Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to plan units collaboratively with colleagues teaching high school English in my school and district. I would also use the product to co-plan units in American Literature with colleagues teaching American Literature in my school and beyond.

Strengths: The fact that that the product has global collaborators is its highlight.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if the product
-followed the Madeline Hunter lesson plan format
-provided on-site PD for districts and schools
-provided a comprehensive list of courses available on the site

Verdict: I advocate for this product because it can be used as an accountability measure for lesson planning as well as a resource for novice teachers. Another feature , that this product supports is the ability for teachers, teacher leaders, and administration to identify and provide feedback. Charter schools such as ours have a high teacher turnover rate due to ineffective lesson planning and professional development that supports improvement. This product provides a service that could potentially a teacher's ability to plan and execute effective lessons

Teacher, School Type: High School
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To plan my units for the future.

Strengths: I would like accessible templates and units already made. I like the framework and print out of the units so i can share it a lot easier.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Easier pd movement between teachers.

2. A live person to talk to if i have issues planning or using website.

3.

Verdict: Ease of collaboration between teachers. Teachers can work together without the inconvenience of moving around a school as large as my own.

Sped Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I teach special ed and it would not benefit me.

Strengths: IT would be a great tool for regular ed teachers. The planning and collaboration would be awesome for them

Suggestions for Improvement: I cannot make suggestions for changes on a product that I have never used

Verdict: IT would definitely help the regular ed teachers

Natalie, 504 Coordinator And Literacy Specialist. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, Blended Learning
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I think this would be an excellent tool to have teacher teams planning units as well as implement them with accuracy - equaling better student results.

Strengths: I am very impressed with the format and layout. It is very user friendly and easy to follow. It is explicit and direction and can even be shared among teachers so that cross-curricular projects can be planned for - this is so great for students - nothing is better than understanding the connections between content areas to make learning permanent.

Suggestions for Improvement: None

Verdict: I think this tool has all the elements in a friendly user format to design AND execute a strong unit plan - it includes all the essential pieces for a well-planned curriculum unit.

Cynthia, Library Director. School Type: Higher Education, Blended Learning
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We're looking for open source textbooks to lower the cost for students to be able to afford them. We also want to promote offering faculty the opportunity to publish their research through an open source product.

Strengths: The product can be accessed from my computer and all of my mobile devices. Also it makes it very easy for faculty to navigate, especially those who are technically challenged!

Suggestions for Improvement: No changes.

Verdict: With the rising costs of textbooks, we need to invest in lower the costs for our students by providing a professional source that can help them. We also want to encourage faculty to publish their research through this product.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I could see the school working on this to use units that would help student learning across the board.

Strengths: This would help in writing unit lessons. It also allows a school to see what is being taught across curiculum and across grade levels.

Suggestions for Improvement: The cost may stop some but there are deals.

Verdict: This could help the grade levels to collabrate with each other in helping students to achieve.

Middle School Tech, School Type: Middle School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Unit plans coordinated with standards

Strengths: The standards are built in so I wouldn't have to research the ones I would need.

Suggestions for Improvement: .

Verdict: Setup seems to be easy to use.

Lawrence, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Sep 12, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: While it is a great tool for creating an organized Unit Plan...It would be an extra step to input the information AFTER I had already created or written up my draft....unless I took the time and effort to input while I was creating...

Strengths: It really is a great way and format to produce Unit Plans....
It is really cool that it allows teachers to visually see what it being taught and when across the school and grade levels
It solves the problem of varying levels of Unit Plan formats....ensures consistency

Suggestions for Improvement: Nothing....it would work well just as is....

Verdict: It is way too "techy" for my teachers and the Understanding By Design structure of lesson planning is over the head of many and outside the realm of desired activities for others at my school...

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up