Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Tech Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I feel that this would be a great addition to the math curriculum we have already at school. I think the middle school teachers would find it a helpful for their students in algebra and geometry.

Strengths: I really like the ease and flexibility of this math program. The teachers at my school I think would be willing to give this product a try because it is so easy to set up.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love obviously being from a k-8 school, more math! I would hope that they could do the same with the lower grades in a k-8 school. Also, the geometry I was told is in the pipeworks, but not completed yet.

Verdict: The higher math students in middle school would find it helpful as a supplementary factor in the math curriculum. They get feedback and the results are instant.

After School Coordinator/ Tech Aid, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I work with elementary school students, so the product would not currently be relevant for my use in the classroom. If I were to work with middle school or high school students I would definitely consider using the product.

Strengths: It helps students in mathematics. More specifically it helps students in Algebra and Geometry. It offers visual aids and assignments that will help them understand the material better.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would change it to apply to K-12. I would add in components for elementary school students. I would suggest that maybe some type of game or fun way of learning be added for that component as well.

Verdict: It is definitely helpful in teaching and helping student understand mathematics.

Adm, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Higher Education, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: give it as homework and tutoring of math, science etc. to supplement or add as activity

Strengths: video tutoring and quizes to encourage growth

Suggestions for Improvement: I feel the tech ed field should develop standard for navigation and use of student data across all the app's used by class. It i hard to determine the usefulness, if there is no standardized charting. If I had some matrix to use to see the usefulness of this product.

Verdict: This program is at this event to gather information to aide in developing a better app. Would love to see what they develope from comments I have given and other feedback they have recieved

Instructional Technology Facilitator, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: I wouldn't use it because I feel that it is trying to be a direct substitution to teaching. I think that the online videos and resources are helpful, but students will still need to do their computations and problem solving on paper.

I could see teachers wanting to take a shortcut, taking advantage of a website that "teaches".

Strengths: I am not sure what problem this solves besides helping a lazy teacher, not do their job.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Ability to solve problems via their platform.
2. Audio is not the greatest.
3. Videos move very quickly and I'm not sure that it will adequately support those students needing oral language development.

Verdict: There is nowhere to work on the computer. A teacher could compile a video list on Youtube to do 60% of what this product is claiming.

Grade Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: They have not written the programs for 6th grade yet. They are concentrating on high school levels first.

Strengths: The strengths of this project are that you can assign work to students after teaching them about a certain topic, such as fractions. The student then could be assigned an assessment for homework/classwork. If the student gets the problem wrong they can watch a video of how to solve the problem.
The negative is that the company does not have the product for the lower grades yet.

Suggestions for Improvement: Make the product looking more engaging to the students - more exciting.
Make the product for all grades between 6th and 12th grade.
Good video explanation of problem solving.

Verdict: They do not have the programs for 6th grade yet. Only higher levels.

Teacher, School Type: High School, High ELL Population
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: It's not that different from free resources online like Khan Academy.

Strengths: They have some material/videos made.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) There would have to be actionable data
2) more customizability for me as a teacher regarding the lessons
3) something that would make it worthwhile paying for since there are a ton of videos and assignments online for free.

Verdict: I wouldn't recommend it just because there are free resources online that does the same thing.

Name, School Type: Other, Blended Learning
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I like the online tutor aspect of this product.

Strengths: l like the video explanations for the high school math teachers and for their students. This would also help parents who some times are trying to help their children with math but they don't understand themselves.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make it more affordable for the lower income schools and families. I like the idea of the product.

Verdict: I would use it for the intervention program. This is a great product to help students with skills that they are lacking.

Crystal, Tk Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for a middle school math summer school program.

Strengths: This is a great math product for middle school! I like that it provides the teacher with feedback and the students can get help with their lessons.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would see if they could expand this into the primary grades.

I would add additional lessons.

Everything else looks great!

Verdict: I would let them know that the lessons are engaging and that students can get help with their lessons if needed.

Instructional Leader, School Type: Middle School, High School
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: My school classroom model is personalized, self-paced learning. We are looking to use programs that are self-paced, in which students can choose their own learning pathways and teachers can assignment interventions.

Strengths: Question breakdown, lessons and questions, and free to use portions of website.

Suggestions for Improvement: No mastery tests. Self-paced content is desireable for personlized learning classrooms.

Verdict: Interesting supplementary program fr math instruction.

Mentee, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population, Project Based School, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Apr 23, 2016

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: doesn't seem to offer anything that can't be found on Khan Academy/free websites

Strengths: - math support on students' own time
- teachers can assign lessons

Suggestions for Improvement: - interface is really hard to look at
- super text heavy
- design is not very kid friendly
- doesn't really offer a unique experience

Verdict: It doesn't seem to be solving a particular pain point or need that isn't already addressed by existing products

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up