Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Florence, Classroom Teacher/Webmaster/Gt Facilitator. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I will be able to immediately use their free math tools as virtual manipulatives.

I would use this during instruction in order to use visuals for my students, or let them log in and use the tools themselves.

Strengths: It gives an easy to use platform for manipulatives and instruction. It seems to have lots of questioning built in that follow best practices for teachers. I think that it may be useful for teachers who are not sure how to develop effective questioning routines.

Suggestions for Improvement: A cheap version for teachers that allows them to save lessons without needing the whole school to sign up would be nice. Only allowing access to one unit for $50 seems like something most teachers would not be able to afford, especially knowing they only have access for one year.

I also think that the program doesn't seem to have a lot of problem solving, but I only saw a demo, not the whole thing. If there could be indepth multistep problems that would be great.

I am also interested in casting since our students will soon all have devices, so I would like to be able to send the lesson pages to students so that they can interact on their own and then send it back to the teacher to be used in instruction or saved for assessment purposes.

Verdict: This curriculum seems to have a lot to offer, but teachers would be limited unless the whole school or county signed up for it. I think that there are clear visuals and they seem to be nice and interactive so that they can manipulated rather than just using for identification purposes (for example, dragging your equivalent fractions to see the overlap.)

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 20, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Conceptua math is a wonderful resource to use to create engaging lessons for students. It has lots of "lesson openers" that include front of the room activities that are engaging and interactive. The guided lessons have lots of activities that can be used on ipads and other one-to-one devices. I would use this for engagements before math lessons and for extension pieces in my lessons, so that students could receive more practice.

I also love that it has "conceptual" math activities. This is completely aligned with the common core. The questions are rigorous and involve a lot of discussion.

Strengths: It cuts down on time creating engaging activities on the white board. It has interactive tools that allow you to make things like equivalent fraction bars simply by dragging your mouse. It also has already created engagements that are scaffolded and have a lot of discussion points. This helps teachers create strong and rigorous conceptual math questions.

Suggestions for Improvement: None, I just want to see more samples!

Verdict: I would recommend it because the questions that I have seen are rigorous, interactive, and useful. It makes learning fun and also allows for a connected learning environment. It is connected to the common core as well, so the questions are rigorous and conceptual.

Special Educator, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am a special educator working with students Pk -8th , my student show learning disabilities that does not allow them to understand concept s in the traditional way . That's where conceptua math

prove to be a great tool. It is interactive, common core based, attractive to young minds, easy to use, and provide immediate feedback. I can't wait to start using it on Monday with my students and I know the challenge that math represents for most of them won't be an obstacle with this tool.i would use it during my pull out sessions, 4 times a week as an educational support.

Strengths: Common core aligned

Great visual graphics

Easy to navigate

Compatible with any browser

Affordable price

Feedback

age appropriate material

Suggestions for Improvement: I need to use it to be able to find something that needs to be improved. At this point I like what I saw in the presentation.

Verdict: I would explain the innovative this tool is , how easy to use, besides being aligned with the common core standards. I would mention that this tool provides the visual support and the interaction young students enjoy .

Christopher, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: It's product is a great tool for teaching remediation. My students struggle with a lot of the concepts begin taught despite being in the ninth grade. This product fills a lot of the gaps that my students may have in these areas. I would use this product for these gaps.

Strengths: Conceptual based learning is an excellent skill set for the student to have access to. Very adaptable to the students learning as things can change to benefit the students that are using it.

Suggestions for Improvement: Continue to develop it for further grades!!!

Verdict: I would only advise against it if because it is developed for the 3rd to 5th grade. My benefit with this product is that in the future, the concept of this conceptual based learning is something I feel my students would truly benefit from. I highly recommend this product as something that will benefit new teachers in that it provides options for how they can start the class the right way. They provide scripts to help teachers.

Special Educator, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to provide math instruction and remediation to students.

I currently teach reading and math to special education inclusion students in Elementary School.

Strengths: It provides specific practice of skills and concepts with examples that you can manipulate.

Teachers can tell which students need more practice.Teachers are a part of the teaching experience. They are able to do checkin as provided by the program. Students have to check in before going on.

There is an element of control that allows teachers to determine the next steps for students.

Suggestions for Improvement: It appears that many of the issues that might need to be addressed have been.

It would be great to increase the grades that this program could address. Currently it is for 3rd6th grade.

Verdict: The product allows teachers to incorporate technology in instruction by using the program to teach the concept, allow for student practice, and then have an evaluation for the lesson.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this site for both whole group and individual practice for fractions. I would also use it to monitor student understanding of fractions.

Strengths: The product allows students to directly interact with fractions in a visual and numerical way. It provides direct feedback on where students errors lie and gives them an opportunity to go back and fix things. It also allows students to interact with a platform similar to PARCC.

Suggestions for Improvement: Increase number of math concepts covered. Provide lessons for remediation. Create programs for younger students too.

Verdict: This tool provides a visual and interactive method for teaching fractions. It allows student to manipulate fractions numerically and with pictures to better understand the underlying concepts.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: The students will be able to explore their answers on the board. If their answers are wrong, they can just manipulate the technology to find the correct answer. Since it is interactive, the students will really be engage. I hope the middle school levels will be done soon.

Strengths: It is interactive so students will be engaged more. It will solve the problem of bored students in the class.

Suggestions for Improvement: They have to complete the program until middle school or high school. Right now, they only have until fifth grade.

Verdict: It is interactive and it makes students more engaged and involved.

Inclusive Special Education, School Type: Elementary School, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Introduction of material as an interventionist or in an trip model. Can also be used in a regular classroom for entire classroom lesson.

Strengths: The data produced is nice. I really like the remediation portion. I like that you have the opportunity to choose to practice the skill again or go over a previous skills.

Suggestions for Improvement: Assign individual lessons
Add more grade level content

Verdict: I appreciate the visual conception models. I also like the remediation portion for those who don't master the concept.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: i would use this product to differentiate my teaching using thinkpads.

Strengths: I can teach equivalent fractions very easily and student can see immediatley how they did.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would allow broken down steps for each problem so the student can go back one level, re-teaching themselves and then go to the next level that they had problems.
A second chance.

Verdict: Because it has many options to help students learn at their individual level.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to provide my students with engaging, and interactive opening and closing activities for math lessons.

Strengths: whiteboard lessons and activities

Suggestions for Improvement: Create activities that students can do on their devices also.

Verdict: No reasons.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up