Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Laura, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I used BrainPOP in the classroom on a weekly basis. I use the videos to introduce concepts, reinforce concepts, and to review concepts before tests.

The quizzes associated with the videos are awesome! They are not only based directly off the video (low on blooms) but also ask students to take what they have heard/seen and apply it to a new situation or idea (high on blooms). The quizzes on the app for the iPad can be taken by each individual student and the score can be recorded by the teacher. The quizzes can also be printed and copied for students without 1:1 deceives. The scores accurately reflet student mastery of the concept.

Additionally BrainPop gives access to readings that extend student learning. In my science classroom, students can read about the ethics of a certain topic, the current research to encahnce scientist understanding of a topic, or even what scientists used to think in the past. The texts are student friendly and very engaging.

Strengths: BrainPOP is geat for taking topics and explaining them at a middle school level. Additionally the articles and readings associated with the topic videos are great and relevant. This product saves the science teacher countless hours trying to translate high level science concepts into student friendly language.

Suggestions for Improvement: If I could change anything, I wish there was a way for teachers to get a report of student quiz scores in a concise report. As the student app works now, student scores are stored in the app, but there is no connection to the teacher. When I want to record my student scores, I have to go around to each student individually.

Verdict: As a science teacher it can be very hard to find videos that explain science concepts in student friendly language. BrainPOP fills this gap. The science concepts are sound, but the langugage is student friendly. So now, my visual learners needs can also be met. It is also extremely easy for both students and teachers to navigate. In the student app, student quiz scores are also stored, so students can determine which quizzes they mastered, and which they need to go back and try again.

Marcia, Pre K 12 Librarian & Computer Skills Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Low Income Population
Oct 18, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is a great website to use with 1st - 8th grade. I have used it with my 6th grade Computer Skills class - Computer History, Binary, Digital Etiquette, Internet Safety. I like that I can show the video; do the interactive quiz with the students where they can see the correct answer after each question; print out the vocabulary page for students to work with a partner to formulate answers; print out activity sheets for show what they know and what they learned; and play games to reinforce the learning. This is a good website to help you differentiate instruction. I would highly recommend this for your whole district. I have also used this with my 2nd - 5th grade library classes. We generally used just the videos and quizzes. I will try more of the materials with my library classes as I become familiar with the materials. I just found out today that we can look at the CCSS standards to see which Brain Pop materials will correlate. I am excited to go back to my district to show my teachers.

Strengths: I like the advantages of having a chance to search CCSS standards to see what videos correlate. I also like having interactive quizzes that relate to the videos and students can have immediate feedback after each question or they can find out their score at the end of the quiz. I like the vocabulary materials and activity sheets that students can use to work with a partner.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see a vocabulary section added in where students can search for the vocabulary terms that they hear about in the video. Please keep adding more topics.

Verdict: I would highly recommend this product because I have used it and our teachers love to use it. It is a great resource.

Dawn, Technology Support Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Mar 1, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: As a technology support teacher, I have the wonderful opportunity to work together with teachers supporting their efforts in the classroom. As teachers are involved with Science, Social Studies, Language Arts, or Math activities, I have the ability to use their time in the computer lab to support that learning through the exploration of various web sites that enhance their learning through online activities. Brain Pop is one of those sites that is easy to use, has many short videos on a variety of topics, and is engaging and motivating for students. The time that is available in the lab is put to good use when the videos are available to view and is supported by followup activities that are assessed and that data is made available for me as well as the classroom teacher. My students come to me three times a week through the year so I can plan with teachers early on about what activities we can do. I would love to be able to access this site throughout the year to support student learning in our school!

Strengths: The program brings engaging and fun videos that support learning in all subject areas. Videos are kept current so the topics include current events, holidays and even major disasters or news stories. The characters are likable and kids really respond to the videos positively.

Suggestions for Improvement: I can't think of anything that I would change.

Verdict: I believe the program is beneficial for all grade levels and subjects. It is easy to integrate into a short lesson or a longer, more indepth lesson. The follow up questions and activities allow the students to reflect on their learning and also provides an opportunity for teachers to assess and collect data easily.

Library Media Speciaist, School Type: Elementary School
Mar 1, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use the BrainPOP and BrainPOP Jr. videos as an introduction to a lesson in order to give students an overview of the topic that is being focused on. I sometimes use just a snippet or the whole video as needed. I use the activities and quizzes as pre and post assessments to gauge student understanding of the topic.

Strengths: This product has a range of videos that break down each subject in a student friendly and an age appropriate manner. It allows teachers to have an engaging way to introduce information and new topics to students along with quizzes that assess student's knowledge. It meets the needs of auditory and visual learners and has closed captioning as well to support deaf students or those who need extra visual supports. Quizzes are included to assess student retention of information as well as games and activities to further inform and engage students in learning about a topic.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think that BrainPOP is already doing a wonderful job providing quality content in a kid-friendly manner, with current and relevant topics.

Verdict: I would recommend the BrainPOP company because it contains a plethora of videos on a wide range of topics. The homepage is easy to navigate, and has many features for students to enjoy in class, whole group, small group or at home with parents. There is BrainPOP (great for Grade 4 and up), BrainPOP Jr. (great for ages K-3) and BrainPOP Espanol for ELL or ESOL students who speak Spanish. It gives information in an age appropriate format with memorable characters.

Tracy, Classroom Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: BrainPop is a great tool to use to introduce new topics or even as an end of the unit review. There is a range of topics appropriate for second grade students from math, to science, to social studies, and reading. The videos are engaging and incorporate the same characters that the students grow to love. If students are struggling on a topic I will also let them explore the video independently. Students also love the quizzes at the end to test their knowledge!

Strengths: This product provides engaging videos for classroom and home use. It uses studentfriendly vocabulary that helps the students gain additional knowledge on a topic. The students get to know the characters and feel connected to them.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love for their to be even more videos! At times I go on, hoping to find a video on a specific topic and am unable to locate anything that would work.

For some of my struggling students it would be helpful to have the opportunity to explore the vocabulary before even watching the video.

Verdict: BrainPop is a great tool to use to introduce new topics or even as an end of the unit review. There is a range of topics appropriate for second grade students from math, to science, to social studies, and reading. The videos are engaging and incorporate the same characters that the students grow to love. If students are struggling on a topic I will also let them explore the video independently. Students also love the quizzes at the end to test their knowledge!

Florence, Classroom Teacher/Webmaster/Gt Facilitator. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use it in my classroom to watch videos for an explanation portion of my lesson. I also have students take the quiz on their own or as a class. I have used the ActivExpressions during the quiz a few times, but we usually take it as a class using the majority's answers.

I sometimes use the comics on the More Info page in my lessons as a bit of comic relief, although they aren't the funniest comics I've seen....

Strengths: This product is great at getting and keeping student attention. The kids love taking quizzes to show what they know and taking the quiz as a group allows kids to collaborate on answers. I love how teachers can design their own quizzes now in order to differentiate for their students.

Suggestions for Improvement: Add the student log in to the MyBrainPop to the app so that students can use their devices to access this option. The kids love using their own electronics so this would just make it more engaging.

I don't have three things to recommend because BrainPop is my favorite educational resource online!

Verdict: I work for Baltimore County so we already pay for it. When I provide professional development to my staff, I often sound like I work for BrainPop since I am constantly pushing your products. I love how engaging the videos are, the harmless humor, and the format of the page. The students love to take the quizzes and the variety of information available on each topic is interesting to kids of all sorts.

Stuart, Music Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: The Brainpop website is invaluable. It has a vast amount of subjects that the characters Tim and Moby cover in a simple but convincing animated dialogue. I mainly use it for background knowledge and prior learning attention getters. The school has an account and I project it with my promethean board. The company has activities and quizzes that align with the common core. I use the material from Brainpop as pre and post assessment measurements. To ensure students understand specific elements of the lessons and how the lesson connects to my units

Strengths: The main solution to my problem is validation of content. Music in many schools is recess and not a resource. The subjects covered in Brainpop are entertaining and I have been able to attach many music lessons to the lessons already online with activities and assessments

Suggestions for Improvement: I would want more accessiblity like through ps3. xbox, wii. This would allow teachers to use the new learning tools stuents crave and couple them to lessons for common core and entertainment

Verdict: The first reason is it is informative and accessible. Students can use it at home and at the school. The lessons can also be scheduled and students can work asynchronous and synchronousI learned today all teachers can monitor all student activity and assignment completion. This adds value to the incorporation of the Flipped Classroom

Sarah, 1st Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Nov 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I use this product to teach my kids about important topics like Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Thanksgiving, Making 10, States of Matter, etc. I show students (whole class) a video on a topic and then when they have centers or go to the computer lab they can take a quiz on the topic.

Strengths: The videos are GREAT. Being a 1st grade teacher, I feel that videos have to be fun in order to have all kids engaged, which brainpopjr. 100% does. There is a video for almost anything so it’s my “go to” when I’m introducing anything new to my class.

Suggestions for Improvement: More videos. There are dome topics there aren’t videos on. Just last week I wanted to explain to my kids what Veteran’s Day was, and a student was like “use BrainPop” and so I went on and couldn’t find anything on it. Other than more videos I think this website is Awesome!

Verdict: I would highly recommend this tool because it is a great way to excite students about a topic. The students love the character Moby and the silly tune that is played before each video. My students love playing the games and I’ve found that they’re actively engaged in math games that are a grade or even 2 grades above their level. At EdSurge I just learned that teachers can now create their own quizzes and students can make mind-maps about the video they watched. It is such a great tool to engage your class.

Lourdes, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Sep 13, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I have used BrainPop in my Spanish class. Students have a universal login and code. Students will use BrainPop to see movies based on the curriculum being taught in class. All students have an IPad so they move at their own pace. I print out the assessments and give it to them.

Strengths: This program allows students to learn information individually because I had a wide variety of student needs. Many students work at their own pace and if they need to hear and see the video multiple times it won't stop the higher level from moving forward.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would improve the function for testing. I would like for the questions to be a bit more challenging. Have different level of questioning so students can access the curriculum based on their learning ability. I would also add a component in which the teacher gets a report of the students progress. Lastly, I would add a parent component in which the parents are aware of how their child is performing.

Verdict: I would recommend BrainPop due to the fact that it provides extra support for students that might be struggling the content. Last year I covered a history class and I enjoy the way it covered different topics at a level in which students are able to understand it. I like the way many ELL students are also able to understand the material because it shows pictures as visuals.

Judy, Instructional Technology Specialist. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, BYOD Devices
Feb 24, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Need something to introduce a unit? Or conclude a unit? Try the Brainpop videos. It has a ton of videos on a ton of subjects.It also has activities and quizzes that you could use in a center.
There are so many extras it also has some critical thinking games that are available for free on the GameUp link. Definitely take a look.

Strengths: Tim and Moby are engaging to the students. They "speak" in a language the students can understand so they can remember the content. It give little quizzes and activities to help reinforce the information. If you get a teacher's account you can track their scores and do much more.
The database of information is huge and growing. They continue to make improvements to their product.

Suggestions for Improvement: That is hard. I'm nitpicking now. Maybe have popups appear when you float over topics so that you know what the image is in "reality".

I honestly cannot not think of anything. I have been pounding my head looking at it... Getting a teacher account could be easier I maybe, having to contact the admin of the account to get it would be nice. but that is all I can truly think of to improve it.

Verdict: The educator account give you access to more lessons, data etc. Kids love the videos (as long as you don't overdue them). They contain great information in a engaging fashion.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up