Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Zoe, Ela Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I love that this is a free program with unlimited teacher and student licenses. I love that the students can access real-life information to build upon what they're learning in the classroom from their teachers. I also love that there is a certificate for the students and that students can go back, relearn, and retake assessments that they did poorly on.

Strengths: I love that this is a free program with unlimited teacher and student licenses. I love that the students can access real-life information to build upon what they're learning in the classroom from their teachers. I also love that there is a certificate for the students and that students can go back, relearn, and retake assessments that they did poorly on.

Suggestions for Improvement: Aside from randomizing questions which the program already does, it would be nice if students received completely different questions on a test retake.

Verdict: I love that this is a free program with unlimited teacher and student licenses. I love that the students can access real-life information to build upon what they're learning in the classroom from their teachers. I also love that there is a certificate for the students and that students can go back, relearn, and retake assessments that they did poorly on.

Technology Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to create interactive classes for students to focus on the importance of computer usage and safety.

Strengths: Assessments for students can be complicated in some subject areas. This program allows students to interact and answer set of questions again. The questions are set randomly so each students receives different questions.

Suggestions for Improvement: Three things that I would change I would allow questions to be altered. Another good option might be to give paper versions of the assessments. I would need more testing on the program.

Verdict: The use of interactive simulations for students make the class more engaging and fun.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As a method to teach life skills, such as financial literacy.

Strengths: Lessons are complete. By that I mean, it can take a student through a whole concept, right down to the assessment. The way in which the material in presented would be interesting to the student.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would need to play with the program in order to comment more on the interface.
There really isn't a huge need for a service that looks to "teach a whole course". It seems as if the product looks to replace some aspects of teaching.

Verdict: As an on-line course, this can offer students a chance to review or relearn concepts they might have missed.

stephanie, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use some of the modules, such as career readiness, for advisory

Strengths: It has modules on things that are necessary but are harder to find such as Internet citizen and career readiness. I would recommend these modules for the fin lit teachers and advisory teachers.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see a module on literacy. I would like it to have more data so I can better understand if my students are learning. I would like a teacher supplement to help implement it in the classroom.

Verdict: It is a great supplement for teaching to no cost to them.

Supervisor, School Type: Elementary School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would have teachers assign the work from the modules to students at various grade levels.

Strengths: The videos are fun for the students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not sure since I was unable to personally use the item. The presentation appeared to involve topics that interest middle school students. The videos were appealing and used actual videos of the national hockey league. Students would enjoy using the modules offered by the company.

Verdict: There is no cost.

Supervisor Of Curriculum And Instruction, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: It doesn't fit the needs of my district.

Strengths: The reports are comprehensive and the product is free! Comprehensive reports are extremely important for instructional purposes.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't know enough about this product to answer this fairly. Currently there is no separate parent component, which would be a nice feature. I also wish there were more courses for financial education.

Verdict: For larger districts, this would be a valuable resource.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Blended Learning
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: This product seems geared more towards middle grades

Strengths: Honed in on students' interest in digital technology

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it also accessible for high school level courses; integrate as a supplement to elective or independent study courses to bolster student accountability; use longer modules

Verdict: I'd recommend for the district's middle school to begin their digital citizenship

Michael, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: Very limited and prescribed, not much room for creativity. It is not very customizable.

Strengths: It is amazing how it is free because of the sponsors, but then you are limited to creativity with who ever will give you money.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it more customizable, user friendly and offer other courses. Also, make it more interactive and have different paths instead of it being so prescribed.

Verdict: Very narrow, very personalized, would work for some students with that particular interest.

Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Strengths:

Suggestions for Improvement:

Verdict:

Nov 2, 2013

— Rating unavailable for this review.

Strengths:

Suggestions for Improvement:

Verdict:

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up