Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: If I need ideas on a certain lesson, I might log in there and search for lessons that could help me get new ideas.

Strengths: There a lot of resources in there for lesson planning and lesson ideas.

Suggestions for Improvement: It's really expensive for teachers to use it if they just want to look for lesson plans. The ratio of lessons to share (10) to lessons you're able to access for free (2) is a little skewed. I wouldn't mind sharing lessons, but with time a factor for me, I would not be able to add too many at one time.

Verdict: From the looks of it, there seems to be a lot of resources in the website for teachers to use. There are a lot of lesson plans in there especially for core subjects like math, science and language arts.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: If I need ideas on a certain lesson, I might log in there and search for lessons that could help me get new ideas.

Strengths: There a lot of resources in there for lesson planning and lesson ideas.

Suggestions for Improvement: It's really expensive for teachers to use it if they just want to look for lesson plans. The ratio of lessons to share (10) to lessons you're able to access for free (2) is a little skewed. I wouldn't mind sharing lessons, but with time a factor for me, I would not be able to add too many at one time.

Verdict: From the looks of it, there seems to be a lot of resources in the website for teachers to use. There are a lot of lesson plans in there especially for core subjects like math, science and language arts.

Aimee, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I'm at the point in my career where I don't need as many lessons, and the people who could use it would have more difficulty accessing it.

Strengths: It is great at providing free resources for a select group of teachers (namely experienced teachers who already have a library of resources to contribute).
It can show teachers what other teachers are using. But, so could a Google search.

Suggestions for Improvement: First, include a student teacher or new teacher account setting that is only valid for a year or two.
Second, have a system to compare resources to previously published resources. What is to prevent multiple people putting the same resource up and having redundant resources?
Third, a system that tracks the number of times the resource was downloaded would be nice. That would inform users how often a resource gets used.

Verdict: There are resources available, but there are several other platforms that already offer lessons. There isn't any functionality that this resource is adding that other sites (such as TeachersPayTeachers) doesn't already include.
True, students can add and contribute resources, but in general, I don't want to know how other students are doing, I want to know how my students are doing.

Counselor, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Introduce my students to the different web-based resources out in the universe, especially all over the web. it is conveniently that this site has all the information and course resources for students in different grades and educational levels. Students will have a legitimate site to retrieve the information they want or need to advance their learning and educational opportunities.

Strengths: convenient and accessible to all. Highly encourages exchanges and input into the system. can be a paid or not paid service. can be a pay it forward type of service.

Suggestions for Improvement: might want to collaborate with BITSA programs in different districts to support new teachers or connect with teacher programs to put teacher interns on this program to release the stress on teaching materials.

Verdict: It is a "pay it forward" type of service. however, this might not be the best tool for the middle school level or the elementary school level. This would be more of a high school, especially the college where lectures and materials are more advanced and connected.

Teacher, School Type: High School, Higher Education, Other, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this with my Chinese PD training community. I world like to collab with this company to support the Chinese teachers having great PD online.

Strengths: It is a great tool for PD development and I am going home to discover it more and to look at how I can introduce it to my PL.

Suggestions for Improvement: Language teaching and online teaching courses and PD opportunities are the things I am look to.

Verdict: Great company and good idea for PD.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to do small group reading with a class. I would also use it to learn from other teachers lessons.

Strengths: The good thing is people can share their lesson and learn from other peoples lessons.

Suggestions for Improvement: Keep it free if possible. Especially for student teachers. More stories for the lower grades.

Verdict: I would recommend it because each story has a summary.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: for basic comprehesion , critical thinking

Strengths: I enjoy the choices in literature
I appreciate the willingness to provide some materials for free

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. the variety of products
the company is looking to include special ed

Verdict: They are looking at including the target audience of sped

Tech, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Teacher content dump. Would have teachers get information on whatever they are teaching.

Strengths: Needs a little work to make it more user friendly. Good way to share information. Good resource for beginning teachers.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it more user friendly. Make it easier to share content.

Verdict: It needs a little work to make it more user friendly, but it is a great concept. Teachers can collaborate with other teachers in their school, district, or throughout the country and find content that they can share with students and create tests and talking points.

venkat raman, Speech Therapist. School Type: High School, Higher Education
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I used it to finish my assignments for my course works.

Strengths: It helps finding your assignments and gives you foundation to start writing your assignments.

Suggestions for Improvement: Check the answers or documents before accepting and uploading. little cheaper to buy. special options for frequent users and referral points.

Verdict: Its a great tool. It helps understanding expected answer types, so you can make your answers.

Teacher/Coach, School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: The resource is a bit overwhelming with too many random lessons and other stuffs. I would use it if it has a better narrowing function that customize to my class.

Strengths: The massive information database

Suggestions for Improvement: catergorize by standards, grade, district/state

Verdict: I would recommend if it is tailor and customize better for the grade level and the topic of the content. I also need would like it better to have remmendation from other teachers

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up