Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Tech, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: It isn't ready for elementary students yet. As soon as it is up for K-5 I am on it! :)

Strengths: I think it is great for students to EASILY showcase their learning and interact with teachers and professors in a collaborative way. In addition, it taps into creative learning by putting learning into action by creating a web page.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Not quite ready for elementary students yet- I cant wait until it is here! 2. I'm curious to learn more about cost 3. As students progress K-12, is this something that will grow and change with technology? It would be great if it kept up to date with the ever-changing tech world to grow with the student through high school

Verdict: I like the idea that it scaffolds student learning in creating websites. This is such a pivotal skill in the 21st Century, and I see this as an excellent way to enhance student learning. In addition, it grabs students' attention in a different way.

Alt. Learning Prog. Coord., School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As an alternative learning coordinator, this product would be a great way to share students' work, with a variety of audiences, to authenticate their learning.

Strengths: The Exhibi platform does an amazing job of organizing a student's digital work and allows him/her the easy option of uploading artifacts to prove the authenticity of their work. I also liked the option of the showcase, and publishing their work. The Resume Builder option, was also of interest...the first time I have seen this component. The #1 problem this product solves is organization for the student and secondly, the ease of approval from the teacher.

Suggestions for Improvement: AT this time, I can't really see any improvements....the free version, allowing 6 collections and 1 publish is amazing, as is the $2 per student cost annually...WOW!

Verdict: I would advocate for the use of this product due to the platform on which students can both show evidence of their learning to the classroom, as well as outside stakeholders.

To Sa, School Type: Other
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would have students put the artifacts of their learning in to the collections. Then we would publish to make exhibits for the class and their parents.

Strengths: This provides a repository for student artifacts and also keeps it in a place to make it an exhibit. I really like the claim and reflection portion.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Does it tag by common core? 2. Does it let others rate or star your submission? 3. Can you embed videos or do you just link to them?

Verdict: Pro- It looks very easy to use. It seems natural and intuitive and like the work-flow would make sense. I like that you could use links for online items, such as a Google Doc.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I teach K-5 and I was told that the program for that age group is still being developed. So I may use it this year for myself to keep track of student work or with groups of students who are working on a project to show an exhibit. Eventually I would like to use it as a way for students to have a digital portfolio of their work.

Strengths: I like how students can upload digital evidence of their work. It was great to have reflection pieces where students could reflect on what they learned through their own voice.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see the K-2 version and how it would be "kid friendly" for students to use an online tool. The visual demo was a bit confusing how to navigate, perhaps I need to play around with the tool more, but I was unsure exactly how to use the product when I left the demo. Having a free option is great, as I am not able to pay for a version.

Verdict: I think this product would be good for teachers who are interested in using digital tools to show student work, but it is not for everyone who might not be interested in using technology.

Teacher, School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: It is too limited in scope

Strengths: I like that student evidence is collected in an organized manner. I also like the fact that meta cognition is embedded within student portfolios

Suggestions for Improvement: The user interface is drab aesthetically. The app needs to do more. It seems that this app should be embedded within a larger student monitoring app.

Verdict: It seems to solely build a portfolio of student work. Students can accomplish the same thing with free apps currently available on the web.

Librarian, School Type: High School, College Prep School
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product in my high school advisory to have students complete a online portfolio. This portfolio would be showcased in during their senior exhibition.

Strengths: Online access and the skills necessary for publishing their work. The option to publish feedback for their individual work. I LOVE the fact that all work must be approved by a teacher before it is published.

Suggestions for Improvement: I have not worked with this product enough to give feedback on improvements.

Verdict: To promote 21st century skills, I find an online portfolio far more engaging and relevant versus the current paper binders that we have students use to collect their best works.

English Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Our school has a paper portfolio requirement (blah) in which students voluntarily bring in best works on their own (blah). I would use this as a requirement for my writing/ literature classes, so that students could use it for my class and also for their graduation requirement.

Strengths: The ease of format, the tiered digital format/ access, the teacher control of publication

Suggestions for Improvement: an option to have students be approved for self-publishing, a user-friendly/instructional module/ training module for students to be self-guided in their portfolio creation

Verdict: The digital format is more transmittable to a variety of audiences. The ease of upload makes it user friendly for in-class use.

Educational Technology Coordinator, School Type: Middle School, High School, College Prep School, BYOD Devices
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: We would use this product to create digital portfolios for our students.

Strengths: It looks good and has lots of features to protect students privacy. I love the fact that the school can set sharing settings and it looks like it will be a great tool!

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. School branding? 2. Easy integration with various LMS systems 3. Single sign-on with Google/Office 365

Verdict: This looks like what we've been looking for. We want a way to track students growth over time and have them create portfolios of their best work. This tool would allow them to do so.

Graduate Student (Former Teacher), School Type: Elementary School, Higher Education, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: It would be an excellent portal to communicate with parents, students, and teachers.

Strengths: I like the self-reflection tool for students to evaluate their work and how young learners can use it to start feeling comfortable with tech at an earlier age.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm looking forward to seeing the early elementary version unveiled with the enhance illustrations. Best of luck!

Verdict: I think it is a lovely way to allow students to self-reflect on their portfolio and allow teachers to give timely feedback.

Rts, School Type: Middle School, High School, 1:1 Devices
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Senior Project portfolios and science portfolios

Strengths: Online web browser, admin option, ability to review student work during project

Suggestions for Improvement: N/A

Verdict: Admin option, ability to review student work during project

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up