Product Index
Educational Operations
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Emeralde, Art Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We would use it in our tech lab, we have 60 iPads, so it would be great for management. We are only able to block so much, and in order for our students to have fun, but stay focused it would be great if we were able to use this to monitor.

With over 400 students in our school, it is impossible as well to track all of the apps ....sometimes students are able to bypass certain restrictions. This would be perfect!

Strengths: You are able to divide student grades/groups and assign apps p

That you would like each grade level/even teacher group to have access too. That's helpful!

Being able to use remote control from afar to control the iPads will be very helpful with management during class.

This really will take hours of prep away from the management process so that more time can be spent planning effective lessons!

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if the cost was a bit less, $20.00 is a little. It is a bit steep per iPad according to some other similar programs out there.

An app would be wonderful, and very easily accessible.

Maybe an introductory 2 or 3 year plan at a certain low price to really let the school try out the platform.

Verdict: This appears to be an amazing product!

Like I stated before, I really believe it can be a challenge managing so many devices, and we plan on possibly getting more. This program will just help the management be stress free, and hassle-free.

Scott, Teacher/ Tech Liasion. School Type: High School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a teacher, I love to use a group of iPads that my school has available for classrooms. I feel like I spend much of my time worrying what apps my students are on when they have been instructed to be on one specific app. I would love to get my time back and engage with the students and have the technology have to hold them accountable. Cellabus looks like it can do that. I look forward to talking to my administration about it.

Strengths: It tracks how much time students spend away from the app that you have asked them to be on. It allows me to track all of my students and worry about the curriculum.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think it would be great to try in the freemium model so individual teachers can try it and then convince their administration how great it is.

Verdict: Like I said in my last response, it allows the technology to track off task technology use and allow the educator to worry only about the engaging curriculum.

Heather, Tech Coordinator. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This platform manages devices such as tablets, in the education setting. It can essentially take the place of Apple Configurator. Cellabus is very user-friendly and allows administrators to assign profiles and manage apps for students, teachers, etc. administrators can view device activity as students work.

Strengths: This product seems to serve as the userfriendly substitute for Apple Configurator, making devices much more easy to manage, and making my job as tech coordinator at my school easier!

Suggestions for Improvement: I realize there are legal issues involved, but being able to block certain apps from use would be great!

Verdict: I have tried using Apple Configurator to manage the 60 iPads my school has, and have run into several problems along the way. I was very excited to hear about this platform and how easy it seems to use!

Angela, Cte Teacher. School Type: High School, BYOD Devices
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is a revolutionary product that would enable me to monitor the students devices. In addition, the program provides a comprehensive way to implement technology into the classroom. I love this program!!

Strengths: Monitoring the usage of the devices being used in the classroom and accessibility of the apps and tech in the classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: Allowing teachers to purchase a lic without the entire school being involved.

Make it affordable for an individual teacher

Add Android

Verdict: Great way to monitor the devices in the classroom; it is a centralized way to utilize ed apps while ensuring that the classroom environment is secure.

Jane, Spanish Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use to monitor my students' activity while they are using laptops in my classroom.

Strengths: I liked how it notified me everytime a students' screen changed. I also liked how I could lock the devices and when a student opened a different program, their name turned red.

Suggestions for Improvement: So far can't think of anything.

Verdict: Teachers need a way to monitor students' activity while they are using mobile labs. I also liked how I could print out a report in case a student did do something inappropriate.

Admin, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I like that you can monitor all of the apps that students are using through one account. You can hold them accountable for what they are using.

Strengths: It helps with allowing you to block usage of unacceptable accounts.

Suggestions for Improvement: Provinde PD or training

Verdict: I would recommend this as a way of monitoring what the technology teacher is doing and how technology is being used in the school.

Administrator, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to assist new and struggling teachers with professional development. It would help them to view BEST practices from others in the professional. In addition, as an administrator it will allow me to provide feedback to teachers in a timely manner. This program will allow administrators to manage teachers' performances along the developmental process in stages.

Strengths: The strength of this program is the fact that teachers share practices with each other and it provides professional development for teachers when the can access it at times that are good for them.

Suggestions for Improvement: Ensure the videos are representations from various school districts across the country.

The video data bank is limited because the cycle of professional learning is long.

The process of reviewing and then evaluating the videos which are posted is long as well.

Verdict: It is a great professional development tool and management tool for administrators.

lena, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Blended Learning
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I like the fact that I can monitor my students without being right on top of them. I already let the students use their electronic devices in class but for only limited times. Students love it when they are able to use their devices in class.

Strengths: This app keeps parents involved with what their children are do and stops a lot of the questions they have about what is going on in class.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see a daily report sent to parents to show them what their children are doing because students are not always forth coming with what is going on in school.

Im a very strong advocate of keeping parents involved and I would like to have a component for them added where we can communicate back and forth.

Verdict: Since students are always using technology for everything they do, why not bring it to the classroom. It will also leave a "paper trail" as to what students are doing or not doing.

Nicholas, Teacher. School Type: High School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This software would be able to manage the usage of 1:1 devices in the classroom.

Strengths: Teacher has control of the apps that the students use in the classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Work with Android and Microsoft devices.

2) PushNotifications with the students, as a way to silently communicate with the student in the class about returning to work.

3) Something for the students to be forced to login to app when they enter the classroom, for attendance and security purposes.

Verdict: Only works on apple products at this point, but teacher is able to manage the student devices through a secure dashboard. Teacher is able to install/ uninstall apps on the device.

Spanish Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I could see our school using this to monitor student technology use.

Strengths: I really like the tracking feature and how the administrator can monitor exactly what apps students are using.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add a locking feature to lock a computer out of an app until that lock is released. Also i would add a feature where the computer login is also tracked to know which student is associated with each device.

Verdict: This is a great management tool to allow technology coordinators to easily add, remove and monitor applications.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up