Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Sheryl, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for a research project. For example, I have a Greek mythology unit coming up and I want students to research certain Greek gods and create a presentation about their findings. I would collect relevant search sites for them so they would have a certain amount of resources to choose from.

Strengths: Allows controlled research for students. This products guides students in the research process. This gives teachers the ability to look at student productivity and monitor their progress.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like if students were given the ability to annotate the sources they find so that teachers can see reasons behind why students are choosing the sources they are. To be blunt, I would like to see the features of SCRIBLE married with this program. If the two programs got together and had a kid, I would kidnap that kid.

Verdict: Students often don't know what it means to use credible sources. I think this helps students as well as teachers in that process. A lot of the guess work is taken out.

Valerie, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Students are required to do research on the internet. As I teacher 3rd grade, it can be difficult to find appropriate reading leveled sites for them to use.

Strengths: It has quick searches and allows teachers to limit what types of sites students are allowed to view, so I can omit any wiki sites or blogs.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am concerned about the security issues. Will students be able to view questionable sites that meet the reading level. I see how the teacher can be the filter by doing searches ahead of time and giving students the addresses to only the sites they think are appropriate.
I did not get a chance to build a class and add anything to them, but I am hoping that it is easy to use. The overall visual easiness of the main pages look good.

Verdict: As we are required to assigne research projects at all grade levels, I can see this as being a very valuable tool. It saves time and allows the teacher to create a list of suitable sites for every level of student reading ability.

Brittiny-Rae, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to begin teaching students how to do research. I would teach students how to do a search, knowing that the content that they would access would be monitored and grade level appropriate.

Strengths: It allows you to limit the pool of resources a student can search with in, which creates "training wheels" for internet research. It allows the results to be sorted by reading level so that students are accessing appropriate material for them. It also allows students to rank the level of each article so that more appropriate results will be given to them in the future.

Suggestions for Improvement: Create more resources for lower elementary. Make the platform more accessible to young children. Allow students to access their account through a teachers account.

Verdict: I think this program is excellent because it provides a training grounds to teach students how to use the internet for research. I also love that it ranks sources by reading level!

Educator, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: For my students who are more independent using the inTernet and search engines this would be so beneficial!

Strengths: It is absolutely a novel product which is also very user friendly. It is a good way for students to improve their research skills too. It is easy to manage and organize searches according to topic.

Suggestions for Improvement: It doesn't quite target students with more severe disabilities. One suggestion is to already have simple widely used sites and search engines on the top so they are more easily accessible for those students. Another suggestion is for it to use more bold & bigger icons and font for students with limited abilities.

Verdict: It is fairly inexpensive to subscribe to. It is individual subscription pet student which is wonderful not all students will benefit from all subscriptions.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Apr 26, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use Choosito for students to conduct research on unfamiliar topics. Great for project based learning!

Strengths: I love that Choosito because it strengthens students' research and problem solving skills. Choosito has the option to narrow results by reading level which supports independent learning.

Suggestions for Improvement: Students would benefit from a tutorial video on how to use Choosito. Students would also benefit from taking a short quiz that will help them identify their current reading level. Often times, students aren't aware or they forget their current reading level so having a tool that can assist with that will better serve students who are using Choosito.

Verdict: Choosito is a great way for students to spend less time searching and more time comprehending the sources.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Research/search for resources for lessons

Student projects/research in different reading levels

Strengths: Teacher control of Internet searches Leveled searches through text analysis

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great to search images and video.

I'd love an app

Would be good if teacher could preselected the student level for students before they search, in case they don't know their level or try to click the wrong level.

Verdict: to have tighter control of student internet searches for safety

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for any type of project and activity that requires online research. It provides safe and leveled resources for students to learn at their appropriate level.

Strengths: Besides the option to choose the reading level, I love the collections that I can create. I can find sites that will be useful to students and make that collection of resources available to all of my students or just to specific ones. I also like that they can make their own collections to refer back to later whether to continue research or to cite the resource.

Suggestions for Improvement: The only suggestions I may have would be to make the reading levels more specific. For example, have an option for A.R. levels, or Lexiles. Also, it would be nice to have the formatted citation already embedded into the program. If a student needs to cite that site or article, they would be able to just copy it (maybe even a choice for MLA or APA format).

Verdict: I would recommend this to my colleagues because it is applicable to all grades and reading levels. Especially in the upper elementary grades there are research standards and this site would simplify teaching that standard. Students will be able to search on their own without being overwhelmed by articles and websites that are unrelated or too difficult to understand.

Misti, Teacher/Sts. School Type: Middle School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Research or PBL

Strengths: Love the leveling system of the search. Meet the student where they are. No one is doing this with SEO...very encouraging.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Stronger collaboration tool (students are required to collaborate and integration of these tools is a must.)
2. Levels broken down by something other than grade. (Students with lie reading levels will not want to click a grade level below what they are. I.e. 6th grader with a 1st grade reading level will not want to click elementary grouping for search.)
3. Create the ability for a teacher to assign a group project to existing users, rather than requiring students to create a new account for each group.( I won't this functionality so that I can keep a running record for each student of their products throughout the year. I also do not want to have to have multiple accounts floating around.)

Verdict: I love the ability to search within the students level.

7th Grade Science Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, College Prep School
Apr 15, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This company provides an individualized search engine for students. Teachers can use it to help protect students and complete research in the classroom.

Strengths: It puts the ability to assess and create internet searches that are appropriate for students to access in the teachers control.

Suggestions for Improvement: In the news feature add the ability to allow students to select local state national or world news
Allow classes to be accessed by multiple teachers for students who change classes.
Add option to group students for project and assignments that would not add extra cost.

Verdict: Allows students to complete research at appropriate reading levels while also filtering out content that doesn't work in a classroom setting. Also allows teachers to create webquests for individual students and individually assign students to appropriate materials based on their reading ability.

Curriculum And Instruction Specialist, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Apr 25, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a search tool for my primary students as a filter for quality and safe access to information.

Strengths: Incorporation of a reading level filter is highly desirable for teachers and students. This can cut much time from the process of lesson development and task creation for students.

Suggestions for Improvement: The interface is very technical for student use, especially primary students where I feel it is most beneficial.

Create a more reasonable price point for widespread use.

Verdict: For it- after my initial use, I was able to easily find information relevant to the search topic. I did find that the reading content was a little high for the early readers but that is understandable. I am concerned that the price point is too high for the services provided and do not think that I could convince my administrators to allocate funding for the product.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up