Product Index
Curriculum Products
Categories: Geometry and Math
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Lewis, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: So far I have only used the product once with my students. We are getting ready to test out how these challenging proofs can benefit our students' thinking process. My plan is to assign one proof a night for homework specific to our most recent lesson topic. I'm really excited to use the report/student tracker tool that this program offers.

Strengths: The program is color coded and visually appealing to work with. It does a great job of integrating the formal names and theorems in a visual easy way for students go use or discover on their own.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1 work out some of the bugs. I except that will be a work in progress.
2. Give the students a way to remove statements that they discover are not nessacary to the proof.
3. Sorry I don't know enough about the program to find another general problem yet.

Verdict: Teaching proof is the most difficult part of geometry. This program helps with this process. Students will not be able to put the wrong information into the system unchecked. Often students write proofs incorrectly and continue making these same mistakes over and over. Ideally I want students to learn the process correctly the from he start vs trying to unlearn the bad habits most students develop.

Esl Teacher, School Type: Other, High ELL Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is a great program for students in algebra and geometry.
I would use as a review and practice as well as in study group sessions and to also teach myself at a deeper level for the variety of concepts

Strengths: The visual layout and the depth of the requirements needed for students to solve the problems requires students to learn the vocabulary and more than one way to solve them.
The "Lab" work required to solve the problems allows for real time practice and reinforcement of the concepts

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Add audio explanations
2. Add concept videos
3. Add drop down standards for teachers to access
4. Provide a thread for teacher feedback on the student's work
5. Add organizers to solve the problems

Verdict: 1. The program really allows students to claim and justify their answers
2. It allows students to solve problems and justify them in more than one fdway
3. The visual and kinetic ability to move the problem around is engaging and the feedback is extremely useful

Master Coach, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Proof in geometry is cumbersome and difficult. This product will furnish students to with necessary process and tools to reach their goal of proof easier and more accurately.

Strengths: Proof in geometry is cumbersome and difficult. This product will furnish students to with necessary process and tools to reach their goal of proof easier and more accurately.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have little experience at this point. I will share ideas after a few more use.
Proof in geometry is cumbersome and difficult. This product will furnish students to with necessary process and tools to reach their goal of proof easier and more accurately.

Verdict: Proof in geometry is cumbersome and difficult. This product will furnish students to with necessary process and tools to reach their goal of proof easier and more accurately.

Diljit, Diversity. School Type: Other, Blended Learning
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Use to teach and research

Strengths: Easy to demonstrate, so that students can get a grip. It makes it, easy for me to control class, as this gives me more time to supervise my students and guide the applications of this application.
This will give me easy way to demonstrate the challenge problems with the class.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it more attractive for new learners
Some challenges for advance students, which will give them time to inovate
Short details to read, before the use of this application.

Verdict: Modern and creative

Sarah, Literature Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would show this to my students as a great learning device that helps in Geometry proofs online.

Strengths: One of the hardest things in geometry is the proofs and this website really helped me practice and solve many different types of proofs in an easy way

Suggestions for Improvement: Yes i know that this is a new website so their are some kinks in it but after those are all fixed i cannot think of another thing to make this product even better!

Verdict: Most students really enjoy to do homework on the computer instead of in a boring textbook

Ese Program Specialist, School Type: Other, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use with parents to help them support their child at home with homework.

Strengths: Concrete examples of how to do problems. Also includes a tutorial to clarify and tutor the student (and parent).

Suggestions for Improvement: Make the homepage easier for parents to navigate. Concrete examples of how to do problems. Also includes a tutorial to clarify and tutor the student (and parent).

Verdict: Very helpful for parents to help their child at home. Also helpful for teachers to use in class.

Cristine, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would definitely use this with my Pre Algebra students to get them familiar with being able to identify various types of angles when looking at parallel lines cut by a transversal.

Strengths: I really like the idea of having my PreAlgebra students use this site. I would start by modeling how to use the program before I let them explore on their own. This site will help prepare them for high school once they start looking at proofs in more detail.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think it would help the students if they could hear a voice reading the math symbols if they hover over a math statement. I also think it would be cool if they show real world images instead of just normal lines. For example, to teach students about parallel lines cut by a transversal an image of roads with cars could come up. There could be a fire hydrant at one angle while a bush or tree are at other angles and they would have to decide what angles are congruent.

Verdict: I think this is a great program for geometry students. I currently teach PreAlgebra, so my students would not use the site for proofs, but I could definitely see them using the site to visually identify congruent angles like alternate interior, vertical, etc. My students could also benefit by looking at the Triangle Sum segment.

Fiscal Director, Former Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for teaching proofs. At first I'd spend a lot of time modeling how to use the interface wit students. Then eventually students would start using the platform on their own if I had a classroom of chrome books.

Strengths: Saves time from so much drawing of diagrams.

Suggestions for Improvement: I might have missed this, but a tutorial on how the program works for students (how to click and where, drag and drop, etc) might be helpful? I'm worried that there could be a lot of time spent on answering questions of how and where to click. However, once the students learn how to use it it could be valuable longer term for various proofs taught through the rest of the year.

Proofs is a major part of geometry, but there are other units. Perhaps expand so that it's the go to source for geometry. See mathopenref.com for some ideas.

Verdict: Teaching geometry proofs is notoriously challenging. Students also struggle with matching their writing to a diagram, and they spend a lot of time writing and drawing diagrams, which can be helpful but takes away from them understanding the concepts. This product helps visualize much better.

Teacher, School Type: High School, College Prep School
May 7, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: If tasked with teaching a Geometry class, I would use the program to reinforce concepts and connections between ideas.

Strengths: Two column proof format reinforcement is good. Incorporation of algebra concepts along with geometry is good. Visualization of plane geometry is very good.

Suggestions for Improvement: Incorporation of basic trigonometry involving sine, cosine, and tangent would make this program much more comprehensive.

Incorporation of 3-D geometry and related concepts such as surface area and volume would also make this program better.

Incorporation of relevant SAT/ACT commonly tested concepts would also be a nice addition.

Verdict: I would recommend this tool for the first year free evaluation. The program is undergoing changes rapidly and will require extensive user testing and application.

Sy, Apprentice. School Type: Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: To map out proofs for students in a way that clearly distinguishes certain aspects of creating a proof.

Strengths: It highlights and clearly defines in a verbal and visual way what elements of a proof are being referenced to.

Suggestions for Improvement: It should definitely have a training module to introduce some of the tools and mechanisms involved. Quick individual help buttons to define some of the theorems. I'd like thee ability to change wording to account for discrepancies between classroom diction used.

Verdict: I would recommend as it presents proofs in an approachable way.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up