Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Herpreet, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This product would be amazing to use with all students in my classroom. IT is a great tool to engage students to write and read and be creative using music and technology, as well connect with Media Literacy and world connections.
Special Education students would have an opportunity to be hands on and engaged as well without feeling inadequate or losing confidence.

Strengths: THe product allow students to download stories that are online and added to the library and edit/add music to the text. Aslo allows the students to download their own stories and add music to support their narratives. The compny is already in the process of adding more stories to their library.

Suggestions for Improvement: The product could add a way to assist students who are not yet reading at grade level but still want to be able to access functions where students can hear the story and verbally respond and give instructions to what they want to do.

Verdict: Recomment this product for the school because it connects media and literacy. Engages students to create and become editors and producers themselves and feel empowered.

Tracy, Instructional Technology Resource Teacher. School Type: High School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Students adding their own audio tracks to written work to demonstrate their understanding.

Strengths: This allows students to interact with written text in another way. Great for struggling readers who can get a sense of mood from the audio track as they read. Also great when students create the audio track so they can demonstrate their understanding of the written work with without having to use a written format or to supplement their written work. The ability to make their book track public allows for the authentic audience piece that gives true purpose to classroom activities.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be great if schools could connect their library materials to booktrack classroom to expand the materials available.

Allowing for students to add visuals as well as audio content would also be great.

Verdict: Allows students to demonstrate their understanding and connect to written text in a creative way. Not limited to paper and pencil any more. Ability to publish their audio interpretations to the whole world for that authentic audience.

High School Teacher Of English And Technology, School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am planning on using this with my English students when they write short stories and poems. I am also planning on using it with my daughter.

Strengths: This product really creates a relevant interest for students. Students will be motivated to not only create, but to actually complete their work and add more to the expectations. I am very impressed by this project and the endless possibilities for my classrooms.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like for students to be able to sell their books more easily through the classroom app. Sales could also be directed to charities important to he students. I think adding that option would allow us to use this product in more classes like world issues, entrepreneurship and design. I would also like to be notified every time students use the program to track their project management skills.

Verdict: This type of program would excite students about writing. It allows for the development of executive function and would make students more passionate about their work.

Intermediate, School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product within guided reading as a whole group. I enjoy reading out loud to the class and adding the soundtrack is a great way to get the students to become emerged in the story or at least focused on the reading. It is great tool to encourage imagery and setting the scene. I would also try it during drama class. Why not act out the scene as another student narrates the story.

Strengths: The soundtracks are great.

Suggestions for Improvement: Include the option to have the book read out loud at the same time as the sound track is playing. As well the transition from one page to the other wasn't very smooth to was distracting to the flow of the story.

Verdict: Great way to get the boys engaged and want to pick up a book. Especially if you tell them they can upload their own music/soundtrack. They also allow you to write our own story and include a soundtrack. Can be used during assemblies to allow fellow students to get excited about reading.

Occasional Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Use it for language arts - read alouds, or individual students reading, create evaluating project assignments.

Strengths: - engages students in books
- love that there's a love of classic novels and helps make it more interesting.

Suggestions for Improvement: - more novels that students would read i.e. Hunger Games, Harry Potter etc., I think schools/Boards will definitely pay for a yearly "subscription" if this was an option in order to get the audio to these popular novels.

Verdict: It's a great way to engage students in their reading, also an opportunity for students to add audio to a book that we've read, and a new way to show their learning -- can be an add on to the typical 'book report' project.

Teacher, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: i would be able to do more engaging and more interesting read alouds with students.
shared reading and writing experiences to a whole new level

Strengths: this product is like hearing a movie with words! it would add more meaning to the text and students would be able to play with their imagination!

Suggestions for Improvement: i understand we can upload our own sound files. i hope that would be easy to do, as knowing students' penchant for exploring, i can see they would love to create and upload a lot of different sounds

Verdict: i would recommend this as it would appeal to students. this would then mean they would take a keener interest in their writing assignments. better writers and readers!

Teachet, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: For independent reading time at school to aid comprehension. As a relaxing time for kids with special needs.

Strengths: It solves motivating issues during independent reading. It aids reading comprehension.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. Level books by reading benchmarks. For example, DRA or PM benchmarks.
2. Have books in different languages
3. make partnerships with community libraries

Verdict: It can add to any literacy program and motivate students of all grades.

rachel, Teacher. School Type: High School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: i would engage students in enhancing their writing pieces.
i think they would enjoy that dimension

Strengths: it naturally draws students into an area that they are reluctant to do .....write

Suggestions for Improvement: i'm not familiar with the product but i can't imagine it needing changes already.
i don't think there's anything like it on the market.
a drama component might be attractive to kides

Verdict: i don't have reasons to go against it

Allister, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it to improve my students reading!

Strengths: I really love the idea!

Suggestions for Improvement: -Have an ability for the student to point to a word and have it come to life with sounds
-Have teachers be able to create their own soundtracks
-Incorporate graphic novels and magazines!

Verdict: I think that this tool could make books come to life!

Rebecca, Kindergarten Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I teach kindergarten and I think it may be too difficult but I think my own children would benefit from using this.

Strengths: I was impressed with this product. I feel my own children would love to read books while listening to a sound track that adds audio to help build suspension, imagery, etc. I also think they would enjoy adding audio to a written assignment that they submit to a teacher and I think the teacher would enjoy marking such an assignment. It allows for creativity and a deeper understanding of a text. It was FREE!

Suggestions for Improvement: I would love to see texts that are for the primary level. I would love to be able to teach my students about using appropriate sound effects for fairy tales, etc.

Verdict: I would recommend this to junior or intermediate teachers as well as high school teachers. I would have loved to use this as a student. I enjoyed listening to a sound track while reading a book. I found it very engaging. I think students need more audio options available and it would definitely help improve comprehension.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up