Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Supervisor Of Technology, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is a vital tool for school technology leaders. The evaluation of new ed tech tools is a daunting task for tech leaders and this tool assists them in assuring that ed tech tools used in the district are compliant with student privacy requirements. The reporting tool and ability for teachers to evaluate products themselves is an added bonus.

Strengths: Evaluating privacy policies and terms of service
Transparent communication of student data usage

Suggestions for Improvement: Maybe integrate it into a larger product so that it can be easier for districts to include in their tech overhead tools.
Describe how it can assist school districts legally
Educate school districts about student data privacy

Verdict: Student data privacy is a growing issue as school districts adopt more cloud based ed tech services.
The drawback to this is student data privacy is not a hot topic in many districts and can you sell this in school districts that aren't currently concerned about it to the point of adding this subscription to their budget?

Highland, School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to make sure that the aps and websites I use and assign are safe and good.

Strengths: This product would kind of being like having insurance. Instead of crossing your fingers and hoping that the aps and websites that we use are safe, you would know for sure.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not sure if this can be changed but as far as I know there isn't really any consequences for using a website that isn't safe. Maybe, there should be a way to educate the public on the consequences if there are any.

Verdict: I would advocate for this product because most people don't read the fine print and just click agree to aps or websites .

Tech Director, School Type: Other
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Teachers, admins, and parents would use this as regularly as new apps and websites find their way into classrooms, in order to protect users and the district from anti-privacy skeems in apps.

Strengths: The presenter was very soft-spoken and hard to hear, and he didn't repeat questions so that everyone could understand his answers. From what I could gather, the feedback to all members of the school community is very good, and rest assuring.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't know the product well enough to expound on the deficiencies of it. I'm not sure it interfaces with LMSes out there, which would mean it represents yet another site teachers and admins would have to visit to get information.

Verdict: The concept is a great one. At this point, I don't understand it well enough, and how it can be successfully integrated into the district, to go any further. I would have liked to hear how it integrates with our SIS and with LMSes on the market.

Marc, Cio. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Jul 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: There a multiple values here that I'm not sure they understand. I think the rostering and dashboard are nice and are definitely a great premium service. However, as a district tech admin, I would find more value in having access to just the list of reviews and materials, not the entire student and class sync.

Still, in it's designed form, it might get traction in a classroom sense, but the detractor is in having "another thing" for teachers to have to interact with.

Strengths: This does the work of evaluating ed tech services for their data privacy practices. This is an area that is typically ignored by district curricular staff, principals and teachers. They just trust that it's all going to be okay. This product provides the information people don't take the time to figure out and can make an adoption much quicker.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Raw data list, no dashboard. Just give us what we need at the district level to say "yes" or "no"
2. Find a way to provide information at the classroom, but don't burden the teachers

Verdict: Price point will be important as well as the work load it places at all levels of the district (district, school and classroom). Again, a barebones service that provides the key information would be desirable, without the full dashboard.

Technology Mentor, School Type: High School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: This would be utilized by the entire school community, but I would specifically use it when deciding on whether or not to incorporate an app with my students.

Strengths: I think this product is early on into what I think is going to be a growing concern for students, parents, teachers and districts.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be beneficial to have this sync flawlessly with what we currently have to make utilization much easier for teachers who often complain about having another place to log in and do more stuff.

Verdict: This is a little outside my expertise so I would pass it off to the decision makers and allow them to take it from there.

Response from EdProtect: EdProtect offers direct integration with school's SIS system, and custom integrations with school's Mobile Deployment Management system can be implemented in order to automate the "white listing" process of apps and websites. EdProtect also offers Single Sign-On for teachers so they don't need to create another set of credentials in order to gain access to the service.

B, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Jan 23, 2016

full starno starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: This seems like a large expense and "one more thing" to do as a teacher. It also puts constraints and another layer of bureaucracy on teaching. The concept sounds good, but it panders to the "fear factor" in education. We need to stop thinking about what could happen and start making things happen. Our students are WAY ahead of us!

Strengths: This product gives the user information on the security of data for each app.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. It costs too much, and really should be implemented at the District level.
2. Ratings are nice, but restricting access to apps outside is purview is censorship.
3. It's one more thing and one more hoop to jump through when lesson planning.

Verdict: I put most of this into my first response: rating software apps seems good on its face, but it smacks of censorship and elitism.

Response from EdProtect: EdProtect is sold at the school or district level, and may be purchased by school and district administrators. We help schools determine if an app requires parental consent, or if the school can act as the parents’ agent in the consent process. We DO NOT restrict access to apps; we simply provide knowledge to help educators make better informed decisions.

Tech Director, School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Feb 26, 2016

full starno starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: Based on the initial description, I thought this would actively help me filter apps/sites based on preferences and consent. Instead, it simply aggregates consent - which we do already.

Strengths: For districts that do not collect consent, this is a huge help.

Suggestions for Improvement: I have one - have it take this data and block/unblock access based on the consent, whether integrating with content filters or being their own content filter.

Verdict: This would duplicate many things we already have in place. While offers some features to tasks we do not have a mechanism for, I do not feel it is worth the effort.

Response from EdProtect: EdProtect does not just aggregate consent. EdProtect helps school districts determine if they can act as the parent's agent in the consent process, or if the app developer must get consent directly from parents. Although EdProtect does incorporate a parental consent system, it also helps school districts minimize their use of apps that require more complicated consent processes.

Rebecka, Director Of Technology &Amp; Training. School Type: Other
Jul 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a recommendation from the county to the districts.

Strengths: I would like to just be able to generate a lists with specific rating of say 3.5 or above so districts could know what to use. I think maybe ikeep does that if I understood correct. y. I wouldn't necessarily need the parent portal.

Suggestions for Improvement: not sure it seems great as is. Would actually have to try it

Verdict: Security is a high priority

Marc, Asst Superintendent. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: The two platforms would be very useful to assist us in selecting appropriate apps for student use as well as dealing with permission forms for various programs and activities.

Strengths: Getting students to bring back in signed permission forms for things like Google, Nearpod, field trips, etc. is like pulling teeth. This digital solution is a great shortcut, and it keeps the results at your fingertips. For things like photography releases for the web or press, this would be a huge timesaver.

Suggestions for Improvement: I suggested rollover windows to explain what each criteria for rating apps means.

Verdict: The program looks very easy to use and monitor, and seems to provide important data. The creators have gone to great lengths to do their research and are constantly updating information. Their proprietary rating system is brilliant, allowing users (parents, administrators and teachers) at a glance to understand the safety and security of hundreds of apps.

Stella, Asst. Superintendent. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Jul 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This is a great tool for school districts to allow teachers to build ownership of the apps that are available.

Strengths: The product allows districts to reduce the internal process for evaluating Ed technology - web sites, apps, etc.
Builds system wide transparency by allowing parents to review what apps are being used and allows districts to see what sites are using.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be nice to integrate user use time, not just the apps that are used.
No other suggestions

Verdict: This product can give the teachers the latitude to select apps by setting up privacy quality score min score.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up