Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher & Member Of Literacy Committee, School Type: High School, BYOD Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would mostly use this with my AIS English students because we are mandated to serve them but have virtually no tools and not much budget despite my district's apparent affluence. I would also use this with English 9 students. I serve on our high school's 9-12 interdisciplinary Literacy Committee and am very eager to share this with the other teachers and administrators with whom I serve. We present at faculty meetings to empower teachers.

Strengths: I have heard several presentations so far of products that seem very worthy and are not too expensive EXCEPT that my district's purse strings are tight. I can make suggestions, and my administrators ask for input on resources frequently. However, their higher-ups do not give them adequate budgets so limited purchases are made. I teach one course for which only maybe $200 is spent a year. The course has no set curriculum, but luckily we are doing curriculum mapping over the summer. What good is a curriculum map with no resources? This is the one presentation I've attended, except for Share My Lesson which I do already use, that is 100% FREE. I almost wanted to cry when I found that out. I serve some of the most academically needy students and it pains me to have so little that will truly help their skills grow.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Make sure more people know about it.
2. Make sure ALL teachers know about it.
3. Get the creators of this out in the school to present to administrators.

Verdict: This is a 100% forever FREE set of very rich resources. You cannot get much better than that! It is useful to teachers of other disciplines, too, not just English or ELA teachers.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, BYOD Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Matching instructional text to students and provide connections between fiction and non-fiction. Love that the questions increase in rigor and there are discussion questions that provide framework. Great resources for close reading

Strengths: Great content and questions. Love that the questions increase in rigor. Great variety of materials. For classrooms that don't have one to one technology this is a great that teachers can print materials. There is a variety of texts and sources that are already connected.

Suggestions for Improvement: Would love a feature that aligns a search roll with theme and materials. Also more interactive technology within the text to allow students to highlight text to support their thinking use tools similar to those that students must need to be familiar with for PARCC

Verdict: Great resources and materials that provide a variety of resources along one theme or area.,

Patrick, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for close reading especially for introductory information and background to engage students and to monitor comprehension of material to check for understanding.

Strengths: Some of the things that impress me are the different ways that material can be presented to students and the electronic tools that can enhance learning while not getting in the way. I am also impressed by the possibilities of importing fresh viewpoints and the speed that research can be done.

Suggestions for Improvement: Because I am reviewing without the ability to actually use the application I think that I am only able to see the reasons that I want to use it an don't actually have negative input.

Verdict: I would advocate for its use because not only will this save money by not being stuck within a particular text and not having a less labor intensive method of keeping track of students‰Ûª ability to read, comprehend, and align with common core standards.

Teacher / Chapter Leader, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would like to use this product with my students. I would build lessons around the themes using the texts they provide that a Common Core aligned, and use or modify the accompanying questions.

Strengths: I like that the texts are thematic, Common Core aligned, cross-references other texts that support, or compare and contrast the themes. I also like that it welcomes teacher input and content submissions. This will help broaden its offerings.

Suggestions for Improvement: My only complaint about this product for me is due to the newness of the product it does not have enough content for my subject area. Right now it only has one theme relevant to what I teach.

Verdict: I love that the texts are theme-based with real world implications. They foster critical thinking as well as helping to build writing skills in terms of Common Core requirements.

Tracy, Tech Integration. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Great resource for teacher with unlimited subject matter! Great idea to pick a topic when you have an unexpected sub day and need students to be engaged. Can be used for work when there are early finishers. Easily puts literacy in all content areas, and does not dumb down content but makes it applicable to all learners.

Strengths: Very menu driven, puts literacy out there for everyone! The work, the assessment is buit in big time saver.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make sure it is WAVE ADA compliant for a users

Have an option to print or fill in and submit depending on resources of school

Be sure search tool can be used to have viable results

Verdict: For all the areas it could be used. Great resource for teacher with unlimited subject matter! Great idea to pick a topic when you have an unexpected sub day and need students to be engaged. Can be used for work when there are early finishers. Easily puts literacy in all content areas, and does not dumb down content but makes it applicable to all learners.

Dan, Tech Coach. School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We have a huge literacy initiative and we are 1:1. IT's hard to find enough content sometimes.

Strengths: The reading levels and depth of essential questions are a really high quality resource.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'd live to see both a search for paired texts as well as more compare and contrast using multiple texts. More science content would really help our district.

Verdict: It's FREE and speaking with the founder and CEO gave real sense of the Gia's of the company. It's authentic and provides some really quality resources.

Nancy, Technology Education Specialist. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: In the history and english classroom with my students for themes we are studying.

Strengths: It solves the problem of I don't have to worry if each child has the text to read. It pairs 2 similar items together. It is free. It is awesome. The ability to print from the site is a positive as well.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add more themes, add more subject matter, and continue to do the awesome things you are doing such as adding a search option.

Verdict: It is a non-profit and it is free but it is also an excellent product.

Michelle, Technology Coach. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Thus would be great to help find reading passages for students. I love that it is free!

Strengths: Solves the finding reading passages debacle. Love the ease of use and versitily. I can't wait to use this site.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love to see the same article at different levels and more online components. I would love to see lower levels available and search features.

Verdict: Free reading passage for students and ability levels. I love that students can suggest subjects to future reading.

Fadeke, Educator. School Type: Higher Education, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Teaching learners who are below their reading level.
Teaching those who do not have reading comprehension, or English is not their second language.

Strengths: Differentiated, leveled, thematic reading. Global literacy non-profit. Addresses international students needs and digital resource that engages learners.

Suggestions for Improvement: Align to CCSS, ISTE.
Review DC and MD curriculum.

Verdict: It increases literacy, real world theme based approach. Relevant topics, digital resource. Exciting content.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, College Prep School, Blended Learning
Jul 12, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product for students and parents. This is a very very great tool. I hope my school will take a look at this tool. I believe that the kids will love it.

Strengths: This product is very very great. My special ed kids would love this tool. I hope my school will take a look at this wonderful tool.

Suggestions for Improvement: the tool should be for lower grades as well. You all should take a look at providing this for K-6

Verdict: I have know bad reviews for the product.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up