Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Tracy, Classroom Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product during shared learning and Daily 5 rotations. During rotations I would have specific computers for Curiosityville. Students would be able to explore the different animated characters and their rooms independently.

Strengths: This product would highly engage students on a daily basis in the classroom. This software makes learning fun without the students actually realize they are learning! I love how the software has so many resources for parents as well. In addition to contests and webinars, parents can find assistance for how to address realworld issues with kids. They can also track their student's progress through the software to see their growth and what they struggle with.

Suggestions for Improvement: I feel that the cost of the program is very high for a teacher or school system. With all of the other costs per classroom this would not be an option for many rooms.

I love the Bilingual Bingo to introduce the students to Spanish. But I would love if there were multiple Bilingual Bingos with different languages.

After speaking to the representative, I learned that there are currently 30 books available on the site. She said they are currently working to add more. I feel that with the cost of the software, more books need to be added rapidly. If students are using this on a daily basis, they would fly through those books.

Verdict: This software would be extremely engaging and motivating for Kindergarten and first grad students. The students can follow their own path and have the program differentiated to fit their needs. The animated characters and rooms are all very different and have many aspects to explore. Students can work on phonics skills, reading skills, science skills, and be creative in the other rooms.

Sasha, Special Educator. School Type: Middle School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to monitor students' progress on the Common Core standards. I would also use it to make learning more interactive and interesting for students. Students could use it for stations and for independent learning.

Strengths: The graphics were very colorful and interactive for students. Often teaching materials are outdated and not very interesting for students. This would allow students to be able to keep up with all the advances in technology. The site was easy to navigate for students by merely clicking a button. This would also help students be more independent with their learning and allow them to have choice in their learning. The product has many multimedia links for students with various learning styles.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Make it accessible on Ipods since many schools use them.

2. Create a version for a little older students

3. Create more characters for varied students interest

Verdict: It would be only appropriate for younger students and might seem to babyish for struggling older readers.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 21, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a teacher, I would love to use this with my third graders who are having difficulties in my class with reading and math. It provides a high interest platform for them to learn in.

Strengths: I was not able to access the program without giving them credit card information for a 30 day preview, so I was not really able to get a feel for the product.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would provide a free sample presentation of the product without having a 30 day free trial that you still have to give credit card information for. I can't think of any other things that need changing.

Verdict: Curiosityville is family oriented, teacher, parent, and child friendly and provides an exciting and creative way for children to gain skills and build upon their experiences.

Technology Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We are developing a Blended Learning model next year and this would be a very engaging program that can be used in our lower level grades. It dashboard was very user friendly and catching colors.

Strengths: The program was very interactive and would be a great way to invest the students.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. N/A

Verdict: The program cost is 3000 but it allows parents to enroll up to 4 additional children that are in the household. This will allow us to reach our students siblings before the enroll. The program starts at the age of 3.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool as an enrichment activity during computer lab time and also as an option for children to complete at home with parents.

Strengths: This product will meet the Common Core standards, track data, and allow for students and families to meet their improvement areas at home.

Suggestions for Improvement: Perhaps make it easier to find content areas without clicking on characters, be from 39 perhaps for a longer age range, and rewards or prizes for completion.

Verdict: I think it is engaging and educational for students to do.

Misty, 3rd Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I have a largely diverse class of learners and this will help me catch the attention of everyone and insure that all students are increasing their level of learning.

Strengths: It does a great job of making learning fun and engaging.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would be nice if it extended a few years. I felt the the personalities would still work with older students.

Verdict: Many students In the school are behind level as well and that will help with the behavior issue throughout the school.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Record student learning levels and create activities aligned to need

Strengths: Correlate to curriculum

Makes learning fun while capturing data

Suggestions for Improvement: Include lessons around phonemic awareness and math skills by grade level

Verdict: Data specific activities

Complete data being captured through every click

Jennifer, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Feb 21, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: As a first grade math teacher, I would need to dig deeper into the standards covered in mathematics. However, the possibilities of games, activities, and engaging lessons seem like they would be great for providing students with a way to learn interactively while providing students with extensive choices for their own learning.

Strengths: As teachers, we want to give students the ability to become decisionmakers in their learning, but that becomes almost impossible given the time constraints, materials, and range of students in the classroom. Since this program is aligned with the common core, it would be great to be able to have multiple activities on the same skill at students' fingertips!

Suggestions for Improvement: Because I haven't used the product, it is hard to say what improvements I would make. The only think I can think of at the moment would be to break up the age group. The product is geared towards kids ages 38, but I really think it is more appropriate for ages 35. I think 68 yearolds would find it too juvenile and would want something a little more exciting and geared towards their age level. Children at ages 3 and 8 are very different people, and I don't think one program (cast of characters and interactions) would be suitable for both.

Verdict: This site seems like it would be very attractive and engaging for primary students and would give students more choice in their learning. Generally, teachers choose the method of delivery or the activities that students will do to learn a skill. But with this program, it seems as if the students would be in control of their own roadmap to learning.

Amy, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a home school connection to build upon skills taught in the classroom. I feel as though I would use this in a whole group to explain and then during independent time students would play. A major benefit of this website is that once a subscription is purchased, students then have access at home to play and strengthen those skills.

Strengths: kid friendly visuals, everything is read out loud to the students. many sites are too visually overstimulating.

feedback for parents on what their child is doing well and the gives the parent additional resources to work on subjects.

Suggestions for Improvement: iPad /tablet app parents can bring it on the go.

lower cost to parents

Verdict: I would need more time exploring with it and seeing how and what specific skills are addressed with the site. I do think it's I powering for parents, who are not educators, to get direct feedback on what their children are learning and then receive additional suggestions for how to work on specific skills.

Special Educator, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would actually use the tool to share with parents as a home connection with the early learners. It would serve as a follow-up for skills taught throughout the day.

Strengths: colorful

characters

multifaceted

academic skills

developmental charting

learning tree

Suggestions for Improvement: Price for individuals vs. the school system itself

Verdict: As a special educator of early learners, we are always looking for new ways to implement or promote parent involvement. As I go into homes on a daily basis the parents appear to have access to all types of technology (tablets, laptops, ipods, televisions) but very rarely have or are motivated to purchase traditional learning tools for early learners(books, blocks, ring stackers, puzzles etc.). This would give them immediate access to material that has previously worked on with their child. In addition to this I love the developmental charting that is built into the system.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up