Product Index
Everything Else
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Lisa, 3rd Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Mar 1, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I want to level my classroom library so students can shop for books that are directly on their level for independent application of skills, silent reading, and to teach them how to pick out books. I'd also use it to share with parents the differences between levels of text to help them pick out books for their children. I would also use it for lesson planning to find books that fit the curriculum skills and topics I want to teach. At a school level it'd be nice to know what books we have in the media center that fit my lesson topic, and are on the level I need to fit students' needs.

Strengths: It solves the problem of not knowing how to level texts. We plan for student success based on text level but outside of reading programs it's difficult to know what level a text is written on. I like this because I can apply it to so many different areas of teaching to help kids.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'd like it to include printable labels to stick onto books to keep them organized.
I'd love it to link to a website that includes a searchable database to help me find books to add to my library.
I'd love it to include links to lesson plans using the books you have in your collection.

Verdict: R-Easy tool to keep books organized, fits individual student needs, good for differentiated instruction, reading across texts. Having the tool would be a good use of parent volunteers to level books for teachers and label them.

Shannon, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This product would be great for leveling classroom books. We spend so much of our free time setting up our libraries for our kids each year. This way, we can just scan them quickly or enter them into a running spreadsheet and have the levels ready to go. I love the networking feature where we can see what other teachers have in our school. This way, if we're searching for a book and we don't have it, we can find out who does! During readers workshop and independent reading time, our kids can now just head over to their leveled books and make their selections easily.

Strengths: Seems easy to use. And saves teachers time!

Suggestions for Improvement: Compatible with all devices?

Printable labels for the books we catalog.

School based password or log in so we can view everyone's libraries.

Verdict: We would love a way to print out labels so we can stick them on the books in our classroom libraries. This way, the books stay organized and can be placed back in the right bin or section. In addition, cataloging books on the program that are requested in the new BCPS curriculum guides would ensure we are using the program with purpose.

Georgina, Special Educator. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I am a special educator, so I would use it for small group and to differentiate instruction. As a case manager it can be used to target specific reading skills.

Strengths: Leveled reader with thousands of books

K8

Books hit specific content standards

Suggestions for Improvement: None so far. It looks user friendly, not complicated

Verdict: I would recommend it to save teachers time with finding leveled readings that target or hit specific skills, such as inferencing.

I also like that a 7th grader could read a book on the 3rd grade level, but won't feel like it is for an elementary school book.

Special Educator, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product to ensure that students read books that are on their levels and are interesting to them.

Strengths: teaches specific skills linked to the common core standards

books are analyzed by 45000 educators

pinpoints needs of classroom library

Suggestions for Improvement: I wish the program could assess reading levels. Other than that, I would not change anything about this product.

Verdict: students that struggle with reading can address skills that they have not mastered through books that are on their level and that are interesting to them.

Shirley, Teacher. School Type: Middle School
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it for differentiating instruction in my classroom. I Walid be able to specifically design individual reading assignments for my students.

Strengths: Helps to find books that has the specific skill and grade levels for students.

Suggestions for Improvement: Not sure..but maybe offer it free

Verdict: I would recommend because I am a middle school teacher who teach students who can be at any grade level. This program would allow me to REALLY MEET THE NEEDS of all my students. I can tailor instruction to meet the diverse needs of my students

Lisa, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Level my personal classroom library so students can find "just right books"

Select read alouds and texts for book bins based on topic and level so independent practice is on level

Strengths: Scanning feature

Common Core aligned

Suggestions for Improvement: I'd love printable labels so I can label my books in my library

Verdict: R-organized libraries, and ability to plan lessons based on topic and authentic text

I've been looking for something like this

jason, Social Studies Teacher. School Type: Middle School, Low Income Population
Feb 21, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: While i usually check amazon for my students reading levels this app is fast and seems effective and will be a great addition to my classroom apps and will use to better recommend books to students and parents.

Strengths: finding books to meet the different levels of students

it is fast

Suggestions for Improvement: none

Verdict: It is fast seems effective and will help get more students to read if we are giving them books that are at their reading levels

Team Leader, School Type: High School, BYOD Devices
Feb 21, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: If you have a student who you need to find a lower reading level of a high school novel.

Strengths: quick and easy to use information

Suggestions for Improvement: At this time I do not have any suggestions.

Verdict: This would give a special education teacher a quick and easy way to have their students access the same book their peers are reading but now on their reading ability.

Ashley, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Classroom library and content lesson

Strengths: Easy to use, meets many needs

Suggestions for Improvement: Able to print labels to lable my class library to organize by level and content skill

Verdict: Helps build a school library through our own library

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Feb 22, 2014

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: Teacher friendly

Strengths: I want this

I want to bug my boss

I want this

Suggestions for Improvement: Keep adding books

Verdict: Leveled and catalogued

Shows gaps in library

Helps plan for differentiated learning

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up