Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Casey, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I don't think that it is currently practical to use it in a classroom setting. I am planning on using this in my personal life, but I am not sure that it is currently scalable for a classroom. A specific barrier for my district is price - expecially since I come from a low-income district. However, I have worked in private schools where this could be HUGE- If I were you I would begin moving into schools by pitching in that arena.

Strengths: I think that the original purpose is totally solved - specifically brain drain that might happen over a break or summer vacation.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would allow for group work.
I would allow schools to compete against each other for small school-related prizes (eg 2 iPads)
I would lower the cost.

Verdict: I would highlight the adaptability, student choice, and the interactivity. I also think that the story and the engagement are fantastic.

Theresa, Library Media Specialist/ Technology Integration. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Blended Learning
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this for small groups, such as G&T. Part of a middle school elective course.

Strengths: It looks very engaging for students and can adapt to they needs and interests.

Suggestions for Improvement: Price point needs to come down lower for districts to be able to purchase.
length of course needs to be changed to run at your own pace- not semester start dates.
group teaming needs to be set up for the teacher.

Verdict: Need to bring down the price point and make another option geared towards schools districts.

Technology Teacher/Integration Specialist, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: This would be good for a summer program or after-school club/activity.

Strengths: Kids would probably be very engaged with this.

Suggestions for Improvement: Pricing point is a little steep. I realize you have partners that charge you subscription fees, but maybe make tiered/a la carte pricing levels.
Closer alignment with curriculum.
Class kits instead of individual kits.

Verdict: It seems like a very well-rounded application, and I think kids would have a great time using it. However, it is a little cost-prohibitive at the current time.

Diane, Superintendent Of Schools. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this as a great integrated learning experience. I also think that it is a wonderful experience for an after school program or an enrichment activity. It

Strengths: Love, love the concept! I am impressed with the creativity and the hands on aspects of the program. The opportunity for students to choose different modules is great too. Also, I think it is so wonderful that the concept was created by a husband and wife.

Suggestions for Improvement: The problem with integrating it into a school is the cost. I can see many uses with individuals though.

Verdict: The problem is that it is probably too expensive for a school district. I would definitely buy it for my grandson when he is old enough to enjoy it.

Victor, Esl Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to reinforce language learning across all domains. Fantastic idea and a great way for students to apply their previous knowledge.

Strengths: Great way to involve students and promote learning effortlessly.

Suggestions for Improvement: Figure out a pricing package
Target parents
Market the benefits of such a great package

Verdict: Students need something that drives them to find a purpose to their learning and this is a great way to do that

Supervisor, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: This product is extremely motivating for students to continue their learning. The treasure is one piece, but even having students receive clues and puzzles is interesting. I love the blended learning approach.

Strengths: --Integrated approach to language learning, math, reading, writing, etc.
--Extremely motivating.
--Students would be absorbed in this task.

Suggestions for Improvement: -Lower price
-Look into the team approach
-Being able to explore more than one type of module-language, math, etc.

Verdict: Our students would benefit greatly from this product, however we would not be able to afford funding this project. We would have to look to towards other avenues of funding whether it be through our PTO or Educatiion Foundation.

Marc, Asst Superintendent. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I'm not sure, but I love the idea and it really integrates real world scenarios and knowledge with multiple subject areas and skills.

Strengths: The creator has tapped into some proven resources-- e.g. Rosetta Stone, Khan Academy-- and included them in a geocaching/mystery Skype scenario that is pitched at a student level.

Suggestions for Improvement: At this point, having not used it, the only issue is the high price point per student.

Verdict: Not only is this a clever idea, but the interface is very student oriented-- fun, attractive, easy to use but with rigor.

Principal, School Type: Elementary School
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would personally use it with my children.

In addition, I see G&T potential in my school as well as an after school club.

Strengths: It provides motivating, choice based, interesting academic material to improve students core knowledge and tech skills.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like to see a pricing option where a school team might compete.

Verdict: It is interactive, differentiated, based on interest and ability and full of engaging pieces! The fact that an item is mailed to the student is exciting and unique.

Tech Teacher/Coach, School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I think this is a great tool to offer students during the summer or outside of school time . I'm not sure that it would meet daily curricula needs and the price is a bit high for most school districts to support. I do love the concept behind this tool.

Strengths: Student exploration
Advanced concepts

Suggestions for Improvement: Improve costs
connect to common core standards so it could be used during the school year

Verdict: I would recommend for an enrichment opportunity to parents and school district.

Technology Integrationist, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this with our after school and summer programs, because that is the only way I might be able to get funding. The price point was very high.

Strengths: We definitely needed a longer presentation to get the detailed examples.

Suggestions for Improvement: Price point. is way too high, we understand why, but cannot justify that per student cost.

Verdict: I would advocate for this because of the playful nature and the challenge based learning or PBL approach it employs.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up