Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Cheryl, Math Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would definitely use this product and recommend to all the teachers in my school! I was amazed at what the technology was capable of!

Strengths: I signed up immediately! I was able to try it out during the conference and can't wait to continue once I get home! I can see so many opportunities for me to help my students learn and to get them used to using technology for math. As a high school Algebra teacher, there are not many products that have the variety of features that this one does. I am sure I drove the poor guy who was demoing the product fo rme crazy....I was that enthusiastic! I will be sharing this with my fellow math teachers as well as my principal so that we can make sure eveyrone in our school is aware of it and can try it out. The multiple ways to represent the information such as matching, multiple choice, video, etc. give teachers many different opportunities to reach their students.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be helpful to see how many hints a student used for each question. That way I can better assess how well they understood the material. A summary report by number showing by question the number/percentage of correct responses as well as the average percentage of hints used. This could help teachers determine which questions students were able to answer but needed more help to get right. A summary report showing by student the questions, wihether it was correct or not and the number of hints, if any used. This would help me see by individual student where their weaknesses are so I can remediate them.

Verdict: The main reason I would push for this is that is can be used cross curricula. It also offers many different opportunities students to learn giving teachers many ways to personalize instruction for ELLs and students with special learning needs. It also provides the teacher with real time data to allow them to inform their instruction immediately rather than waiting until after the fact.

Lisa, Health Education Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product for both lessons within the classroom as well as assessments. I love the ability of the product to give assessment questions in so many ways. I am just brain storming but I also think that I may be able to use this for students to get caught up when they missed instruction by being able to inbed video and text.

Strengths: I am extatic that I can imbed videos within this product. That is unbelievable to me. Also, I can have students show their work when necessary. The math teachers are going to love this! Currently the program that I use only allows for two types of questions. It does have a third but it has not worked well for short answers. I like that I can do fill-ins with this product! The one I use does not do that.

Suggestions for Improvement: Right know it can't handle short answers that are not just specific words but I am hopeful that this may happen in the future! I was told that it can handle up to 70 students at one time. Right now we have three health teachers so if we want to give an asssessment at the same time I am not sure if it can handle all of us at once. I would be able to give this later, right now I am so excited.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool because of the many different ways in which you can use it for assessments. Currently I use socritive and although I like it I have already found some of it's faults. This product can do much more than socritive and I am excited to get started using it. I know that it will take some time to get the lessons and assessments in but I also know that I will have them for future years and classes and that is extremely important that my information will be saved.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to create assessments for my students. I would create assessments similar to Smarter Balanced to ensure that my students are fully prepared. I would use it weekly or every couple weeks to assess my students on a regular basis.

Strengths: I like that teacher's can customize assessments. For example, I can upload pictures and create labels for students to click and drag. I can make it align with what we are doing in class or the curriculum. This product solves the problem of creating assessments similar to smarter balanced. I like how it allows students to be assessed on the computer, like the state test.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Make it more engaging and visually appealing for students. There was nothing that stood out to me that would excite the students.
2. I didn't understand a feature that would motivate the students to do better. I did see that there was a graph that shows the students how they did, but for the younger students I think it would be nice to earn characters or points or work towards something specific with this website. Maybe teachers can give like a certain amount of stars based on student performance and assessment difficulty.
3. Nothing else-- Cool site!

Verdict: 1. Love that teachers can customize and create assessments based on student needs and interests. 2. I would recommend it because it looks like the Smarter Balanced test, which the students need ample exposure to.

Shanmugavel, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I have used this to create a wide variety of questions for my biology class. The teacher has multiple options to choose with reference to the question format type. Good thing about this application is that you don't need to worry about what NGSS you are hitting in your assessment. The NGSS is listed and a teacher has to select the particular standards and then create questions.

Strengths: The students can easily self-assess their strengths and weakness for each NGSS. Teachers can compare the performance between different classes and change instructional strategy accordingly. Administrators can also effectively monitor the students' performance in different teachers' classes and evaluate the effectiveness of data-driven instruction.

Suggestions for Improvement: I wish they compile more science content questions for high school classes. It would be nice if state standards are also made available for teachers to select. Sync in the grades to Pearson Power Teacher grade book would help many teachers in posting the grades quickly.

Verdict: I would definitely recommend this program as it relieves the headache of teachers comparing the performance or doing item analysis for each assessment. Administrators can easily analyses the class data and identify the potential failures in each course and arrange for remedial instruction.

Lauren, Music Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to align assignments in my music classroom with that of the common core. My principal is already pushing the related arts teachers to include common core strategies in order to bolster student achievement and this product centralizes the information while linking to individual student data.

Strengths: It allows that common core standards to be accessible and data driven based on actual student outcomes.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Add national standards for subjects outside the common core

2. create a platform for assignments and lesson plans that teach specific standards so that teachers can adapt them for their own classrooms.

3. Provide district/state data so that teachers can see what issues their students have as compared with other students in order to reach out to teachers whose students are not having those issues. This initiates real conversations and solutions in order to benefit our students as a whole.

Verdict: I would advocate for it because it centralizes the information so that teachers throughout the building can differentiate instruction for students based on their strengths. As a music teacher, if I know that my student is having specific literacy issues, I can reteach that skill through my own music curriculum.

Kerry, Teacher/Tech Integration. School Type: Middle School, High School, BYOD Devices
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: It could be used as a formative assessment tool with students. Students could make them for one another as well. Since i use resources from online instead of a text, the ability to add resources from online to questions is great.

Strengths: Assessment is done quickly and for lots of types - reading comp, many math versions, traditional multiple choice, etc. Can be embedded in other places so that students don't have to go to multiple sites to complete the assessment.

Suggestions for Improvement: I understand the importance of Common Core, but there seems to be a bit too much emphasis on it and you might drive away teachers who are not hyper-focused on it. Perhaps a QR code generator so that students can just scan and then jump right into the assessment. Send the analitycs to the teacher via email or upload them to Google Drive in the settings so that teachers can just click a button and have the results saved automatically.

Verdict: The variety of question types is amazing and goes way beyond what most assessment tools can offer. The ability to download the analytics and watch student results live while students are taking the assessments it great and allows teachers to adjust their lesson very quickly.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 14, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as a instrument to assess my students learning using the common core standards. I would use it to create homework that correlates with the standards. It would be used to provide daily feedback on the student's progress. It is a good platform to used in order to collaborate with other colleagues.

Strengths: This product solves the issue of not providing instant feedback to students. If an assessment is given using pen and paper the results would be given the following day but not any more if this program is utilize in the classroom. This product does really well to communicate with parents once students are aware of their results.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like for this product to incorporate assessments for ELD classes. To also add a component in which the website could be in Spanish for parents to see their child improvement or which area they need to study more. I would also appreciate if this product could add the standards for ELD classes.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it provides feedback instantly and it can be printed to show parents. The standards based reports allows for reteaching of the specific standards missed.

Maria, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use Edulastic in many ways; for example, to review grammar, as a pre-test activity, for reading comprehension. The Edulastic has several options for to create assessments, from multiple choice to fill in the blank. Personally, the best part for me, it gives me instant feedback on student performance and creates instant statistics to modify lesson, differentiate teaching or re-teach a concept.

Strengths: -Instant accurate statistic on student performance -outlines most missed questions by students to re-teach, modify lesson -it differentiates instruction -works across disciplines -good for teacher to teacher collaboration -it's free

Suggestions for Improvement: -the ability for students communicate with teacher in real time (classroom hours only) or post questions to teacher while working independently or in group setting

Verdict: First, IT'S FREE! In addition, It works across-disciplines, including world languages and English Language Learners programs. It's standards based and includes similar questions like the SBAC. It has an abundance of material to make daily short or long assessment that are challenging and engaging.

Brittiny-Rae, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program to design assessments to monitor student progress. I would also use this as a tool to prepare students for the types of digital questions that they will be experiencing on the PARCC assessment.

Strengths: The biggest strength of this product is the ability to create audio questions!! As a kindergarten teacher many of the online quizzing platforms are not accessible to my students because they can not independently read the questions. This audio feature allows if the youngest children to do the quizzes. It also allows you to create non-traditional test questions such as time lines and drag and drop. Skills students will need for the PARCC Assessment.

Suggestions for Improvement: Allow students to choose their name from the teachers login account. Create parent printouts to share student progress. Ensure accessibility to the youngest students.

Verdict: I would recommend this program because it has more options for question types than any other program I have ever seen. It allows students to use the computer skills that will be required on the PARCC Assessment. It also allows you to create audio features.

Tech Lead Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would create online test for my students. This looks like the SBAC platform that LAUSD is using for their end of the year district test. I would create test for most of my academic areas.

Strengths: Able to share tests with other educators. Teachers are able to create different types of questions from multiple choice to mix and match. Teachers receive detail data on student assessments. Teachers are able to give feedback to students.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Should be able to work on all platforms.
2. I would add a feature where teachers can add text, pictures, movies or audio so students can use and answer questions based on those items.
3. Print certificates that show students are improving. Or certificates that say 100%, Way to Go, etc.

Verdict: It looks easy to use. It will benefit students and teachers. It will get students ready for taking tests online. You can use the community bank to share tests.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up