Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
2nd Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: The possibilities with CueThink seems limitless! To help teach younger students (K-2) use this great tool teachers could first utilize it in a whole class setting until students understand how to use the app. It could then be used as whole class lessons, small guided math groups, partner work, math center rotations, etc. For older students I see this as a great tool for teachers who are using the blended learning or flipped classroom model.

Strengths: The breakdown of the problem solving steps of the app looks terrific! It enables to students to try and identify what they know, what they want to find out in a given word problem, enables them to communicate their math thinking and strategies both with a built in whiteboard and videoing capability, and most importantly, talk about their thinking and learn from each other. Teachers can even use this in a small group setting or as a center workstation and have students try to create their own word problems that they then solve each others. The cloud based technology is great to be able to save problem and revisit them. Teachers can select from a base existing word problems or input their own for districts that mandate a specific math program. Being able to save student work for e-potfolios, report card information, parent conferences is a plus. Teachers of blended learning or flipped classrooms definitely need to check this tool out!!

Suggestions for Improvement: Build in the ability for the problems to be read out loud to younger students, included the words they can highlight and select during the problem solving steps. It would be a HUGE time saver if CueThink can partner with the big math programs so that the word problems in the teacher editions can be automatically inputted or chosen from to reduce the need for teachers to manually input sample word problems. I didn't get a chance to view the teacher dashboard in as much detail as I wanted to, but just make sure the storage of completed word problems is easily manageable and quickly viewable by teacher. E-portfolios are a hot topic in schools now and it will be important and helpful to make sure excellent example of student problem solving is compatible with a system like that.

Verdict: The flexibility of the app (tools integrated into it to help students develop problem solving skills and math confidence in risk taking, creative thinking, understanding there is not just 1 correct answer), range of grade levels it can be used for, and ease of use for students (and teachers) looks terrific!

Math Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I want to create groups and have students use the product in groups because of the cost. I plan to have students solve challenging problems on the platform so that students can work in teams, and be able to collaborate with one another.

Strengths: This product provides a great space for students to work together to solve challenging problems and see how others work through their solutions. This product emphasizes the importance of the progress in working out difficult math problems. I love the idea of being able to put up a challenging problem for students to work through, and have students collaborate on the platform.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think one improvement would be to have in made available in all platforms so that there is more accessibility. Also, the cost is high for individual teachers who want to try it in their classrooms without the entire school having to get the funds for the purchase of the product.

Verdict: This is a great tool for students to take their learning to the next level. It's great that students can share their solutions on the platform and be able to collaborate in real-time. Teachers can monitor students' progress and be able to jump in when needed.

Sandra, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Cuethink is a product that wants to expose student thought as it happens in the moment in groups. It tries to give you a snapshot of student discussion and thinking in small groups. It gives students the goal of completing a problem in a way that is coherent to others. I would probably break my students into groups after a lesson and have them work together to create a presentation for the whole class that we would discuss. It would help me jigsaw similar problems and bring more student voice into my classroom. It would help me track the quality of student explanation.

Strengths: I think this product does something unique in recording student voices and having them do a "private" presentation. It helps those students who are shy or early learners of the language work with their classmates support to get their voices heard in the classroom. I love the idea that students can comment on each other's solutions and see that as a way this product can switch from an in classroom device to an out of classroom summarize or review.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Number lines, coordinate grids, empty tables, empty boxes with drag and drop options as something teachers can decide to add to the problems they present. 2) Sentence starter scripts, so students who are L1 or L2 can have ideas of how to start their presentations 3) Similar problems already solved (this may be a feature that appears naturally with time) When students are stuck on a problem, sometimes seeing a similar problem solved will start them on a solution path.

Verdict: I would recommend this product since the common core focuses heavily on how the students have picked up the ability to explain their content as well as complete the prompts and get a "right answer". Cue thinking seems focused on that "getting it" aspect of the math... and the fact that at the end, students notes and voices are captured and able to be replayed is fantastic, because it allows reflection on that work both in the classroom, and in our teacher meetings.

Math Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool to solve rich math tasks with students where students can share their thinking with other students. I would start off with a whole group introduction and then have students go off into smaller groups to solve the problem

Strengths: This problem allows students to share their thinking really well. Students are able to demonstrate their thinking through writing and drawing which is helpful in a UDL math classroom. There is a benefit to having graphic organizers for students who need a hard copy of something to write on when completing math. I like that it can be used on a chromebook.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make this product read for students so that I can provide all necessary accomodations. I would add extra tools such as a ruler, magnifier, highlighter to help students with creating their visual models. I would make sure that it is easily accessible through chromebooks and students gmail accounts.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because students would have an opportunity to share their thinking. Each of the questions are standards aligned which is an important feature. Students get to choose a strategy or come up with their own strategy for solving a problem. Questions are easily scaffolded and easy to answer.

Douglas, Computer Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This product allows students to engage in video explanations of math problem solving and gives classmates the ability to comment on the process. I could see this used throughout a unit to supplement some of the homework and to give a greater audience for students within the classroom to express their ideas and to see how everyone is performing and solving the same problems.

Strengths: This product easily guides students through planning and thinking through a word problem in Math. It allows teachers as well as other students to hear the process a student went through to solve a problem.

Suggestions for Improvement: Review of a rubric for students to follow could help guide some students. Incorporation of graphic organizers and formula charts for student use. Showing buttons for advancement to other parts of the answering process

Verdict: This encourages students to think about their work and try to explain how to solve a math problem to their peers. This gives teachers insight into the process a student is taking to solve a problem and lets students review their peers.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to help students with learning math. The product seems to allow the teacher to highlight text that is important to the student, allow them to ponder about the question and provide possible solutions. The product will be available in many different platforms which would allow the teacher to use in any classroom and in various devices.

Strengths: I really liked the highlight tool allowing the teacher to have the student focus on a particular thing. It will also allow the students to share their work with other students and receive feedback.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love to have the problems translated in a different language, and/or have an oral component that reads the problem to the student.

Verdict: I would recommend using this product because it would allow the students to receive feedback from other students and allow the teacher to monitor student work.

Irving Middle School, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it to encourage students to share solutions to complex problems, to motivate talented students to continue achieving and compete with other advanced students, and to "make math social."

Strengths: I can definitely see some of my advanced students blossoming through use of this program. Out of 128 students, I only had 4 incoming advanced students (according to state tests).. in my general classroom setting it is very difficult to meet their needs in math and to continue their growth. I had to engage them in projects and challenges to continue their growth outside of the classroom to keep them advanced. Using CueMath would allow them to engage with peers on their level and solve sophisticated problems.

Suggestions for Improvement: I wish cuethink would partner with another program to increase the relevance to all my students. Partnering with a program that addresses remediation and skill development would strengthen my interest in the program.

Verdict: I would recommend it as an option to challenge advanced students to continue growing as learners.

Desmond, Boston Public Schools. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As we went an era not developing students math abilities this will be a huge benefit for students who need a ramp for learning and developing nurmeracy for learning. It wonderful!

Strengths: This is good for students who need visiual aid and have ways to enhance learning through techology and make the classroom engaging and fun.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have a biulinlgual compoent. We know that students who are English language Learners needs access to language in thier native language to open thier mind to future 21st century learning.

Verdict: Because you can draw, develop movies and explain deep rich math ideas this is a powerful tool to address the digital natives.

Patricia, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Since I have access to three iPads for 20-23 students, I would use this product by presenting a problem of the week and requiring the students to figure it out by the end of the week. I also have a large screen TV on which I could show the results and use them for class discussion. As the year progressed, I would like to give a choice of problems for the children to solve.

Strengths: I like the problem solving process it asks the students to use. I also like that it has ready to use problems as well as the ability for the teacher to input his/her own.

Suggestions for Improvement: I was sorry that it seems to be geared to grade 3 and up. I teach 2nd graders and I think this product would be wonderful for them.

Verdict: I would recommend this as a product that would put an active focus on problem solving. It seems flexible enough to be used in a number of different ways for different teaching styles.

Lisa, Health And Physical Education Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I am thinking that our Business teacher may be able to use this in her intro to Business class as it goes through all the steps necessary to start up and run a business.

Strengths: That It goes through the steps necessary to create and run a business. The ability to add your own pictures and the math components.

Suggestions for Improvement: Perhaps the component of what personnel would be needed to be able to run the business or make the products. A link to how to get patterns approved?

Verdict: I likes how it gives a virtual component to be able to teach this lesson. It can allow a more self paced ability. It also enables for creativity. I liked the idea of encorporating the surveys within the program.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up