Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Classroom Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is an awesome tool! I am so happy I found it. The software is very similar to Pinterest, but so much better for educators. If you are familiar with Pinterest you follow links that sometimes end up to be dead links. With Educlipper you create boards and can bookmark things. When you go to look at them again, you never leave Educlipper's site. Everything is stored right there! You can even upload PDF's, videos, Powerpoints, and images. I would use this by creating boards for myself to access and easily share things with my class. I would also create boards for my reading groups. I would put things on the boards that my students could view for specific units to give them more information!

Strengths: With Educlipper you create boards and can bookmark things. When you go to look at them again, you never leave Educlipper's site. Everything is stored right there! You can even upload PDF's, videos, Powerpoints, and images. I would use this by creating boards for myself to access and easily share things with my class. I would also create boards for my reading groups. I would put things on the boards that my students could view for specific units to give them more information!

Suggestions for Improvement: When I opened and account, and started exploring, it seems that I could not find a lot of great Educlips in existence on the site already from users. I searched common second grade topics. Educlipper could look at common topics taught in each grade level to create some Educlips. I think this would help get teachers going.

Educlipper should also create modeled pages. If teacher's could see examples of how it can be used in their room, they would be more inclined to give it a try!

Verdict: So many times teachers have trouble sending links, files, etc to themselves to use in the classroom. This software allows teachers to organize materials to access in school and have their students access as well.

Tech Coordinator, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: this is a great social sharing platform for qualitative information about a student's progress. it allows the students to use multimodal 21st century tools to learn more about what you are teaching. they can use a photo or video or text and comment on that and work with what they've made to create something new

Strengths: great security for teachers/students who need it. I like the fact that there are so many different ways to get information into the students account (or teachers for teaching). They can clip text or pull up images or open video/animation/text from another app. these can all be shared and discussed. The format is great, for ipad I like the gestures and profiles and layout.like web based features and learning portfolios for teachers.

Suggestions for Improvement: understanding how its same different from other tools eg edmodo or voicethread is helpful. took me a bit to wrap my mind around it. pinterest is good analogy. I think for teachers who are less tech savvy, this could be hard to learn as there are so many different tools. this isn't a real criticism though as I think more teachers need to learn these things ;)

Verdict: great tool to get kids exposed to lots of different kinds of 21st century tools at once. allowing teachers and students to communicate their ideas in an environment that allows curated choice to include what they know and show what they know in different ways.

1st Grade Lead Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Feb 23, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I used it as a pinterest board of exciting teaching tools.

Strengths: In my school, this product would solve the problem of digital portfolios. We have been looking into a way to create digital portfolio for the students in grade pre-k-5 for the past few months and nothing has really seemed like it would be a perfect fit. The main reason is because at the end of the year, there is no way to move the students from one class to another. This product will do that! And it seems like it will be really easy to do!

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. android app
2. ease of use for younger students
3. ease of uploading student work

Verdict: Besides the very basic way that I use it right now, there are so many other ways to use it. I love that I could set up specific lessons for my students (by individual/groups) and then the students could each create their own portfolio. I also love that my school could use this a digital portfolio for the younger grades and that the students CAN be moved from one class to another as they go up in grades.

Librarian., School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to curate content that is pertinent to my lessons and share with students.

Strengths: This allows teachers to differentiate content and share with students. Students can respond to content and the teacher can then in turn give feedback. This saves paper and makes learning and responding interactive. There are a lot of safety precautions in place to protect students. I like that students do not need logins or email accounts to use this. The interaction between the students and teachers is what makes this great. Saving items into learning portfolios and annotations are another great feature of this tool. Students can also export their work to save it.

Suggestions for Improvement: This tool is amazing for teachers and students and I would not change any thing!

Verdict: This is akin to Pinterest for teachers and students. It is a free content curation tool that can be used with groups of students.

Dawn, Technology T Eacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I think this is a great product to keep tract of students' creative processes, projects and activities. I like the fact students can create a portfolio with the pictures that they take and annote them with labels or notes. I can see using this for art class or for science classes where projects are created but hard to store for later viewing.

Strengths: It is easy to use which makes this a strength, it is cost effective, and it allows teachers and students to keep documentation of projects they worked on.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not sure I would change anything. Perhaps after using it for a while, I could make further suggestions.

Verdict: I think the program really solves the problem of how to create a portfolio without using a big book or a large amount of storage space. It is also easy to use and easy for teachers to set up.

Amy, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Frickin awesome!! A digital, audio portfolio for each student! it's Pinterest and an online scrapbook for each student that can be shared to other teachers in your school, district, or even a different state!

Strengths: ONE place to store visuals, audio, and video of student work

easily shared to other teachers

FREE!!

hands down my favorite thing at the Edsurge conference!!

Suggestions for Improvement: I Have not used it to know enough or predict problems that may encounter.

I would suggest a tablet/iPad app and smartphone app, but from my understanding they are already working on it.

Verdict: It seems so easy to see student growth with this site. It would be a great tool to show parents at conference time. It would also be a fantastic documentation to share with other grades as the student progresses through school.

Scott, Teacher/Tech Liaison. School Type: High School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a special education teacher, I want to use it to give reluctant writers to show they understand a topic. Many of my students can tell me what they know but not write it well or very fast.

Strengths: I love the audio and video feedback part. I think it could very amazing and allow for faster feedback by me as well. I also like that it works with a ton of different storage sites such as Dropbox and google drive and different social media sites.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would continuously work to add the latest social media sites including Instagram. I think if students want to share their great work, that would be awesome.

Verdict: It could empower a ton of students to display the specific knowledge they know, not just their ability to write.

Kim, Teacher/Technology Liaison. School Type: Middle School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Identify particular parts of an image. Visual that allows you to add text and other features to enhance learning.

Strengths: Very visual and easy to use. Teachers can create assignments and push to students. Easy tracking of assignments.

Student portfolios can be used to monitor students.

Free site.

Comment moderation for individual students.

Suggestions for Improvement: Sharing lessons with other teachers is a good idea, but the owner of the original lesson should see the changes another teacher makes to the lesson.

Verdict: Images can be captured and annotated to increase understanding. The platform allows teachers to monitor student progress. Learning portfolios showcase student work over time.

John, Technology Integration. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: True social networking for kids at school for learning.

sharing with specific kids only

setup individual classes

Notifying kids over texting

Give students feedback in multiple ways

Strengths: Flexibility

Student engagement

Digital portfolio!

Suggestions for Improvement: Timeline ability 1st grade, 2nd grade, 3rd grade etc

Report ability to share with parents so they can see what their child is doing without asking the teacher/student

Verdict: Difficult for teachers to conceptualize, but students would love it

It took me hearing about it twice to completely understand how to use the site

Kathy, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Fabulous!!!' It solves so many problems in using iPads in schools. Without a solution like this, assigning tasks and turning in work. Great for porfolios.

Strengths: kid friendly, simple set up. sharing lessons between teachers and sharing student work between students or the world

Suggestions for Improvement: Hard to think of any. I would like to participate in a community to help each other innovaye with it. I think I would benefit from models of effective use by grade and subject and outcome.

Verdict: Free, user friendly, collaborative, promotes parental involvement,

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up