Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to increase student engagement in science.

Strengths: I like that there are multiple ways of providing information to the students. I also really like that the project based learning already has lessons and projects ready to assign. It seems like it would save teachers a lot of time in prep work.

Suggestions for Improvement: There seems like a lot of information students can choose from. Is there a way to monitor what students are working on and the progress they are making on their projects? I am concerned that many people would students would just play instead of learn.

Verdict: I like that there are so many different options that this program offers. Whether it's reading, quizzing or project based learning- which directly related to the common core state standards we are implementing.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This sounds like a great program for getting a Simon and also for doing presentations its cool cuz I can link to online sustenance are online project

Strengths: Visually program is very inviting it seems like navigation is very easy as well it seems friendly to the students

Suggestions for Improvement: I would see if there was a way that you could build an assessment have assessment that goes with the program even though it does have some that will redo it I'd like an overall the big assessment to say where the kids are out I don't feel like information on how to track how many timesstudents did the quiz

Verdict: I think it would be great I'd like to know if they could be incorporated into haiku haiku seems to be what are districts using so I might want to just stick with haiku

Jonathan, Teacher/Tech. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Helping students to have a greater understanding of science technology, ability to track my students progress, giving opportunity for students who are bilingual, and able to monitor groups in their learning.

Strengths: Even though I teach middle school, this product actually would benefit my students who have achievement jobs and would like to improve their education learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: It be nice if this product actually could be improved all the way up to 12th grade that way there's a well ability to use content. This would also be great to be use for social studies, English, and other various subjects.

Verdict: This program allows students to use an interactive program empowers their learning and closes achievement jobs in the area of science.

Nadia, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program as part of my lesson plan or whenever the students have the laptop cart

Strengths: This program come in spanish for my newly entered students in the USA and for the students struggling with the English language. The program is easy to use and complete in the classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: i would change the fact that the program is only offered from grades 4 and up. I currently am a 2 or 3 grade teacher and would have loved to incorporate this product in my classroom where we are somewhat teaching the same concepts.

Verdict: This is a great tool to reteach or introduce a science concept with the students. the best part of the program is that the programs come in spanish also.

Monic, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Our special education department is doing progress monitoring and I would use it for that as well as to support performance task the students complete for units.

Strengths: The product provides leveling, online resources, and assessments.

Suggestions for Improvement: it would be free.
It would be accessible at home and school, network connection built in.
It would provide musical celebrations for the students as they improve and increase in effort.

Verdict: My reasoning to advocate is students, especially AEL and Special Education need multi-modality lessons and assessments and this program provides that.

Joan, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product in small groups to build background on NGSS science topics.

Strengths: The modules provide information in a variety of ways and provide an engaging introduction to NGSS concepts to hook students into learning. It provides a variety of activities for students to really delve into concepts.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would help if teachers could assign a particular part of a module rather than the entire module at once. The reports would be more informative if there was an item analysis attached to specific standards. For example, the cells unit covers at least 3 NGSS standards. It would help if I received a score per standard so that I can research the precise standard a student needs help with rather than the entire module.

Verdict: I would recommend we use this tool because it is engaging, has a wealth of information, and provides materials in Spanish to help our ELL learners bridge gaps in language. It would provide a good background fro students to jump into experiments and stem projects.

Douglas, Computer Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As a supplementary source to cover science and math facts, interactive videos and content allow students to progress at their own pace with teacher monitoring.

Strengths: This product allows students to access content in a rich technology environment that students are used too. It gives teachers access to tool to minitor and offers suggestions to cover the content in the classroom as well.

Suggestions for Improvement: Classroom activities to do with the whole class. A map of possible avenues to explore the content. Digging deeper and finding some of the more interesting historial, cultural, and developmental stories behind some of the concepts being addressed.

Verdict: The program offers content in multiple dialects of English and Spanish. Students learn new scientific principles through the adventures of cute animated characters. Teacher tools offer insight at which topics students are struggling with and how long it takes to work on assessments. Offers suggestions to do activities in the classroom.

Shannon, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a way for students to reinforce the information they are learning in the classroom. I would assign students a video to watch and then have them complete the quiz or other online activity. Being able to see students results would give me immediate feedback on what I would need to reteach as the teacher.

Strengths: I love that the product allows students to work independently on different content, and take different types of assessment.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love for students to be able to work collaborative in pairs in an easier way since I have a limited number of iPads in my classroom. If it was available on phones that would be easier for all of my students to use. Other languages besides Spanish such as a chinese dialect.

Verdict: I would recommend this application to admin since we teach a wide range of students in our ELL program. This would allow teachers to individualize the teacher of the content to different levels of students all in one classroom.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to enhance the science curriculum for all students, to allow for differentiation and to include the AEL students so that they can access the current standard content in a comprehensible manner.

Strengths: It provides an additional resource that can be used to address science standards with all students as well as allow me to differentiate with AEL students who may need additional information in their own language and syntax for that language.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would prefer to answer this question when I have used the product for a while. My main concerns are matching the standards, easy of use and student outcomes. I don't have that information at this time.

Verdict: Based on what I've seen today, I would recommend it for use not only in my classroom but for the grade level. It appears very kid friendly and easy to maneuver. It offers native language access for students that need it and covers the science curricululm.

Emily, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to start a science lesson as an intro and then do some whole group lessons. I can also have kids sign up for there own account and take the quizzes.

Strengths: It gives kids visuals regarding the icons. They can choose their standard, or topic. The videos are easily assessable and they are short. The activities can be done individually or as a whole class with a laptop and monitor. I also like the quizzes. They are only about 10 questions so it's not overwhelming.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would have explanations after every quiz question so kids can have instant feedback and correction. I would have the standards organized by grade level. I would have science activities with real kids like oh YouTube.

Verdict: Science is so hard without visuals and interactions. I think the platform is very user friendly. I love the icons. You can navigate easily, I think even 1st graders could do it.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up