Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Great tool to have available during parent teacher interviews, or when writing report cards.

Strengths: Having data recorded easily with the option of graphing student succeed is great. Colour coding the grades on one spread sheet allows the teacher to quickly determine those students to watch or to find and learning trends within the classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: The spread sheet which shows all the students and their mark would be even more useful if a teacher could click on a mark and have the picture of the assignment available instantly. As well an option to have the rubic available when a specific mark is clicked on.

Verdict: Taking pictures of the students work to justify the grade, or having a video of the students presentation available all on one sight with easily accessible marks.

Social Sciences Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To compete and track assessments and share data with myself, my students and their parents

Strengths: Great new structure to track assessment with access to data that is easily shareable. Love it! Want the board to partner! (Please please please)

Suggestions for Improvement: Until the board adopts it, I can only use personally which means having to transfer data to both Markbook and edusight. Time-consuming and non efficient. Way to easily share / make compatible with Markbook?

Verdict: It's a huge improvement from the current system Mark book that the tdsb uses. I will share the resource and encourage my school to use and sign up!

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to document student learning, in particular taking photos of student artwork and products on a daily bases in math lessons.

Strengths: The template is clean and very easy to navigate. As an art teacher, I can easily snap photos of the students artwork and use it as a overall portfolio for the year. I can organize my data without paper and pen. I love the assessment of, for and as feature.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. There are some data organizing features that can be added. For example, sort by subject, sort by month, search words to look up a photo/anedoctal note, view photos for grid and not feed.
2. Copy and paste class set grade for integrated units (i.e. in both math and science)
I see a lot of potential for a clean and user friendly grade app, but there are still so much more to little details that can be added.

Verdict: It takes away the paperwork on a traditional mark book and calculates percentage and final grade for you. I also like the photo and anedoctal note feature for the primary levels. It also is amazing for documenting learning for ELLs and students with special ed.

Lisgar, School Type: Middle School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I use the product to get day to day information on how my students are performing in class. I also use it to track their work habits and build a learning profile for their in class behaviours; very much as a portfolio.

Strengths: It solves the problem of how to capture formative assessment quickly and with little effort. I can include pictures and video to show parents clear examples of the children'd learning. It bridges the gap between what happens in the classroom and what parents see at home.

Suggestions for Improvement: - The app has some bugs to it currently....some of my picture notes have disappeared and I'd like this fixed.

- The Ontario standards need to be easily searchable

- I would love to see voice recordings available...currently I can not access them

Verdict: I would recommend the product because formative assessment is an important part of the assessment process, but currently it's challenging to collect this data in real time. EDusight lets me assign notes to multiple students at the same time, thus saving me time in the classroom to actually work with students.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would definitely recommend it because you can use it as a good independent and cooperating tool so that students can learn from each other. I also like that teachers can track where they are getting wrong and monitor their progress as time goes.

Strengths: I would definitely recommend it because you can use it as a good independent and cooperating tool so that students can learn from each other. I also like that teachers can track where they are getting wrong and monitor their progress as time goes.

Suggestions for Improvement: First, the portal layout should be visually appealing with colors and images so that it attracts students' attention. Second, students should be able to progress their report so they can improve by looking at their mistakes. Third, lower cost would benefit so that the whole school can implement this program.

Verdict: I would definitely recommend it because you can use it as a good independent and cooperating tool so that students can learn from each other. I also like that teachers can track where they are getting wrong and monitor their progress as time goes.

Mike, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use EduSight to track students progress in class over the course of the semester and to share their results with individual students and their parents. Furthermore I would use this as a tool to share students presentations and other work in a way they can feel a sense of pride in what they have accomplished.

Strengths: Visually impressive way of showing student results

Easy for teachers, parents and students to use

Lessens teacher reliance on paper

Suggestions for Improvement: Allow sharing of student work with others in the class

Allow sharing of student work with future generations of students taking the same class as exemplars

French language compatible

Verdict: This product is very user friendly and allows not only the teacher to input and track marks but also share these with the students and their parents. I constantly have kids coming to me asking for their updated mark and with EduSight they would be able to track this on their own when ever they like.

Teacher Of The Deaf And Hard Of Hearing, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to make anecdotal assessments of my students. While I'm working with them I can take a quick photo or write a quick note about what I am seeing. I can track their learning easily and quickly as it is happening.

Strengths: -Makes it quick and accessible to assess students
-groups notes about each student
-times and dates it so you have a record of when the learning took place

Suggestions for Improvement: -There are still some bugs that need to be worked out. I often have trouble with the login in process.
-SOmetimes the student photos disappear and I need to re-add them
-Recently all my old photo notes I had inputted before have disappeared. This is a little frustrating as I've now lost the photo I"m referring to.

Verdict: It's easy to use and convenient. It also can be used on the iPad as well which makes it very mobile and quick to use. Anecodotal notes are something hard to find the time to write so it makes that task easier.

Occasional Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Great way for me to keep track of ancedotal notes and photo notes to assess students. I would use it mainly for that, maybe not as a gradebook, because my board uses a similar program that I like better for grading.

Strengths: - Don't need to save all photo data on my cellphone or personal tablet; I can upload it and keep it in a safe space.

Suggestions for Improvement: - Ways to view the photos in a grid pattern so I can easily search for a specific photo or get a quick overview
- a 'search button' so I can search for a specific photo, or search by month, or search by specific assignment
- Ways to communicate with parents - easily send some data to parents about how their child is doing.

Verdict: Great way to keep track of anecedotal notes and photo notes of student assessment. I would use this to keep track of my comments of students during presentations.

Andrew, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I use edusight to track student progress, identify student needs and program planning. I will also use it to update students and parents about their child's progress and as a tool for discussion about their child's learning.

Strengths: It's tracks student profess and allows me to customize their assessments to the needs of my students, even if they're in the same class/subject. Differentiation is key!

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) connectivity- presently you can connect to parents via email. A text messaging service that links them to, say a pdf of their progress and allow them to comment.
Allows for meaningful and targeted parent teacher interviews.

2) rubric makers software add-on

3) links to google educational profiles.

Verdict: It's FREE.
It's user friendly and visually more appealing than Markbook and or other board marking tools.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I really like the idea behind in terms of layout of the marking scheme and for teachers to organize the marks but I think the public board will not approve their program due to compatibility when it comes to early assessment and final evaluation for reportcards.

Strengths: I would definitely recommend it because you can use it as a good independent and cooperating tool so that students can learn from each other. I also like that teachers can track where they are getting wrong and monitor their progress as time goes.

Suggestions for Improvement: Making sure that the program aligns with board evaluative tools and that it's easily accessible for school portal network. I would also like to see how they collapse students achievement in numerical data.

Verdict: Rather than the cost, the effective use will be a major issue for most teachers. It should be compatible so that it's able to align with early assessment and final evaluation used by the board.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up