Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Dept Chair, School Type: High School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to teach students how to interact with concepts of Chemistry through gaming. I think that students could really benefit by using this software. Students use technology on a daily basis, (and most high school students use technology such as gaming daily, so this would be an extension of their learning.)

Strengths: I like that gaming can be educational in that while they are doing so, they are learning Chemistry!!! How cool is that!!! I am excited about the prospect of using this at our school. Thank you for creating this extremely interactive gaming tool to help teach students Chemistry!!!

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) The graphics could improve slightly, but not by much!!! (2) Multiple users could increase (3) Make this more challenging by increasing the Lexile level of the questions for gifted students!!!

Verdict: I would use this because our students really struggle with concepts in Chemistry (and science in general.) I believe that through the use of gaming, they can actually be learning, and not even realize this is educational!!!! Learning the Periodic Table of Elements is challenging for some of the students, and this is a great for that purpose!!!

Cynthia, Chen Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as an introductory level and warm ups in my chemistry class. Give them a chance to practice concepts being learned. Would also use it as a review for students who failed the assessment and give them a chance to go back and do it again. Could be useful at the higher levels for differentiation. Great for personalized learning too!!

Strengths: Great graphics. Love the fact they have to manipulate the atoms and move them and make them match.
Higher level thinking skills used!!
Opportunity to create their own molecules to see if their ideas work and follow rules

Suggestions for Improvement: Chromebooks access using touchpad. Not just a website

Include a log in so teacher can follow progress of students.

Add a game module so students can compete and get quicker at it. Learn to visualize quicker!!!

Verdict: Hands on practical learning of concepts they cannot see. Low test scores on this unit every year and going down not up. We already have the devices to do web version. Critical thinking, visualizing and problem solving all in one. There is not much out in market right now for chemistry!!

Michelle, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is science specific. And I teach math.

Strengths: Does an amazing job of building a foundational ideas of chemistry.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Add in a chemical balance component.
2. It is not yet available, so it is difficult to exam all of it.
3. It is going to be a subscription. With teacher access to data....I think it would be a fun and easy free app (maybe simplified) for fun.
Has great potential.

Verdict: This is really fun. It show how molecules connect, and when they connect they have equal values.

Teacher, School Type: High School, College Prep School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This program provides excellent 3-D visualization for chemical reactions and modeling of chemical structures, so it could easily be incorporated as part of classroom teaching sessions, as well as independent, interactive learning.

Strengths: This program provides an excellent visualization of chemical reactions, is highly detailed, and is very easy to use. It gives the student the ability to vary reactants and media and see the resulting change in products.

Suggestions for Improvement: Additional modeling of organic reactions (nucleophilic substitution, elimination, halogenation, etc.) would be a great improvement.

Additional modeling of equilibrium reactions (weak acid/base dissociation, precipitation, etc.) would be an improvement.

Additional modeling of chemical kinetics for reactions beyond 1st and 2nd order would also be an improvement.

Verdict: Chemistry is a difficult subject to teach without both a hands-on lab component and an excellent virtual model. This software provides excellent visualization of chemical reactions and chemical structures to assist in student learning and reinforcement of chemical concepts.

David, Student. School Type: Elementary School, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to help with my math because it's so simple. It would make writing a myth, the electronic age is now. When I was using this product I didn't even think I was doing math. I t would make tough problems easier.

Strengths: This product helps you learn so much easier, it's crazy. For example students with hard times in school can progressively grow in their knowledge. This device same lots of time during hard problems because it takes a different approach but is really the same question.

Suggestions for Improvement: One thing I wish was changed was the difficulty or if there was a meter that could change the difficulty. Otherwise I think this product could be really useful to students with tough times in school or students in general.

Verdict: I would recommend this project to teachers due to the fact that it would helps students with tougher times. Eventually everyone will be extremely smart due to this device.

Doloumar, Santiago High School. School Type: High School, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This would be great in integrating games into the chemistry curriculum. The students will have fun as they are learning the subject matter content.

Strengths: Students have a difficult time learning abstract Chemistry concepts. This can definitely help students gain access to the material.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. The program needs to have an introduction about the topic.
2. The program needs to have instruction like a goal setting page before the students play the game.
3. Please make the particles bigger. There is so much space on the landing page.
4. Please make it more colorful for the students.
5. Please have more sound effects that encourages immediate feedback for the students.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it is a fun way of learning chemistry. The game though is really a very high level game.

Lynn, Computer Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I do not Teacher Chemistry or at the high school level.

Strengths: - It allows the teacher to have instruction delivered through an engaging game prior to in class instruction.
- The game teaches a the idea of a concept without the details of the lecture. I think it could give students prior knowledge to help them be successful when the complete lesson is taught.

Suggestions for Improvement: I had trouble understanding the game at first but with many attempts / errors I had figured out my issue. Maybe include a help on the use of the game vs the science concept.

Verdict: If at a high school I would definitely recommend it. Without knowing anything about the lesson the game gave plenty of prompts to help me learn the concept with a lecture from the teacher. If I had time I would have sat down to try the higher levels!

Instructional Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: In a classroom setting there are a lot of students who do not understand chemistry and all it entails. This program would be great to reinforce lessons in chemistry and it is interactive. I would most likely set this in a small group setting.

Strengths: It allows students to learn something in a game format which would be easier for most students to grasp as opposed to learning by seeing. They are now learning by doing.

Suggestions for Improvement: If a pre-assessment was given on this game it could allow teachers to see where the students are and then that way the game can start students on their levels.

Verdict: This program is highly interactive making abstract concepts such as covalent bonding more tangible for students to understand.

Tracy, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: It's high school chemistry. I teach 2nd grade. I did have fun with it, though!

Strengths: This was interactive and engaging. I think students would enjoy it. It really made you think as there are no prompts.

Suggestions for Improvement: If I was dealing with struggling students, I think they'd need prompts. Once you move up, there's no way to know if you are correct until you complete the pattern. It's frustrating to continually redo if you don't know what you did wrong.

Verdict: It's very engaging. I didn't even realize I was doing chemistry. I think my high school son would love this.

Kinder/First, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I wouldn't use it because I am a primary grade teacher.

Strengths: The product really shows how chemistry could be fun. It's something that teens can collaborate well with.

Suggestions for Improvement: it's a higher more complex subject that I don't teach, but I was still interested in checking it out. The presenter presented in such a teacher friendly way.

Verdict: It wouldn't be something for my school because we are elementary, but I liked seeing the whole picture (Chemistry) in a program.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up