Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Tech Director, School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: While we have a curriculum for coding

Strengths: For schools with no or limited coding curriculum, this product would be fantastic.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Offer more/different languages
2. Offer a mobile app development platform
3. Offer a la carte, where you could purchase just PD separate from curriculum

Verdict: This product again, provides a duplicate for curriculum we already have. I was hoping they offered languages we do not offer and/or mobile app development platform.

District Supervisor Of Technology Integration, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Our computer science teachers use code hs to supplement computer science courses. We find sometimes our teachers do not have the coding knowledge they need to teach and use this as a resource.

Strengths: Students in this day and age have various levels of knowledge about coding. It is hard to teach a coding class using whole group instruction.
CodeHS allows teachers to personalize instruction and not put a hard stop to learniung

Suggestions for Improvement: better price point
make elementary and middle school resources

Verdict: The platform is intuitive
It can be adpated
The sequence is logical
it support AP Computer science

District Supervisor Of Technology Integration, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Our computer science teachers use code hs to supplement computer science courses. We find sometimes our teachers do not have the coding knowledge they need to teach and use this as a resource.

Strengths: Students in this day and age have various levels of knowledge about coding. It is hard to teach a coding class using whole group instruction.
CodeHS allows teachers to personalize instruction and not put a hard stop to learniung

Suggestions for Improvement: better price point
make elementary and middle school resources

Verdict: The platform is intuitive
It can be adpated
The sequence is logical
it support AP Computer science

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I use it as ado now inmy classes. It is used as a way for the students to learn and continue to code while having it be fun.

Strengths: I use it as ado now inmy classes. It is used as a way for the students to learn and continue to code while having it be fun.

Suggestions for Improvement: If it could let me know when the students have done something and provide feedback from the students

Verdict: I use it as ado now inmy classes. It is used as a way for the students to learn and continue to code while having it be fun.

Tech Coordinator, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would set 15mins per day to do this

Strengths: I think its a great idea to learn code for everyone
I think its a great idea to learn code for everyone

Suggestions for Improvement: I think its a great idea to learn code for everyone
I think its a great idea to learn code for everyone

Verdict: I think its a great idea to learn code for everyone

Media Specialist, School Type: Middle School, High School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use CodeHS to scaffold teaching computer coding/programming skills to students in middle school and high school courses and clubs.

Strengths: It helps to train teachers about how to teach computer science. It also provides a standards-aligned curriculum and an online teaching component for students to engage with.

Suggestions for Improvement: Needs to cost less money. Needs to have a middle school component. Should also have mobile application and Python courses.

Verdict: I think it's a good product, but too expensive.

Superintendent, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I would use it to train newly hired teachers in the district.

Strengths: I am highly interested in the program. However does not appear to be appropriate for elementary school students. However, computer science programs are truly important and I would be interested if we can use it in a k to five setting.

Suggestions for Improvement: Serve my purpose more if it was available for a kindergarten to grade 5 setting.

Verdict: It appears to be more appropriate for middle and high school. I am interested in elementary programs.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: Computer teachers would be able to use to create a streamlined course.

Strengths: You can move through the lessons very easily.

Suggestions for Improvement: It costs too much. It also doesn't work as well with other coding tech products.

Verdict: This is very expensive, especially because it is per section. This means we would have to pay for it multiple times a year for semester classes.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: Computer teachers would be able to use to create a streamlined course.

Strengths: You can move through the lessons very easily.

Suggestions for Improvement: It costs too much. It also doesn't work as well with other coding tech products.

Verdict: This is very expensive, especially because it is per section. This means we would have to pay for it multiple times a year for semester classes.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: Computer teachers would be able to use to create a streamlined course.

Strengths: You can move through the lessons very easily.

Suggestions for Improvement: It costs too much. It also doesn't work as well with other coding tech products.

Verdict: This is very expensive, especially because it is per section. This means we would have to pay for it multiple times a year for semester classes.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up