Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I used this product during our computer lab time for ELA whole group lesson and student remediation. I would find the topic or standard that we were focusing on for the week. During Lab with all students on the computer, we would follow along the lesson. Then students were able to go to independent instruction and practice on their own.

Strengths: The strengths that this product has is that you can monitor the students progress. Also that I can pick the standard or subject that I want to teach. This allows me to individualize the product.

Suggestions for Improvement: I need to learn more about the product - Right now I don't see any improvements.

Verdict: Our school uses I-Ready for ELA instruction. This product is more detailed in it's instruction and I can teach each standard separately. It also allows me to use it whole group and independent. I have used it 2 years ago and now it has improved with the Sensei feature which allows the teacher to monitor progress.

Brenda, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product with my student to help them to be successufl in the classroom on a daily bases.

Strengths: I think this product would help me to be a better teacher in the classroom and to plan my lessons so that they meet the needs of my students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would not mmake any improvements to this product because I beleive it is the best the way it is.

Verdict: I would recommend this product to other teachers and help them to be successful in the classroom.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I welcome the opportunity to use a program which informed me about assessment.

Strengths: The assessment data is essential to ensure that I can stay abreast of current student data.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not familiar enough with with product to recommend changes yet.

Verdict: I would recommend it so that teachers can use data to drive their instruction.

Lewis, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population, Project Based School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to celebrate success by keeping track of what students have mastered. Once a student masters a benchmark it can be displayed on a poster or wall chart. Healthy competition to get all standards mastered will hopefully be the result.

Strengths: Track able student progress
Lessons and activities by standard
Multiple activity types and games.

Suggestions for Improvement: Almost too much to sift through.
Would require several blocks of time to train.

Verdict: All activities are grouped by math standards and the software will track students progress for both us and them.

Literacy Coach, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This product would be used with students grades 3-5. It would be used to strength the gaps of students who are having deficits in math as well as boost students in science.

Strengths: The strengths of this product would be that the system updates and logs what the students are doing and it is easily allows teachers to differientate that task.

Suggestions for Improvement: The product should be offered in grade bands. for example K-2 and 3-5

Verdict: The cost of the program is reasonable and it would meet the needs of both the struggling students and those who are higher level.

Susan, Math Coach, 4th Grade Teacher, Team Leader. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use the program to assess students skills and benchmarks. I am looking to improve test scores and give students more rigorous work.

Strengths: It provides rigorous assessment, interactive instruction, and it will prepare students for college or career path.

Suggestions for Improvement: The cost is something that can deter schools from using the program.

Verdict: I think we need to give our students alternative ways of assessing them. We need more online practice now that the state will be implementing online testing for both reading and math next year.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I use to find additional resources for my students

Strengths: It saves the teacher a lot of planning time. It an additional resource for the teacher to help enhance student learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it more animated , teacher friendly, appealing to the students

Verdict: The teacher can use it as an additional resource for their students

K 5, School Type: Elementary School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: IT does not incorporate the access points for ESE students. The information is great, and does a great job. It's a little complex and not laid out too well. I work with ESE students, and I wanted to access the access points for my students to see how it works. The lady told me that they DID have the access points ( I don't think she knew what that was). I asked her to show me, she went to the standards. She went to show the different standards, but it did not show the access points. As well, it does not have tests or assessments to see how well the students know the access points. The videos are great and looks wonderful, but for the lower learners, it needs to me less complex.

Strengths: IT does not incorporate the access points for ESE students. The information is great, and does a great job. It's a little complex and not laid out too well. I work with ESE students, and I wanted to access the access points for my students to see how it works. The lady told me that they DID have the access points ( I don't think she knew what that was). I asked her to show me, she went to the standards. She went to show the different standards, but it did not show the access points. As well, it does not have tests or assessments to see how well the students know the access points. The videos are great and looks wonderful, but for the lower learners, it needs to me less complex.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add access points. Create assessments so that nonverbal/readers are able to to take the test.

Verdict: The program has a crazy amount of information. There are plenty of lessons and a wealth of information to show the students. IT has all the standards and pretty easy to navigate.

Donna, Assistant Principal. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use Study Island as a LSM, because it is conducive to all subject areas. I can most importantly allow me to differentiate lessons when needed. The students can also use this in learning stations or centers.

Strengths: The strength is the tracking of the student data and the immediate feedback.

Suggestions for Improvement: The dashboard for the teacher requires alot to set up the students on the system

Verdict: I would recommend we use this tool for our science area, because the demonstrator showed great features of the sciences.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to manage and track student progress in relation to the standards that I am trying to cover in 3rd grade. It can also be used for enrichment and remediation.

Strengths: This product will save time allowing the teacher to track data on one screen and to form groups for remediation. It solves the problem of searching for resources because it also has teacher resources that can be printed.

Suggestions for Improvement: At this time I don't see any need for improvement.

Verdict: I would recommend this product. The part that I liked was Study Island. This covers all subjects and standards. It has the sensei feature that reports data on student progress. This allows me to form groups for reteaching if needed.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up