Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
1st Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would recommend this to my school to the older grades (3-5) because they struggle with test anxiety with their students, and this program is a great way to reduce that anxiety and build their confidence. I would also use it with my first grade class because it would be a good way to build strong foundational skills.

Strengths: This product has the students customize their own avatar. Before even playing a game, they are making their own choices and making the character their own. It is beneficial because you are in the middle of a race and your character slows down as a math problem pops up. Kids will be excited to quickly and accurately solve the equation in order to get their character to continue to run quickly. Very engaging and motivating !

Suggestions for Improvement: An improvement I thought of would be to record student data of where they are consistently struggling. Another suggestion could be to create a different type of racing game (not where the characters are just running). For example, maybe have an option be a person running, a car race, a jetski race, etc. other than those suggestions, I think it's a very beneficial learning system!

Verdict: I would recommend to my administrator to use this tool because it's effective, and they have data to support this. Not only is it proven to be effective, but it's engaging. If you show this to students, they'll automatically be engaged with the visuals it contains as well as the tasks and cool effects are within the site.

Anna, Speech And Language Pathologist. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I work with a variety of special needs students who sometimes need additional motivation to work on their needed skills. It is programmable to set up language or math skills for each student. Looks great.

Strengths: 1. this product is colorful and appeals to students "gaming" abilities which are sometimes better than their abilities to sit in a classroom and learn in a traditional style. 2. It allows a therapist to program specific language forms for the student to master 3. IT is a fun activity and students may not approach it like it is "school work" and therefore not exhibit anxiety over the task presented.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. The program needs to be able to provide the student with automatic level progression. They are working on it! 2. It would be useful to have teacher access to change the speed of the program so students with processing deficits could have more time for completion 3. They could provide "extra" practice for a particular item for a student to repeat a game.... with a different format, to help them master that skill / item.

Verdict: It is cost effective, programmable to student needs based on IEP goals in both math and reading skills.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as a tool to help improve math fluency with the PARCC assessed grades. As an educator and Math Rep. I woul dreccommend to other eduactors to use thi stool as a ,otivationtool to help build math fluency.

Strengths: The strengths of this tool is to help students learn and practice math. Considering that they are always playing games it would be very appealing to them. The waythat it is set up is familliar with Temple Run and Subway Surfer. It will help boost student"s confidence and foster healthy competition.

Suggestions for Improvement: I believe that more teacher friendly assessment data could help improve this resource. I also, think that multi-connections to sharing resources with parents and other teachers would benefit this resource.

Verdict: We have tools that we use to assess and motivate students but I believe that this tool would allow for my vey compettaive student to accell because they would antto answer the questonc correctly so that they will win the races that are a part of the program.

Karhleen, Media Specialist. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to enhance student learning, give students a break from the norm of sitting and writing or reading in the classroom.

Strengths: Allows the student to work at his own level with a bit of competition from his own peers of a similar ability level. Gives a plethora of data for teachers to use by student, class, etc. for use in evaluations.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be good to have a pre-assessment so that students and teachers know where the student started and where the student is currently. Have content for high schools where even more test anxiety is beginning to creep up on students with PARCC. Keep creating different types of games-puzzles or word games are good too!

Verdict: I would recommend this product because we have a student population that needs more interactive actitivities and to be moving to help them learn and retain information.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: To help students prepare for testing and the anxiety that comes with it. Also to provide additional practice on standards.

Strengths: Multiple platforms Engaging Aids with text anxiety Connects to standards Multiple question types

Suggestions for Improvement: Keep it free ELA standards provided Varying levels

Verdict: It is a fun, engaging way for students to practice standards while developing testing taking skills. It is provided on many platforms. It focus on speed and provided immediately feedback.

Third Grade Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: reteach for all levels of kids

Strengths: responsive easy to use data collection questions are complex teachers can create variety of question types can assign to specific students

Suggestions for Improvement: word problems multistep problems audio for students lesson to teach when they get it wrong practice only not coaching

Verdict: easy to use and common core question alligned not just drilling skills

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Jun 13, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: You could use class compete as a center rotation job during language arts or math time since their product ties in math and ELA soon (and eventually science and social studies). It helps students to review skills in these content areas and practice strategies to alleviate anxiety relating to testing. This is an important area to support those students who need it since testing is not going away any time soon, to help students demonstrate what they are capable.

Strengths: Gaming quality will capture student interest. Reviewing content area skills while building a timing component is a great combo.

Suggestions for Improvement: If a weekly email could be sent automatically to teachers it would help save time and yet give teachers a quick important snapshot of info on how students are doing. Teachers can then later log into their account for a more detailed view of the dashboard when they have more time or need it for reporting/parent conferencing purposes. If possible, it would be helpful for students who can get overwhelmed in a visual or auditory way to add settings that can reduce how stimulating the game is.

Verdict: The gaming aspect would be really interesting and fun for students. Since this is a k-8 program if students use it each year they (and parents and teachers) could have the benefit of seeing long term growth.

Maria, Special Education Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I plan to use it as a weekly assessment for my students. If I find this product effective, I will encourage my team to use it. What enticed me was that they incorporated assessment with games. I had some students who have test anxiety and I don't want to traumatize them.

Strengths: The product really looks attractive. I was enticed by the fact that they combined assessment and games. What I am not sure yet is how they record the assessment. I am just guessing that there will be an assessment report.

Suggestions for Improvement: I haven't used the product yet. I just tried it only for few minutes. I hope this summit will allow us to spend more time "sampling" the product. Maybe for the presenters they should: 1. Show to teachers if there is an assessment report 2. I like the fact that they cater to younger kids, so I hope they should also show us other games 3. From the brief presentation, I saw that they are doing MAth assessment. I just wonder if they also do other subjects.

Verdict: As I mentioned previously, I have some students who have test anxiety. Our educational system demands data wise assessment. So I think, base from the demo, this product is useful.

Media Specialist, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Right now our students are using First in Math at home and at free times during the day. I like this product a bit more especially when they incorporate other subjects.

Strengths: This product has many strengths, ease of use is the first one. The set up is easy, teachers only create an account and provide their student with a password. Another strength is that it directly correlates to Common Core math standards. You can look at a game and see the standard, or find a standard which shows the game that works on that standard. Great performance data, I like that students see the top 3 in their class and they are next to the platform with their time.

Suggestions for Improvement: So far the only way I can see it improved it by adding additional subjects. I am not sure of cost for my school, but I definitely think it is worth trying while there is a free trial period.

Verdict: This is a very engaging interactive way for students to practice math. I like how students are multitasking, they are playing a game and answering math questions. Another plus is that the system slows down if a student is answering questions too quickly or making too many mistakes.

Tonette, Sped Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to prepare students for the math portion of the PARCC assessment.

Strengths: This product provides a fun way for students to engage in fun activities that prepare them for the PARCC. It also provides a way for teachers to track student progress.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add a feature that read text aloud to students so that students with reading difficulties would be able to access the game as well. Additionally, I would add all accessibility features that are provided on the PARCC to the game so that students would be familiar with them when they encountered them during the test. lastly, I would add video tutorials so that students could watch them to review skills that were challenging to them.

Verdict: This product provides a fun and engaging way for students to prepare for the math assessment.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up