students are struggling with or that the class as a whole is struggling with. Exitticket.org is very similar to this, but is relevant to real time class feedback. This would be a great complement to the programs that I am using for homework assessment.

Strengths: The main strength of this program is the data display that allows for instant feedback Student Response tab: Class Averages Number of Questions Mastered Number of Questions Completed Question Mastery Analyze individual students: Student responses question by question Level: advanced, medium, low Reteach tab: Allows you to pull small groups of students who did not correctly answer questions and to pair This product solves the problem of time constraints related to trying to get through grading exit slips.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am very pleased with this product overall!

Verdict: I would recommend to admin that we utilize this program because it was tested on a student body that was similar in terms of demographics to our student body. Furthermore our students benefit having real time and instant feedback. When our students receive instant feedback they are more invested in their learning and are better able to identify the concepts and questions that they are struggling with.

Natasha, Math Department Chairperson. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a teacher who uses the "clicker" system, this program excited me greatly. I teach high school math and it can be exhausting grading papers, and returning them to students. This program will allow real time feedback to me as well as the students. I love the smiley face badges that evolve as students click the right and wrong answers. This will slow the students down because often they race to click the answers in versus taking the time to actually respond correctly. I appreciate the pre-made questions available to the public as I will learn how to use it.

Strengths: 1) I love being able to share and view what other master teachers are doing in their classroom.

2) It solves grading papers for me which saves my time and energy.

3) I will be able to swtich users with the same device as well as automatic group scoring and delayed timing for the responses.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) If students do not have an electronic device, how can I help them.
2) What can parents view to keep up with students data.
3) I need everything to be free for teachers.

Verdict: As the department math chair, I can conduct department meetings that would allow us to compare and contrast our standard progress throughout the school year. Administrators will be able to also see the data and what we need to do as a department.

Laura, 6th Grade English Teacher. School Type: Middle School, College Prep School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a warm up or informal assessment. This would be incredibly valuable as a check for understanding after a reading assignment or a pop quiz. It would allow me to direct and differentiate my instruction in the moment.

Strengths: It allows me to save time at the beginning of class by providing actionable data. It also allows me to show my students their improvement or struggles over time. The fact that it shows different classes would allow me to conduct interventions for students who are struggling with skills across content areas. It also allows me to show my students how they are doing as a class anonymously.

Suggestions for Improvement: Honestly, it seems very effective. I might add an application (which I know they are working on). I would also incorporate more game based activities, but I love the emoticons that are currently used.

Verdict: I would recommend this resource because it is free, easy to use, and designed for multiple interfaces. I love that students can view their progress over time and across classes. The fact that this would work on a phone is perfect for my students! Also, they are building an option for free response open grading.

Special Education Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as the name implies to evaluate students mastery of the day's lesson. Perhaps also to break up lectures, and also to organize classroom differentiation.

Strengths: The data that this product provides is incredibly helpful, and the setup for each class is easy to do. It's a really flexible product, and flexibility is really one of the most important things I consider when using technology in the classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: Customized student data that could be downloaded in any format would make this product integrate perfectly in a classroom, because if you can't do anything with students scores, it's pretty much useless. ExitTicket may do this, I don't remember. This product is another truly innovative product that provides something unique and doesn't overlap something else that I've seen today. PLEASE DON'T CHANGE MUCH.

Verdict: Evaluation of students learning is incredibly important when faced with challenging students. Having a way to access other than standard test would be very helpful. Also, the increased frequency that a teacher could evaluate students would be helpful.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to create standard specific exit tickets to monitor exactly which of my students have mastered specific skills.

Strengths: The product is simple to use and provides real time data. It greatly cuts down on time spent grading assessments and gives you an immediate understanding of the landscape of your classroom. It allows for teacher modification and the sharing of questions between educators through out the country.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add an audio feature so the questions can be read to k-1 students. Allow teachers to search by grade level. Allow to search for assessments by specific common core standards.

Verdict: This program seems very easy to use and provides an incredible source of data for student progress. I really like the data and graphing functions.

Natasha, Math Teacher/ Department Chair. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a high school math teacher, students struggle with fractions as 9th - 12th graders. This tools remediate as they go along with visuals and gives remediation after they answer. This is a great supplement to what I already use.

Strengths: 1). The free resources. Always a a great place to start.
2). The level of learning 3 - 8th
3). Having edmodp as a partner is wonderful. I'm going to log my kids in.
4). It read the questions to you and students can drag the components
5)

Suggestions for Improvement: 1). I wish my high school students could get in on the learning
2). I need a Personal PD
3).

Verdict: The visual resources are wonderful for fractions. I love the color usage and the opportunity to go back a reteach and use the data.

Technology Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I teach Technology to K-5. At our school, we are looking for ways to better prepare students for the new SBAC assessment (the new MSP). We've been looking for an online application that would allow us to create custom questions based on our students known strengths and weaknesses. This seems ideal, as I can create my own quick quizzes for any grade level, each student has their own account and it gives instant feedback. I also love that I can embed videos so the students can watch an educational video and answer comprehension questions. I feel that this is a product I could easily get a few homeroom teachers to pilot to build excitement and interest in the whole staff.

Strengths: It allows me to create custom quizzes for every grade level that I teach. It gives instant feedback, so if a class was structured in a certain way, you could teach, check for understanding, look at results with class and instantly reteach. This saves the teacher from having to grade, evaluate, and then schedule time for reteaching.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Have a text-to-speech feature (we were told this is hopefully on the way) 2. For younger students, I would allow easier log ins and picture passwords (I'm thinking of working with Kindergarten here) 3. Not sure on third, I'll need to see new interface (was told that a lot of things would be changing on website/app)

Verdict: Per the previous question, it is easily accessible and customizable, has the common core items already listed (you know the way to a teacher's heart), gives instant feedback to the teacher and student, and allows us to create our own questions. It could be used easily with small groups or whole class. The one hesitation is that we were told it works best in a 1:1 situation. At our school, we do not have 1 device per student at any grade level. This could be worked around by using stations in a workshop model, or by a class only using it when they check out the ipad cart, so it's not necessarily a deal breaker. in re: to how much would you pay, that's a tricky one. What we might feel an item is worth is not necessarily in the budget. Free is always ideal for a classroom teacher in a title I school. However, a school might find money for it if it can be tied into Literacy and Math sufficiently.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to gain actionable data in my classroom similar to Socrative but also I would use ExitTicket as a beginning or ending activity for my students to answer questions as a pre or post-test in a lesson cycle. I would also use this to take a survey of my students. I would further use ExitTicket to get student feedback to redesign my lesson according to their needs.

Strengths: As mentioned earlier, I like how ExitTicket provides the option for teachers to share the link of a quiz/test/survey with their students via GoogleClassroom or also provides the option for students to add to the ExitTicket "class" with a class code. I also believe that this saves time for teachers to print paper and collect paper when students are taking short, quizzes and filling out exit tickets and collecting them.

Suggestions for Improvement: To be honest, because I haven't used this product in the classroom or have spent enough time, I can't imagine changing this product to make it better. So far from all of the products I've experienced, this one by far makes the most sense to cut down time for teachers and students while providing actionable data.

Verdict: I would recommend this to teachers to encourage them to use ExitTicket, especially if they have GoogleClassroom. I like how ExitTicket provides the option for teachers to share the link of a quiz/test/survey with their students via GoogleClassroom or also provides the option for students to add to the ExitTicket "class" with a class code. The awesome part about ExitTicket is that teachers can control the laptop with their iPads.

Special Education Resource Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This seems like a great way to quickly assess students on skills that have been taught to see where they are independently.
As well as create online test, which students need practice on taking for district and state assessments (now that they are all online)
It is also a way to quickly collect data for a variety of purposes

Strengths: Overall it seems easy to use, student and teacher friendly. The data is easy to visually see and track. It could be used for quick checks as well as for longer end of unit assessements. It gives practice on taking online tests and assessments.

Suggestions for Improvement: It seems to be more geared for one to one schools, but for a school like mine, very low income without the resources for this it seems very useful still but again just more geared for one to one schools. I would like to see how it is being used in an elementary school as it seems geared for middle to high school, but it could be very useful in an elementary I just didn't see it specifically for that.

Verdict: It seems to be an easy data collection program as well as a way to view the data. It would help students practice taking online tests, and it could be used school wide to help aligne grade level tests so each teacher at a specific grade level to give the same assessments and see how all students are doing in that grade level, as well as teachers sharing the load of creating the assessments questions.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to quickly assess student learning and help differentiate or reteach concepts.

Strengths: This product helps to cut down on paper load and having the teacher calculate the data of where students are. It easily marks if students have gotten a concept or not based on the teacher's quizzes and preferences. It also makes it easy to implement in multiple classes and to share quizzes so teachers can compare data/information. I also love the fact that I could send students the link to different assessments and turn my classroom completely paperless.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Allow teachers to create multiple questions and then randomly select a couple. This would help cut down on cheating or allow for students to take a quiz multiple times to show learning. 2) There are a lot of options and that can make it difficult to know where to start. Maybe have a "quick create" feature where font and size are not options.

Verdict: I would recommend this because it is a product initially created by teachers for teachers as a way to easily assess learning. Not only that, it can be easily implemented across multiple subjects and grades. The only difficulty I have with it is that students must have a device to answer questions. So if students don't have a smart phone or we don't have devices for everyone, it won't work well.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up