Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Sim, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: to pull out and share ideas, strategies, links, etc.

Strengths: it saves a lot of time by allowing teachers to create their own individual libraries; this is tremendous amount of time saved now and the next year. I don't have to pay "teachers pay teachers" or "pinterest" anymore. Yay! There are great visuals; videos, pictures, great stuff there and the ones with highest ratings are on top. That's another great feature.

Suggestions for Improvement: It's great that it's free for individual teachers. Tina told me that in time it would be fee based for schools; but she assured me that individuals teachers would not be kicked out even then. that was a relief. Actually I wouldn't change anything about the product but add more tried lessons and strategies provided by actual teachers, in addition to wonderful lessons created by education professionals who work for the company.

Verdict: it's a great teacher networking platform designed to provide lesson, subject, grade level and STANDARDS BASED assistance

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to access classroom lessons ideas.

Strengths: The fact that the lessons plans are teacher based is very useful. It's format is user friendly and easy to navigate. Although there are similar product for teachers many of them require teachers to then pay for the product last minute after spending time searching for them or make it difficult to see what the lesson contains. This product does not do this!

Suggestions for Improvement: Based on the quick guide I got through this product there isn't much I would change. Perhaps the only thing I could recommend is allow for a grade group where you can connect with teacher teaching a similar grade instead of seeing feedback from teachers in grades that do not pertain to me.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it provides teachers will easy access to teacher based lesson plans free of charge. It also allows teachers to keep the lessons of interest in their own profile for future use.

Krissy, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would try to get other teachers on here as a teachers-only sharing place to find more info and get support that is not always on other social media platforms.

Strengths: This is a place to combine many sources like pinterest, facebook, twitter, linkedin, and so many more to be just for teachers. The tags and categories to add help make it user friendly and helpful to teachers who take so much time searching for things and resources.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Be sure to keep it only in educational circles!! It would probably lose its appeal if parents of students or the general public became involved in this.
2. Keep it free!!
3. Let's build it bigger and bigger!! I think every teacher should be on here!

Verdict: I would love to use it as a platform to share and get ideas for interventions, lessons, themes and topics, etc etc that go on in my school and my classroom.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this whenever I was planning a new lesson or wanting to update previously lessons.

Strengths: This product is excellent because it pulls on the strengths of teachers worlwide.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see more lessons. Perhaps links to lessons currently existing (eg. Alton Brown's science & cooking lessons online), etc. I would like to see ways in which teachers can have their students collaborate. Perhaps a chat room for teachers interested in collaborating.

Verdict: Great idea for teachers who want to remains fresh and current. Excellent way t collaborate and meet teachers internationally to discuss mutual interests and goals.

Grade 4 Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would try to find lessons, and post lessons from my Showme App online for other teachers to see. Love the fact that it's free.

Strengths: It is very easy to use, especially if you are familiar with Facebook. The lessons are extremely easy to find and post. I am sure to use this in the classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Not sure if it allows me to post links and lessons to my website.

2. I wonder if we can make a school site where teachers can post lessons etc for each other

I can't think of anything else.....I'll have to play with this site once I get home and see!

Verdict: It's great for teacher collaboration

Kristen, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Use it to network with other teachers
use is to build resources

Strengths: I love that I can explore what others are doing in their classroom, as well as share what I am doing in mine.

Could be great to find ideas and modify them to my needs
Love that its free!!!

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) cant think of anything, I like the way it is set-up
2) I would have to use it to get a feel for how it worked in order to provide any useful feedback

Verdict: Like that it is easy to use and free.
Has a similar set up as facebook and Pinterest combined.

Teachet, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would search for lesson plans and ideas

Strengths: It helps teachers lesson plan. It saves planning time

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Connect it to Canadian curriculum
2. Option to automatically have access to your grade instead of searching
3. Incentive for teachers to post lessons

Verdict: I would recommend it so teachers can be inspired by other teachers and organize their units

Math Teacher, School Type: Higher Education, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to connect to other teachers in the virtual learning community.

Strengths: I think this is AWESOME! It is LinkedIn for teachers and works like Facebook. The familiarity of the site lends itself to the ease of use. I like that you can follow specific educators and that the site recommends other educators who you can also follow and connect with. It is a great way to expand your professional learning network!

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see a way to link to opportunities to get PD credits toward licensure. To add to my first comment, adding a way for educators to link up PD opportunities they have experienced would be helpful. I can't think of a third!

Verdict: I would explain to administration that this tool would give teachers a wealth of opportunities to interact with teachers both in the school and in the education community at large. We could share ideas as well as learn new and innovative ways to teach different content. It is also a great opportunity to ask questions about many different topics and challenges that teachers encounter.

Spec Ed, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would share with the teachers in my school about this free resource. I would encourage them to try it out --it provides a place to save your favorite lessons in a library file so that retrieval is easy. It has lessons ranging form Kindergarten to Grade 12 so it is very versatile. It allows for teachers to ask questions or present challenges about what they are trying to do.

Strengths: It feasibly will save teachers time --especiaily if the teacher finds favorite lessons and saves them in their library of ideas.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would change the thumbs up and down feature --rather it should have a comment only or what the lesson was particularly good at.

It should have a special education tab for teachers to find ideas that would accommodate lessons for kids with special needs.

Verdict: It is free! It would provide an additional resource place for teachers to find innovative lesson ideas.
I would prefer that there is not a like/dislike button--rather it should be comments that worked for your partcluar situation.

Rob, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to search for ideas and inspiration for a topic in my classroom. I would use it to organize items of interest from the internet and from the site itself.

Strengths: I like the way the program is organized-it seems immediately familiar because it is similar to Facebook and other social media sites. It allows teachers to connect with each other and share ideas in a space that is designed for teachers.

Suggestions for Improvement: Time will tell whether this catches on. It would work best with a large number of users sharing content. I'll need to try it for myself and see how much content there is that suits my purposes. It is currently free and also has no advertising. I would be annoyed if there was advertising. So basically I would change it so that everyone uses it so we are all sharing in the same spot.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool as an alternative to Facebook groups that serve a similar purpose, but on a platform that is not specifically designed for education.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up