Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Marquita, Educator. School Type: High School, Higher Education, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use it at the beginning and end of the school year to get reeds, mouthpieces, sticks and other supplies for my students. Things that we need but I can't always afford to get when we need them for class.

Strengths: It is actual teachers tell you the public what we need in the classroom at the time.

Suggestions for Improvement: I have a problem with some of the companies where supplies come from. I teach music which means one of my main supply would be sheet music. That's not on your list. I also need more musical instruments but that cost thousands and not likely to get funded before the deadline allotted. I spend an average of $500 a year of my own money buying music for my classes. Sheet music. So please add as a center one of the largest music suppliers for vocal, instrumental and string programs for k-college and on. It's called www.jwpepper.com you have great resources for other areas but fail when it comes to music. STEM should be STEAM! Help music educators with this.

Verdict: It helps me out a lot with acquiring materials for all my classes that would end up costing me several hundreds of dollars every year. It takes awhile to get things funded but worth the wait.

3rd Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to fund wanted projects in my classroom or on my team that our building does not have funding for. I also use this to allow my parents to feel more connected to what we are doing in the classroom. They can purposefully put money toward wants or needs in the classroom and directly see the results of their money being used.

Strengths: The strengths are it builds in examples for me to use. It gives me reminders of deadlines for donations, thank you's, etc. It also connects to social media on multiple platforms.

Suggestions for Improvement: I sometimes find the site hard to navigate due to the clutter. I think it would be beneficial if the interface was "cleaner".

Verdict: I would recommend this because it is a quick tool to get funding for needed or wanted projects. I also like how it sets you up to thank your donors and builds in accountability and reminders for getting your project funded.

Lauren, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I would use it to get additional supplies or technology for my classroom without having to spend my own money.

Strengths: I love that this gives teachers a place to go to ask for donations. It allows teachers to get the things they want for their students without having to break the bank.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Show samples of successful entries so that we can see what works. 2. Provide ideas for getting people to donate to your cause. 3. Partner with businesses who are willing to donate to a cause.

Verdict: I don't think this is a necessary product and therefore wouldn't recommend to the whole school. This is more based on the individual.

JaNekka, 1st Grade. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am actively trying to get one on one chromebooks in my classroom for students to take home and use all the time so i can try to use paper less and have students learn where they are. I would love to be able to use google classroom as well as many online resources so that all students can use technology in a way that benefits them without sharing.

Strengths: Helps match donors to teachers so that we can be educators in a meaningful way

Suggestions for Improvement: This product is amazing.

Verdict: Not having access to the funds to get what i need in my classroom for it to function in a way that makes learning more engaging and fun for all of my students is hard. This bridges the gap in a way that may bring me closer to my goal.

Ell, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would love to write some grants for things my learners so desperately need to be successful, and things that would make my life easier.

Strengths: This gives us the funding we are missing. It is a genius idea. In under served areas such as the one I teach in,, this is like a lifeline. A teacher at my school has benefited from the generous grants.

Suggestions for Improvement: I can honestly say that I do not think anything needs changing.

Verdict: This is a phenomenal tool that addresses a serious issue of underfunded schools. I think it is great and have seen evidence of its greatness.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to help get more technology in our classroom. This is a big problem with budgets being cut and there not being enough money to fund the purchase for tablets or laptops. So with technology the students would be able to access some of these different websites that we have learned about today.

Strengths: This product does a great job at reaching out to people in the community to help give them an idea of what you want in your classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make a way to share this with other people and educators that are willing to donate.

Verdict: I would recommend it because its a great way to try and earn some money for technology. People don't have to pay money toward your product but it gives them the option.

Michael, Art Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I tried using Donor's Choose to purchase tables for my art room but was unsuccessful.

Strengths: Its a great way for teachers to crowd-source the funding for their classrooms.

Suggestions for Improvement: More options for vendors.

Verdict: The problem I had with the system was the limitation on which venders were available for use with the products. Those vendors prices were much higher than competitors.

Educator, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I havent worked it into my personal classroom. Ive used it for outside projects and assisting programs

Strengths: It had some well crafted examples, I wouldn't be sure how to change current examples into valid lessons.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't see many reasons why not to implement this system. I wouldnt know without more time and observation

Verdict: it helps guide current lessons into a more well rounded concept with assistance

Kathy, Special Education Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am working on a project now.

Strengths: This solves the problems of spending a lot of our own money for what we really wish for in our classrooms.

Suggestions for Improvement: Better explanations of fees.

Verdict: This is a great way to get things you need for your students.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up