Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Oct 25, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for every aspect of my classroom. It seems like a fantastic way to track data individually for my students especially when I have to individualize as a special education teacher.

Strengths: This solves the problem of tracking every type of data in one place easily. Instead of having clipboards for each student and clipboards or folders for every content area, I could use this software to streamline all of that work.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. It needs to be able to track data longitudinally to see progress over time for individual students for their individual goals 2. It needs to have the ability to track different kinds of data - not just event data. For example, latency, interval, etc. 3. Options for different buttons depending on the goal and data being tracked for each student. So, if the student was working on writing independently using tools, there would be options to set buttons such as: duration of time worked on assignment, number of prompts from teacher, used the writing tools, etc. 4. Also, if that data could be directly imported into software systems being used for report cards/progress monitoring If these things were added, I would spend copious amounts of money on this product. It would make my job MUCH more manageable and it would make my instruction much more targeted and help students reach their goals.

Verdict: I would highly recommend it for all special education teachers especially to have an easy way to track the data that is so essential in what we do. It would also help to keep us compliant with the law and give basis for progress reporting and developing IEP goals.

Samuel, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to take quick notes (insights) about kids. There hasn't been a convenient way for me to do this so I can keep track of things I notice about certain kids. For example, I might see a student who wears long sleeve sweaters all the time in 100 degree heat. Something like that makes me wonder whether they are cutting themselves and trying to hide it, or perhaps they are very poor and are trying to conceal the fact that they are wearing the same clothes day after day. I need a fast way to make note of these things because I'm an observant teacher and see A LOT.

Strengths: Bright Loop is simple to use. It is very quick to jot down notes about kids and share them with other Bright Loop users. I really like the fact that I can create custom groups of kids for whom I can keep track of them. In addition, there is an integrated lesson plan book. AND IT'S FREE, but there is a premium fee if you wish to share information.

Suggestions for Improvement: Only the Common Core standards for Language Arts and Math are uploaded to Bright Loop. It would be great if there were the CA science standards in there, but I was told I could manually upload them myself.

Verdict: BrightLoop is a quick way for teachers to keep track of the minutia that comes along with every student. How wonderful does a student feel when a teacher "remembers" a little detail about them that everyone else doesn't know or forgot? EVERY teacher could be that wonderful teacher if they use this tool.

Nina, Special Educator. School Type: Elementary School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program to progress monitor my special education student. I am a resource special educator and often like to break my groups up to be more specialized in their needs. While I am working with one group, the other group or groups (2-3 students) can be working on troubled areas or being exposed to a topic to preteach information for their general education class. It would work like stations or blended learning. I truly love how this program supports what I do as a special educator by helping keep track of my students goals and planning for where they are.

Strengths: This product would help with tracking, promote data driven planning, promote collaboration, allow for more detailed data at IEP meetings. It also allows you to align well with our curriculum.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be good if we could pre- assess our students and, if the program aligned with other tools that are used in our system like DIBELS.

Verdict: I would advocate for it because this is a special educator's dream. It would help us with case management, as well as, teaching. If the school did not get it, I would purchase on my own. That is how much I believe it would be a major support for me and my colleagues. Not to mention, allow my to be a better teacher to my students when all or most of what I do is organized in a way that would promote efficiency.

Third Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I have such a hard time with accessing notes for my students readily and in one place. This seems like the best tool to keep everything in the same place and make it available for engaging learning and meeting students where they are at.

Strengths: Notes are a big deal. Strategies are always needed to help students. the fact that it aligns with common core standards and it is already built into the program is amazing. being able to set your guided reading groups in the program and keep track of not only learning but behavior patters is amazing.

Suggestions for Improvement: I have not actively had a chance to use the product. But as long as there is an app for it my iphone and ipad can become a classroom on the go. Email capabilities what are they? Can i share information with parents as well as administrators. Does it work offline?

Verdict: You can use this information and it has a record of what you have done in the class by date so you can use it for parent teacher conferences and when trying to figure out how to better help a student who is lagging. The information is there and you can see strategies you have already tried and you have active notes as to what works well and what does not.

Anne, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for my small group instruction for both reading and math. I would be able to upload my lessons and link them to the common core standards so that I can follow how each of my students is progressing.

Strengths: This product is amazing! It has the power to write notes to multiple students or individual students. You can link your students to the standards or to individual goals. You can take photos of student work to include in their portfolio. Every week the program sends an email to parents alerting them to what their child is learning and how they are doing. It is compatible with the ipad, android devices and phones. It is free to individual teachers!!!

Suggestions for Improvement: Nothing- it seems to good to be true!

Verdict: This program was developed by a teacher and it has so many great features. You are able to select multiple students to write anecdotal notes for at the same time. You can link individual students to the standards or to IEP goals. You can toggle between subjects. You can take photos of student work to include in their portfolios.

Gwen, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 28, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: You can collect student observations and data. This helps you keep track of your progress all in one place. It would allow us to set goals for individual students. Additionally, we can plan right there, so that it truly is a one stop shop. Finally, parents can be communicated with so easily.

Strengths: I think honestly I would have to play around with it a bit more. Some features that I think it could include would be a better way to store data that is teacher created. If there was a way for a teacher to scan a test and scan student answers in to provide even more data, I think that could be a great feature.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Store our teacher-created assessments so that it truly could be a one-stop shop. 2. Be able to upload student scan-trons or assessments. 3. Have the capabilities to link with other data sources, aka amplify.

Verdict: I think that this is a great resource for all stakeholders. It allows all stakeholders to have access to student progress. It also helps file and manage all paperwork without the actual paperwork.

Jeanine, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to document intervention and accommodation activities for students with an IEP and low performing students. I would set up classroom workshop groups and document activities and lesson performed with each group. I would also use the records for annual IEP meetings and to recommend students for the student study team.

Strengths: I like that you can set up multiple groups. I also like that the secure share feature will be available. I am excited about this product. It saves teachers who have a class with various advance learners or various below level learners. The information can also be shared with parents during parent conferences.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make the program an app, often times at schools there are internet connection problems and some district do not respond immediately. I would also make a feature where you can save class information to dropbox.

Verdict: This is a quick and easy way to document intervention activities done by teachers, and curriculum specialist and special education teachers.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High School, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product for tracking student growth, taking attendance, identifying students who are struggling and who are understanding the content. I love the feature that allows me to add pictures, add student samples and allows me to keep track of my students data and work. It also allows you to develop lessons and to brainstorm lessons. I'm very excited to use this.

Strengths: This product will really help me keep track of my students. Many times I think of ideas but forget about them. I feel that this program will help me keep track of my ideas and develop lessons from the ideas.

Suggestions for Improvement: The app is very user friendly but I would make it link to my google drive and have my students share information directly into the app

Verdict: I think it's a great tool that will allow teachers and administrators to gather data aligned to the common core. The demo was very easy and it looks very teacher friendly. The explanation was clear and I already can make connections to how I plan to use this.

Bev, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: It's handy to take notes and give feedback during conferences (with the principal and for parent/student ones). I like that you can take pictures of student work and can apply it for several students at once if they are working in a group. It looks far more intuitive than the app that I'm currently using.

Strengths: The group click is a great aspect - I thought you could only copy/paste one comment or picture at a time per student. It will definitely help me assess my junior high students in a more efficient manner.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Can there be writing rubrics attached to the site? 2. Seat/desk formations for my classroom - Able to click on each student's name with the info correlated to that child 3. Attach Google docs to site

Verdict: I like that it is paperless and it is easier to track students, regardless of where you are. I won't lose work and I'll be able to find what I need effortlessly. It makes creating paper files a thing of the past and I will be more on top of assessing students.

Education Specialist, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this app to keep my self organized and keep all my data. It would help me to remember which goals my students are progressing and the goals that they need help.

Strengths: This product keeps me organized and i can even put pictures of my students work when they are turning it in.

Suggestions for Improvement: I wish i would of know about this product sooner. I would send out information flyers to all Special Education departments to let this product be known. i would like to be able to interact with other Special Education teachers on the same app where they can also see what is happening with the same students in the district. I would like to see some type of calendar where i can keep track of all my IEP's.

Verdict: I would recommend this product because the Special Education Department needs a way to become more organized. I want parents to understand that I am keeping my data updated and i know exactly what my students need to work on at all times.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up