Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: High School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This product would need to be utilized by the entire school. This is a school-wide hall pass system that allows each teacher, administrator and staff member to see where each student is at all times. It also allows for more safety and security.

Strengths: This problem will show other teachers if a student is abusing the hall pass privilege due its notification system. It also can keep groups of students from meeting each other in the hallways. There is a timer notification that can show the teacher that the student is visiting how long they took to get to them. This solves the problem of students taking too long in the hallways or going somewhere that they should not be. Students parents can also be notified if they are abusing their privilege.

Suggestions for Improvement: I really did not see anything to improve other than better advertising. I was not given a brochure to take with me, but I really liked hearing about the product. I have never heard about the product until today.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because schools, especially high schools, are constantly using passes that are either being stolen by students, sold by students to their friends or just being abused by the students. This system enables faculty, staff and administrators to see which students are frequent abusers of asking for a pass so it will limit students in the hallways. Parents can also be notified that their student is abusing the hall pass system. There is a timer notification so that teachers can see that a student has abused their privilege.

Jonathan, Teacher/Tech. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this in my classroom to allow students to go to the restroom know the time. When they left and when they come back. This product allows teachers to be able to have the knowledge and hold the soon accountable with knowing their whereabouts.

Strengths: The great thing about this project is that parents can see the data when their child and how much time their child is out of the classroom. Teachers are able to also hold the student accountable by how often and frequently they use the bathroom or out of the classroom throughout the day.

Suggestions for Improvement: What would be nice about this product is if this product could be used as a tool to live in a classroom disruptions. So many times teachers are called in the classroom to send a student up from the office or from the nurse. This product would actually allow the nurse or administrator to request the student to come to the office and eliminate the disruption in the classroom and instruction by a simple "ding" or even an alert on the teachers desk top or phone this allows no disruption.

Verdict: There's nothing I've seen out there like this product. Students leave the classroom go to the restroom go get a drink of water and nobody knows where they're at. This product allows teachers, administrators, & the nurse to know when and where the student is at.

TRacey, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool for classroom and school management. This tool allows the school to manage student movement. The hallpass manages where students go and for how long they are gone out of the classroom. It tracks their movements.

Strengths: The highlights of the tool is that you have data on how many times students have requested a pass and you know where they requested a pass to during your class. You have the times it takes for students to movej.

Suggestions for Improvement: The tool need to have teacher initiated passes because we get calls that students need to be released or to go to someone else's class. Teachers need to be able to enter new students in the system because we get new students all the time and they may not be in the system.

Verdict: The tool works so teachers, administrators and security can track student movement in the school. Time limits can be put in place to encourage student to go where they are suppose to.

B, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Students would create their hall passes. I could also see how many students are in a particular area so that we can prevent gatherings in the health office or restrooms.

Strengths: Hall pass solves the problem of students carrying a paper pass or a dirty shared pass. No germs!!!

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not sure how to improve this product as I would actually have to use it before I would have some ideas. It looks fairly comprehensive and well-designed. I like the integration with the SIS and attendance.

Verdict: Using technology for real world purposes is important for students to see. It would also eliminate the issue of passes that carry germs from student to student.

Alfonso, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to track the pass duration and frequency of each student

Strengths: The product takes the guess work out of the students destination. Keeps the student honest and provides assurance for the Administrator of the school.

Suggestions for Improvement: For students going to the restroom, there are no assurances that the student even went near the restroom. Therefore, if a QR reader was installed at the entrance of each restroom, the student can scan it and the report could be sent to indicate the student actually went to the restroom.

Verdict: The product will help with the safety of the student. They will be tracked to and from their pass destinations.

Lindsay, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I love the concept of e-hallpass! I would use it to track my students when they needed to leave the classroom throughout the school day.

Strengths: This product allows us to have a record of what (in the past) has been a potential problem. We are able to have a record of when a students leaves the classroom, where and why they are going and how long they are gone.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Though I undersand why they require a teacher pin to approve when a student leaves the room, I would recommend removing that feature. I believe that it could disrupt classroom instruction more than it already does. The important thing is that it records the leaving the classroom, and the length of time they are gone.
2) Is there a way for parents to log in and see their child's reports? If not, it would be great to email a report on a weekly/monthly basis.
3) What would this look like in a school that didn't have one to one devices? Do students have a pin? It would be great to have a device by the door where students checked in and out of the classroom.

Verdict: There are always those students who love to use the restroom during class. Not only does this disrupt instruction, but they are missing out on instructional time. E-hallpass would track and keep reports on when and why students leave the classroom and how long they are gone. It allows you to see trends in when/why they are out of the classroom. E-hallpass allows the school to keep records of student movement around the school. It is a platform that everyone can use; nurse, librarian, office etc. to communicate and record where the students are going throughout the day.

Media Specialist, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for students who come to the library to use the resources. Teachers will be able to know the time students spend in the library and provide direct feedback as well ensure security of all students using electronic monitoring as a tool.

Strengths: I like the fact that the product integrates with schedule database and also includes pictures of students. I love the fact that if shows time of arrival at destination so teachers and administration know where students are at all times. I also like that passes for future events can be written ahead of schedule and notifications go straight to the student's device. Students can also request a pass.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be good to hedge for coded passes in addition to reasons. When we have large groups of students moving the color passes can help the security and staff quickly move students in the right direction.

Verdict: I would explain that this tool would provide an electronic footprint that increases security, ease of mobility throughout the school that ensures students side at their designated destination.

Counselor, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a product with my students. As a counselor, i send out daily passes to students including my attendance secretaries, and an e-pass would be something to save paper and time in the long run.

Strengths: This product is really great in that it allows for teachers to not waste time writing out passes., SO accessible for teachers and students who will be receiving passes.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make it more visually appealing, I would make it so that there is a smart phone application for students to have with them. I am wondering how teachers can be trained to use this consistently across the board.

Verdict: The greatest reason for advocating this product would be to minimize paperwork and the time it takes to fill out a pass.

Teacher, School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to track my students' movement if they need permission to leave the room during class.

Strengths: It seems like it could really help security to nail down issues that often occur when students are unsupervised in restrooms, hallways, etc.

Suggestions for Improvement: I wish it could interface with Focus attendance system to automatically log students arriving late to school for the day.
I wish it could push out notifications to parents about how many times per day or week students request permission to leave the classroom and how long they are gone.

Verdict: It seems like a great way to track and document student's movements and try to lessen issues that often occur when students leave classrooms during class periods.

Personalized Learning Coach, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Our school could use this to track where students are and trends in their requests for hall passes.

Strengths: Trends in student behaviors and requests can be tracked over time. Certain students can be blocked from being in the hallway at the same time. The interface can be used across multiple interfaces.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm not sure I would change anything except maybe make it faster to create a pass for the bathroom. In elementary we just have the kids grab a pass and go. Some of the little ones can't hold it long enough to fill out the request form. Maybe an "emergency" button that can be filled in later.

Verdict: Trends in student behaviors/requests can be tracked over time. It can be used schoolwide easily.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up