Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Instructional Tech Resource Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Other
Feb 24, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a district resource teacher, I would recommend Citelighter to students and teachers who are looking for an effective research and citation tool. I would encourage them to install and use the product as they gather research from electronic and print resources, because not only does it easily copy information directly from webpages, but it builds the citations in a variety of formats! And if the researcher will be including print sources in their research, it easily supports that as well!

Strengths: 1. It automatically creates bibliographies for information directly captured from the Internet.
2. Because it is built directly into the web browsers, it is easy to use by limiting the necessity of switching between windows and tabs.
3. It allows the addition of information from books and websites without the ability to highlight!
4. It gives users the ability to comment about their captured information right away so they don't forget any connections made or insight learned.
5. The paid version for educators offers the ability of teacher to monitor their students' research so that they can re-direct them right away if needed (and not later in the process when so much time and energy has been wasted).

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. I would love for it to include a read-aloud function
2. It would also be great to offer the ability to have audio comments if desired\
3. I think the ability to capture and cite multi-media would greatly enhance its usefulness for users who are planning on putting their research into an electronic format.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it is easy to use and install and is extremely useful for anyone doing research on a variety of topics. Meaning that teachers and students of all disciplines would find this tool helpful. I think that it could be used with students as young as third grade (with appropriate guidance of course!).

Andrew, Assistant Principal. School Type: High School, College Prep School, BYOD Devices
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program to help students with the writing process. Because templates are possible, students would not have to face a blank sheet of paper to begin their writing. This makes the writing process much less intimidating. I can see there be a benefit for both students at the advanced placement level and also the developmental level.

Strengths: First, it can be used by students of all ability levels. Second, it gives teachers an opportunity to review progress both for individual students and for the entire class. Third, one of its best features is its ability to drag-and-drop quotes and to cite them correctly.

Suggestions for Improvement: I don't know if the program provides an opportunity for tracking longitudinal data. If not, that would be a useful feature, especially if a student had an account that followed him or her throughout the educational career. The teacher could see how that student performed in prior years.

Verdict: I really like that it is customizable to either a purpose or standard. Additionally, the scaffolding templates provide a great deal of organization for the students. I'm especially pleased with the opportunity to drag-and-drop quotes and to have those quotes embedded and internally cited correctly. From a records review perspective, citelighter provide teachers with great results for both individuals and their entire classrooms.

Desktop Administrator, School Type: Middle School, High School, College Prep School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: For one, I wish there was something like this when I was in school. I am in graduate school now and will start using the free account for myself. This is a great way to help your student organize their notes and citations and keep them all in one place. One thing I liked best is that you could put notes so you know where you want to use it in a paper or what your thoughts for using it were when you found it.

Strengths: Easily organize citations and notes for writing papers.

Add notes to know what your thoughts were when finding resources.

Automatically creates citations page based on your sources.

Can use MLA, APA or Chicago.

Can be free for individual use, no teacher moderation or can have a pay version so teachers can give live feedback.

Suggestions for Improvement: Having different tiers for pricing.

Work with other applications other than Google Docs if possible.

Verdict: Easily organize citations and notes for writing papers.

Add notes to know what your thoughts were when finding resources.

Automatically creates citations page based on your sources.

Can use MLA, APA or Chicago.

Can be free for individual use, no teacher moderation or can have a pay version so teachers can give live feedback.

Bill, Asst Principal. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Teaching Writing! Efficiently and effectively! Teaching all components of the writing process in several genres. Each component has its own rubric and opportunities to provide feedback a la googledocs

Strengths: This solves the problem of providing real time feedback and allows teachers to focus on specific parts, as opposed to global parts of the writing process.

Suggestions for Improvement: Apparently they are expanding the product to include all genres of writing. It will be interesting to see if the tool works as well with fiction writing

Verdict: I would have them ask their ELA (and other) teachers how much time they spend assessing writing and rpoviding feedback. Then I would show them how this tool provides great shortcuts and enables more effective teaching of writing

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, College Prep School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would love to use this product to help students do research with electronic sources as well as keep themselves organized throughout the writing process

Strengths: Great interaction between teacher and student in terms of giving feedback and helping students before they submit a final draft

Suggestions for Improvement: More color coding, better way to control what students see (in other words be able to limit or stagger the release of content.)

Verdict: It's very user friendly for both students and teachers and makes organizing writing SO MUCH easier. Once students got used to it for one class they would want to be able to use it for other classes, so getting everyone in the school on board would make the best use of time for longer term student success

Lindsay, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, Blended Learning
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool to support research projects/papers in my Social Studies classroom. Students struggle with organizing/cataloging/citing information, and the collaborative feature of being integrated with google docs would allow them to peer review or work on a group research project.

Strengths: Collaboration with google - a platform many students are already familiar with Outlining/organizing information - minimizes copying time from internet to paper or losing a word document/ citation - makes research efficient

Suggestions for Improvement: None.

Verdict: It's a complete package where students can keep track of every part of their research project!

Technology Integration Teacher And Liaison., School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: teach writing skills

give students feedback

monitor student progress

Strengths: It tracks the students progress and it improves their skills. It allows the teachers to provide immediate feedback and questions to improve the writing.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to have graphic organizes that allow the kids to upload their notes to the document

Have lessons to show the kids how to turn their notes into a paragraph

Are there way for multiple kids to collaborate on a project

Verdict: Writing is so important. It is necessary to teach it well. I love how the tool allows the teacher to track the students progress and time.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to teach the students the correct way to research analyze and write a paper.

Strengths: Provides an outline for students to write. Allows you to create milestones to guide student pacing. It is preloaded with different assignments and common core standards. Allows students to pull research from the internet into their projects.

Suggestions for Improvement: Create writing programs for younger students. The demo version took a long time to load different steps.

Verdict: Provides an effective framework to guide students through the research and writing process. It provides the students all the tools it needs to be successful.

Janel, Teacher/Mentor. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We would use the product for our older grades (3-5) to help them cite multiple sources, paraphrasing and using templates to write a final piece.

Strengths: Use with struggling writers

teacher can view the student's progress and offer valuable feedback, comments and provide guidance.

Color coded cognitive print

Students can track their citations and complete ongoing paraphrasing

Create a bibliography

Suggestions for Improvement: Group by reading levels

upload own text for review

Verdict: Citelighter is a great way for students to use our technology devices to create and revise highly qualified papers using rich and rigorous text.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, BYOD Devices
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Citeliter creates a space for students to research, Poland and write. Teachers can have student progress right at there fingertips, and students can save time working all over the internet.

This tool centralizes the writing process, give students and teacher quick feedback and a world of tools. It simplifies the writing process.

Strengths: Centralized info
Highlighting migration
Auto bibliography

Suggestions for Improvement: Teacher to teacher sharing

Verdict: This is a great tool that centralizes the research, writing and evaluation process.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up