Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Mar 1, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: My current curriculum has been written as if students have hand held devices. This would help me to keep the curriculum the same and have students complete the curriculum as it is written with an easy format for students and myself to access and navigate.

Strengths: I think that this product may take some time to set up, but over time will save time. Can you save your lessons that you set up for the following year? Can students access this from home? That would also be great to set up homework assignments or to simply have students complete classwork assignments that they did not complete. It would also help students who were absent, they could access them right from the computer.

Suggestions for Improvement: I do not have many suggestions. I feel as though I need more time to explore this product. I think that it could make my curriculum more manageable to have a program like this to use it with. After purchase, would a representative come to the school and provide instruction on how to incorporate this into daily lessons and show teachers how to set up classrooms and input lessons from the current curriculum? That would be very helpful!

Verdict: My students do not currently have their hand help devices, so I would not advice against it but may offer the suggestion to wait until they receive their technology. With computer access being limited at our school we may have to wait two years to purchase this program because they would not be able to use it every week or during testing use it for an entire month.

Maria, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to create assignments for students and have them submit assignments back to me. Also, this product would be great to share documents with other colleagues. We could use the shared documents to give feedback, brainstorm, and collaborate. Another feature of this product that I would use is the student collaboration. I would have students collaborate on homework assignments and projects by giving feedback to each other and brainstorming for ideas.

Strengths: Strengths of this product include the ability to run on different platforms like tablets, iPads, chromebooks, and macbooks. Also, I like that you can share with other teachers and students with other students.

Suggestions for Improvement: Some suggestions include that it would be better if the product could be used on smart phones since a lot of us have students using them in the class. Also, another suggestion is for documents that are uploaded onto the app to keep their original dimensions. Some pictures look sort of "warped" when we expanded them to fit the entire screen. It would be good to keep the document proportional to original dimensions.

Verdict: I think it is a great tool for our school. We are constantly looking for ways to share our students' work and lessons that we create. I think this product is worth purchasing because it allows a teacher to have an unlimited number of classes and students.

Teacher Ela, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population
Oct 24, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Because studies have shown that students produce more writing when they have a visual to relate to, I have always started my ELA writing instruction by having my students create a personal crest and then write an essay describing the icons on their crest and why they chose them. This application would allow my students to create images online and then describe them without the need for constantly replenishing art supplies (which can be hard to justify for a Language Arts classroom).

Strengths: Being able to create an image and then produce text about it using a single tool is amazing. Being able to access the tool across multiple platforms is great. And having tools that allow the teacher to monitor student interaction is such a critical item, but it is so often missing in other programs.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'd have to have the product in use for a while to determine if there were any changes that might improve its functionality for me. I'm really impressed with the thought that has gone into its design.

Verdict: I would point to the studies showing the connection between creating images and increased writing. I would also be able to show examples from my own students, who always do well on the crest paragraph but frequently lose interest and perform poorly on other writing tasks.

Doloumar, Santiago High School. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Majority of our students are visual learners. HAving the students make their own drawing and diagrams helps them understand the topic better. I can also use this for formative and summative assessments.

Strengths: 1. Integrates art into science, math, language arts etc.
2. Allows students to make their own interpretation of the content being learned.
3. Gives the students a creative outlet in the classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Please make this cheaper for schools.
2. Please have more stock photos/drawing for science.
3. Please have more options for high School students.

Verdict: A lot of our learners are visual learners this will help learners get a deeper understanding of the content by producing their own diagram and drawing. This is also an excellent way to integrate art into all the subject areas.

Margaret, Special Education Teacher. School Type: Higher Education, Low Income Population
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: You can use it speak to text on a document and for my special education kids this would be useful. The documents completed can be put in Dropbox to be saved and shared. It's an app that can be put on many devices.

Strengths: Visuals and share-ability. Accessibility for students who don't have email accounts can gain access

Suggestions for Improvement: Did not see much information about data collect and that is key for special education and teachers in general

Verdict: I would recommend this product for grasping students attention and to complete more independent assignments using technology. Students that have writing fluency issues can really gain from working with programs like this because they can speak to text. Then the students can reread what they spoke on the document.

Teacher Support Cordinator, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this with my new teachers and literacy teachers to help with student learning critical thinking brainstorming planning writing reading etc.

Strengths: Well the best things about it is how personalize that each teacher can really individualize and encourage student to be able to manage classes from your device to use it on a device or laptop is all very practical for you every day teacher

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't know that I would make any improvements to the app I'm not smart enough to figure out where the areas of improvement need to be made because I'm just impressed with everything I have already got it

Verdict: I love the product and connectivity sharing abilities for every student creativity to collaboration

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to make assignments more engaging.

Strengths: This product is colorful and looks extremely engaging. Students could easily hand in work without typing in codes or passwords, and teachers can easily upload work for the students to do.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would decrease the cost to make it accessible. :( Also, it would be nice if teachers could turn features on and off depending on the type of assignment. It would be nice to have access to a library from which to upload pdfs.

Verdict: If we had the $2500 to purchase a year of use, I would definitely recommend it because it works well with Google Docs, is extremely kid-friendly, and seems teacher-friendly too.

James, Teacher. School Type: High School, Higher Education, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to integrate core curriculum and monitor student progress, institute lessons that are student level aligned, and streamline assessments.

Strengths: This product connects students in real-time and integrates technology in ways that improve student learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: It is hard to make suggestions that would improve this product without using it. I would recommend more exposure to educators and administrators to advocate it's usage. I would advocate connections with other programs.

Verdict: This would improve student learning and give connections that assist student- teacher interaction that is meaningful.

Doloumar, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: My students can use this to create their own diagrams, pictures related to what is being discussed in the classroom.

Strengths: 1. Integrates art into the content-specific subject areas other than art.
2. Gives students the opportunity to show their creativity.
3. Gives the students the opportunity to make their learning experience much more meaningful.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Please make this cheaper for teachers.
2. Please have more age-appropriate options for high school students.
3. Please have more photostocks for high School students.

Verdict: 1. This is an excellent way to integrate art into the classroom.

Anne, Teacher Specialist. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it with multimedia research simulations.

Strengths: The ability to integrate with google drive. I like the collaborative feature and the "other" tab that teachers may view what is being done by students. I like the integration of pictures, audio and text.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it web based. I would also like to see the ability to add links and to add video.

Verdict: Ease of single sign on with google. Students are able to easily manipulate images, audio and text. I also like how students can start to work on one piece and then share with another. The other tab also helps teachers see and monitor students.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up