Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Christina, Science Teacher. School Type: High School, BYOD Devices
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I currently use educreations and this seems very similar. I would use it to teach my students lessons outside of the classroom. Right now I am posting the notes that I have done in class so that the students who were absent can see the notes as they would have in class (not just writing down what someone else did but actually hearing me explain it as well.

Strengths: I would use it to teach my students lessons outside of the classroom. Right now I am posting the notes that I have done in class so that the students who were absent can see the notes as they would have in class (not just writing down what someone else did but actually hearing me explain it as well.

This site allows me to do all of this and more! My main problem with educreations is that you have to talk and write at the same time. And if you make a mistake, you have to start over. With Doceri, you record the writing first and then you talk while you are presenting (and you can record it). Plus, it is saved as a movie file so you can put it in folders, share it with students, embed it into your website, etc.

Suggestions for Improvement: Not right now.

Verdict: I currently use educreations and this seems very similar. I would use it to teach my students lessons outside of the classroom. Right now I am posting the notes that I have done in class so that the students who were absent can see the notes as they would have in class (not just writing down what someone else did but actually hearing me explain it as well.

This site allows me to do all of this and more! My main problem with educreations is that you have to talk and write at the same time. And if you make a mistake, you have to start over. With Doceri, you record the writing first and then you talk while you are presenting (and you can record it). Plus, it is saved as a movie file so you can put it in folders, share it with students, embed it into your website, etc.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Feb 23, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Doceri does a lot of things. First off, it untethers the teacher from behind the PC while giving a lecture by allowing her to walk around with a tablet, advancing slides, and making annotations.

It also allows for students to watch these recorded presentations from anywhere. What a great way to review before an assessment!

Strengths: Very easy to use for both teachers and students.

Introduces non-linear learning and cuts the cord on teacher being attached to the keyboard and mouse.

Free iPad app and low cost for computer license is very appealing. Keep it that way or make it even lower.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) iPhone compatible - Be creative with screen real estate and you can do this. Don't use the excuse that one cannot clearly see the presentation on the 4" screen. Make it work with pinch to zoom in and out or some other technique. Trust me that opening it up to phones as well will draw far more users.

2) Allow teachers to share projects through Doceri's site. Educators who share love this. They are very willing to create and share when others are as well.

3) Then allowing another educator to import and augment an existing presentation... Wow! very powerful

Verdict: Attendance issues are mitigated as is remediation. This is not a panacea, but it certainly helps deal with real issues in our school district. Students use smartphones and to a lesser extent PC's. They are glued to screens throughout most of the day, so why not take advantage of this?

Nearly any teacher can use this software, whether a literature teacher annotating a text or a music teacher going over scales. It also gives us a good excuse to purchase an iPad!

Kenneth, Tutor. School Type: Higher Education, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to facilitate constant engagement between students and teachers across all disciplines. It gives teachers the ability to change and annotate their presentations on the fly to respond to classroom dynamics and student comments. It allows students to have access to recorded versions of what went on in the classrooms specifically for them that day and keep up with teachers. I find often that students wish they had the ability to go back and see what teachers did step by step and this tool allows them to do that!

Strengths: The ability to annotate and move through a presentation without having to take eyes off students and go through too many buttons or screen taps is the best part. Again the recording option and ability to share a teacher's thought process and notes throughout a lesson is a major plus for students who miss class and more importantly for those who want to take the time to review.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Web based account so that it allows for easier access for teachers or private educators who travel with students to use at different facilities so that they don't need to download the program onto other schools computers 2) Completely tablet enabled with just a connection to the school server, projector, or computer (either wifi or bluetooth)

Verdict: It gives teacher flexibility to create presentations that can be then distributed to students who want to review the class lesson. Teachers can save time by not necessarily having to re-answer questions that could be easily answered by reviewing what has been recorded!

Sarah, Math Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I teach math, and I have been recording instructional videos with my students using the smartboard and Screen Cast-0-Matic. This is incredible. I would use it on an hourly basis with my students.

Strengths: I am absolutely fascinated by the capabilities I would have with Doceri. I want to use this very badly, and I just need to get an ipad to be able to use it! I would buy the license in a heartbeat. I would be able to use this to not only teach "live" and be able to move around the classroom while I'm still writing on the smartboard, but I could use it to create instructional videos to flip my classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) I would love it if it were compatible with other tablets besides iPads and windows 8. 2) I wish the pen was still available with it 3) NOTHING!

Verdict: This tool would make flipping the classroom seamless. I would be able to create videos ahead of time and use a stylus to write on the presentations to ensure that students are comprehending material. I love the built in recorder!

Tracy, Classroom Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This product would be a fabulous tool in any classroom. Instead of purchased costly interactive whiteboards for every room, the cost of this app per teacher is very minimal. I would use this app for all student responses, group work, project based learning, and for whole group practice.

Strengths: This product would allow me to see my students thought processes through problems. Students could share how they found they answer with their classmates.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would really love the ability to use this on other devices instead of only the Ipad.

I would also like to be able to block students from seeing the board as they work so that they do not copy other student's work.

Verdict: I absolutely love the idea of this program to use in the classroom. With such a low cost, it could be used in all classrooms. It would allow me to see students at work and their thinking along the way.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 28, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to help students build background on non fiction readings. I would post information for students to view during and after class.

Strengths: This product can be used from any device and be shown on any device. Teachers can set up each lesson from home or school. Students can get the same information they will be tested on and will read and research.

Suggestions for Improvement: From what I was shown I can not think of any improvements that need to be made. It seems easy to use and will be shared by many devices.

Verdict: Doceri can be used with mobile technology. Students with updated technology at home can benefit from Doceri. Students in the classroom can benefit by using mobile technology in the classroom. Students can build understanding of a topic from the information the teacher sets up.

Belinda, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as an inter active whiteboard during direct instruction. I would record and post videos online for students to access to enhance their understanding of material.

Strengths: Visual projection is great for students. Being able to write directly on your device is incredible. I love being able to have the direct communication between device , computer and projector.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add the ability to take a picture of text and have it change to document form with the ability to edit.

Verdict: Teachers are not confined to the front of their classrooms with this product. This is great in that it's instant vie wing and projecting of necessary learning material for the classroom. You can access videos and documents onto the screen also write text right there and then.

Felipe, Teachnology Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Interact and engage students to achieve high academic results in the classroom. Increase engage and student participation that will lead to higher student retention and success.

Strengths: Cut the PC out of the classroom and let a million mobile devices bloom. This device is all about teacher student engagement that can lead to active excited students over bored disengages students. Students are not observers but participants using devices they know over a desktop PC. Parents can observe what they are doing and comment. I like the ability to share and collaborate with their peer.

Suggestions for Improvement: Video, assessments, mobile, all formats.

Verdict: Student engagement the ability for the teacher to get up and move through the classroom to observe students learning. Ease of use for all users.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: It would help me monitor students work and be able to place exemplary on the board as examples for students to follow as to what is expected.

Strengths: Gives students step by step how to create games and how to place them for others to see.

Suggestions for Improvement: I believe the ipad should be provided to teachers to use with the app.

The cost would be a problem, since most teachers already have enough cost to deal with.

I think students will love the fact their work will be displayed immediatey.

Verdict: It would be a great way for students to see examples of work, keep students on task since it has the capabilty to take picture, which would be great to take examples of student doing the work correctly and putting it up as an example.

Director Of Technology, School Type: Middle School, High School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use it to create blended lessons and content for my mathematics students!

Strengths: Ease of use,

Good tools for allowing the teacher to move around the room and monitor the classroom.

Students are able to share their work anonymously without fear of going to the front of the room.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love to see it on more platforms. Especially windows tablets as many of the faculty at my school have windows machines.

Verdict: This is a great tool for creating flipped or blended content. Since my school is trying to incorporate this into our curriculum, I would encourage administrators to do this because it is easy to use. I love the ability for students to share and contribute their ideas as well.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up