Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Language Arts and Math
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Noemi, Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to help support student learning and supplement my curriculum.

Strengths: The program provides tons of data for teachers and parent on student's progress. I love that teachers can upload/add their own content and grade it automatically online. HUGE time saver.

Suggestions for Improvement: Would love to see this expand to their higher grades. Add more subjects.
Allow for teachers to create their own content with True/False and/multiple choice options.

Verdict: I would recommend it because it not only allows the teacher to use the program's content, but teacher content as well.

Name, School Type: Other, Blended Learning
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product in helping students perform in areas such as math, ELA, and foreign language.

Strengths: I like that the program is aligned to the common core standards and that it can help students improve in a specific standard.

Suggestions for Improvement: I like this as a curriculum tool in order to differentiate the instruction for each individual students needs when they are need meeting the standards in a specific area like math, English, or foreign language.

Verdict: I like this program for our intervention program.

Adm, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Higher Education, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I haven't used it yet in my online school yet, all though do have future need for this tech. We have students around the world that use our system, that are ELA students.

Strengths: I haven't used it yet in my online school yet, all though do have future need for this tech. We have students around the world that use our system, that are ELA students.

Suggestions for Improvement: I feel the tech ed field should develop standard for navigation and use of student data across all the app's used by class. It i hard to determine the usefulness, if there is no standardized charting. If I had some matrix to use to see the usefulness of this product.

Verdict: I would suggest the administration a test run to see if it meets our wide breadth of user profiles

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: The questions shown in the demonstration, for the various grades seemed very easy. The layout, level of rigor, visual appeal, student module aesthetic was mild.

Strengths: This product has the ability for teachers to select activities based on Standards. It allows teachers to provide reinforcement in areas that student needs extra intervention.

Students in younger grades have visual images embedded in the math questions.

Bilingual math questions

Suggestions for Improvement: Students take tests, practice assignments, etc. which seems a bit dry.
The overall "Capture " of user/ interface is low energy/bland. Could be more enticiing, or colorful.
Price per user is high @ $10.

Verdict: It didn't have the engaging "draw-me-in" feel. The demo that I received didn't have real data to show student results. The reports this software app provided was not authentic, since the presenter created random assessment with random questions, and I couldn't really see how true it was for teacher use.

Digital Learning Coach, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: The audio is not very good, limited content.

Strengths: the UI is fairly easy, the content is good, but limited. the questions are easy to read and understand, some content was multistep. I like that there is a game component but not very good games for students

Suggestions for Improvement: More content for more grades, more games that relate to learning. The games on the system are not related to content at all. I wish the rep here at Summit was more friendly and willing to promo the product rather than just talk basics. Not really sure where the company is headed.

Verdict: The audio is not very good, the content is limited. Also I don't feel the rep was very collegial.

Response from ClassK12: We apologize if there was any miss due to time shortage. We will be delighted to schedule a FREE DEMO to any interested teahcers - please email support@classk12.com . We feature one of the largest content base for elementary schools with over 50,000 standards aligned Math & ELA questions with voice for each question unlike other platforms. ClassK12 focus is to provide comprehensive curriculum coverage with gamification, to motivate the young learners and to help students improve their academic performance.

Chs, School Type: Other
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I will use it to help my students to improve their inglish skills and this at the same time will help them with spanish.

Strengths: Students can communicate with others students. They will feel more confortable when writing and speaking because they have improved.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think having this free will be great. All teachers will use it for sure.

Verdict: I think all the teachers from math and english will use it but also also think this can help other sucjects like language.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this product to monitor student progress in both Math & ELA. The results would provide direction for the next lessons.

Strengths: I love the content that the product provides, its great!

Suggestions for Improvement: Needs to provide content for grades 6-8. Work on the pricing of the product.

Verdict: I would recommend the product to my district but it is a bit costly, however we are a 1:1 in grades 3-8 so many would benefit. I don't know if they would be completely on board due to the fact they currently only have resources from grades K-5.

Instructional Leader, School Type: Middle School, High School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: My school classroom model is personalized, self-paced learning. We are looking to use programs that are self-paced, in which students can choose their own learning pathways and teachers can assignment interventions.

Strengths: Can create assignments, student data, independent practice.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am only really interested in software for personalized learning, blended, self-paced classrooms.

Verdict: Great for independent practice, student data available for teachers.

Elizabeth, Resident Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Blended Learning
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: There isn't much of an explanation to how to do a problem the correct way and students should be able to have access to that rather than just guessing at a problem. Additionally I don't think students are challenged enough. Multiple choice problems aren't enough now that students are expected to show their reasoning in mathematics.

Strengths: It gives students extra practice within MAth and ELA

Suggestions for Improvement: Diagnostic Assessments.
Actionable data.
Explanations on problems and differentiation

Verdict: This program isn't allowing students to show what they understood and what they did not. It really needs a number of strategies to working out a problem.

Claudia, 3rd Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: The product seems to be not completely established. Its a multiple choice program that does support the different items available on SBAC to give my students the practice they need.

Strengths: One strength is that offers grammar practice.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1: More than multiple choice
2: explanation for wrong answers

Verdict: Just as I stated before the program only offer multiple choice options which, does not provide help when the child get it wrong. It give the right answer with not explanation and moves on.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up