Product Index
Post-Secondary
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Spec. Ed, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would share this info with the Intermediate teachers at my school.

Strengths: This gives the students info about future careers. It gives them an opportunity to read for information and to engage in asking questions and answering questions.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think the level of reading is quite high for Grade 6-8 especially for students who are ELL. It seems better suited for high school students who are capable readers.

The earning points would be a positive for the students. Teachers would initially need to sell this product to their students with their infectious enthusiasm.

Verdict: This programme is free. It engages students in reading for information. It gives them info about careers and higher education. It gives them a chance to donate points that they earn to Free The Children.

English And Tech Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Because I teach many different subject areas in the integrated technology course I would use this weekly to reinforce each subject area and teach students about careers within that area.

Strengths: I love that the site is student driven based on interests and current trends. Kids are lazy and the incentive to win points and prizes is a great way to get them involved.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see a few ways students who have no idea about careers might be able to figure out what they are good at - perhaps some sort of skill survey. I'd also like to receive updates when they go online and how many points each kids is getting and what they've won to motivate the rest of the class.

Verdict: It keep students engaged. It uses up to date government information showing job trends and college programs.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to get the students engaged and Asbell work and as an incentive

Strengths: Really good and getting general knowledge out with a competitive positive edge

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it editable for teachers to insert certain types of knowledge, have school boards involves some competition is real and have a little less on the webpage to make it easier for he 7 and 8 to use

Verdict: Good way to get students engaged and have some positive competition

rachel, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: i would use if to supplement learning on a daily weekly yearly decade long leraning

Strengths: studnetas like the challoenge that involves playjing and learning ae shie

Suggestions for Improvement: it would be greate to have thise be extended world wide while learning and playing is na opetions for everyone all over the world of course it is ehy not
andk yea it is allvewyss llllllllllllllllllllll

Verdict: i have no reason to go against it ioojooooooo

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it the help students when deciding what career to choose.

Strengths: Easy to use
Positive competition
Able to donate points

Suggestions for Improvement: More content related
Less information in the website
Quicker chat
I would recommend to introduce more ability for teachers to control or input their thoughts

Verdict: I would recommend it's use since it seems to be a neat tool to help students with their career choices. But it might not be what my school community needs

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this tool as a math centre in my kindergarten class to consolidate a mini lesson. I would also like to project some of the lessons onto the smart board for an interactive group lesson or small group lesson. I would also like to give the parents tho option to sign up for an account at home.

Strengths: engaging for students
fun and helps develop responsibility
helps develop community
encourages critical thinking (digital lit and discussion)

Suggestions for Improvement: make it available offline

not much else at this time...need to explore more myself first

Verdict: I would recommend this product to my administrator because we have a new French immersion program in our school and I enjoy the multi language option as well as the kindergarten activities.

Janny, Teacher. School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to make exploring post-secondary options fun and engaging for students, especially students in my community classes who may not necessarily have the option of attending the mainstream university/college fairs.

Strengths: engaging for students
fun and helps develop responsibility
helps develop community
encourages critical thinking (digital lit and discussion)

Suggestions for Improvement: make it available offline

not much else at this time...need to explore more myself first

Verdict: Interesting and fun for students (element of competition)
Relevant (real schools and personalized options)
Emphasis on digital literacy (research and access of resources)

Social Sciences Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would recommend for my students and have already passed on the info to my guidance teacher friends

Strengths: Students need help to ground their research into future schools. Puts the focus on them to learn and collaborate and share info

Suggestions for Improvement: How to incorporate into classroom? Assignments and activities? Classroom application

Verdict: I would recommend it for grade 12 students to actively engage in their own research process of their future colleges and universities.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: As a parent I would encourage my grade 10 daughter to explore this as well as myself

Strengths: It seems to be a very motivating way to explore possibilities in small manageable chunks.

It has direct links to actual resources and websites

It focuses on distinct questions for a short exploration

It motivates with points and donation possibility to Free the Children is exceptional!

Suggestions for Improvement: I will need to explore this site more in depth to comment on improvements. At this stage it looks fabulous and very effective!

Verdict: An a wonderful tool for our intermediate division

Maria, Special Education Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I teach special education in an elementary classroom.

Strengths: I think that it is a great tool for students to use in high school to have access to all the different opportunities and schools that are available to them.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think that there are a lot of good things about this product however it is not very useful to me in that I work with elementary children.

Verdict: I would recommend it to my grade 8 teachers or the guidance counsellor to use.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up