Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for students to do research papers. The program appears to be great at allowing my students to move within readability levels within the research.

Strengths: This product enables my students with disabilities the ability to research subjects in various manners and link to related information they may not have thought of without going to outside links. The readability levels can be changed by the student within the reading and they can get the definition as well as pronunciation of any word as they read.

Suggestions for Improvement: The ability to take notes on a "note card" within the program would be helpful for this group. The ability to show the citation information on a "note card" would be helpful.

Verdict: The subject being researched is entered, then within the subject the student can view video, images, and other related information. The student can also toggle between readability levels without letting others knowing they have gone to a lower reading level.

ruby, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product at my learning stations with each class

Strengths: 1. as I stated before this produce has access without the internet 2. it is great for learning stations when individual work is needed for a student who has finished classwork 3. the students will have access to the dictionary and vocabulary words that they are needing to learn

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. the price make it affordable for all teachers 2. make it more kid friendly 3. have parent access with the same format for home use

Verdict: This program has a great deal of important information that is necessary for my students. Putting it in this format means I don't have to worry about them accessing the wrong items in the internet.

Tech, School Type: Middle School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: We use it to promote research skills in the classroom and to have students collect data on various subjets

Strengths: Though sometimes research can be done without these kinds of products, this is a concise way to give all student access to high quality data to research. I advocate for it and so should any teacher

Suggestions for Improvement: I dont really like the interface... It could be a little more simple to use, especially for younger students. Perhaps tailoring the interface for different ages could help with that!

Verdict: It is fairly inexpensive (for districts with high licenses)

Chelsea, Student Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product as a way for my students do research for various projects or to answer questions they have. I would not use this to replace library research but would use it to supplement.

Strengths: This product offers students a wide range of ways to interact with the encyclopedia. The product also offers help with citations, which is critical for research purposes.

Suggestions for Improvement: There is a product by this company that offers images only, called ImageQuest. I think that this site should create a filter for the images. The encyclopedia could also benefit from have a Spanish or other language translator or option.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it is an easy to use and interactive way for students to access a lot of information. They even have various levels for elementary, middle, and high school. Students can choose a level that is appropriate for them. I also like that the content is pre-filtered for age appropriateness.

Teacher, School Type: High School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would like to use this product for groups working on cultural and comparative comprehension of major topic presented in the lesson.

Strengths: This product will work for students by showing Authentic materials and placing them close to the real culture. I teach Spanish language and exposing students to authentic information and language usage-- britaninica escolar.

Suggestions for Improvement: Perhaps focusing on specific regions would reduce searching time for teachers interested on particular topics/places.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because it is up to date with current issues and it would show the student the perspective from another point of view.

Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: In my classroom this product would be useful in research projects. Also in my studies on topics for flipcharts. I like that the images are available for any usage.

Strengths: I like the fact that the material is searchable and safe for internet use in a school setting.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Cost is high. I would like to add more features for the price. 2. Student accounts should be added to keep their own searches. 3. Hide the reader levels or have that set by teacher.

Verdict: I provides students with searchable material. It provides all the source information to document their work. The images are purchased with the product for school usage.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: For my kids to complete research projects.

Strengths: I like the content that is available. It would. Belts flexible with having writing in different reading levels that the content doesn't change. I like the image search.

Suggestions for Improvement: Making it more accessible by reading level for kids to adjust. Having a link for sign ups through Google.

Verdict: I like the google translate feature for our ELL students. Full access to the encyclopedia.

Michael, Art Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Strengths: Student appropriate language and images on a variety of topics.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'd love to see a format in which students can add to the articles, like wikipedia.

Verdict: A great way for students to perform research without needing to go to the library.

Educator, School Type: High School, Higher Education, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: When I had it I would use it in my music history classes as well as piano. Research composers and genres in classical music for the students to read about. In piano class if a student let's way is playing something by Scarlatti I would look up his life and have the student read about it.

Strengths: It works very well in getting the student and teachers information that needed without a lot of clutter of ads.

Suggestions for Improvement: The price. As a teacher I can't afford the over $400 price. My district or school is not going to purchase it since they say google is free. Make it affordable for a teacher without the help of the school paying for it.

Verdict: It's very user friendly with great pictures of the composers and other interesting things about their lives.

Michael, Art Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This seems like a great solution for kid-friendly research projects.

Strengths: Student appropriate language and images.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be interesting to add a wiki-type editing system so that kids can add to the information on subjects.

Verdict: I would recommend this as a means for my students to do research without needing to wait for their next library class.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up