Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Teacher Support Cordinator, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as a schoolwide level to encourage teachers to use this application software for all of their expository text especially since comprehension and vocabulary and academic language is such a challenge for so many students

I love it simplicity

Strengths: Just seems so simple and applicable but so important for real reading and comprehension challenge for many studio at all levels

Suggestions for Improvement: I'm not knowledgeable enough about the product to really be able to look at with three areas of weaknesses are I'm sure that product continues to develop that users will be able to provide more examples of implementation for application and possibly many more success stories

I'm not sure if beeline reader has a website or blog of some sort but I think you should like that teachers have a place to share their success stories and strategies for implementation of the product

Verdict: I would recommend it of course to special ed teachers especially younger grade teachers or English teachers the teachers to help with diverse student needs

Kim, Tech Toa. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this really cool extension for online materials that I load to my OneNote Class Notebooks for my students to read and annotate.

Strengths: In addition to addressing the issues of reading digitally, BeeLine Reader also offers support for students with all types of sight-related issues, attention span issues, etc.

Suggestions for Improvement: It's going to be so fast to set up, but I suppose if I chose it as a default for all my online copy/paste choices it would be great. I wish it was available as an extension for Edge and other browsers, as well.

Verdict: Students and adults have modified the way they read because of our increasingly digital resources. This modification has, however, not been beneficial for longer reading, because the change in reading (digital) materials has been influenced by the short, chunky, unchallenging types of reading one finds in social networking and advertising. By using BeeLine Reader I can sensitize my students to the rigor needed to finish longer digital reading materials.

Cynthia, Chen Teacher. School Type: High School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as a designated warmup in my biology class where I make them read about new discoveries in science. My students also use NEwsELA so it would be easy to incorporate it into my lessons.

Strengths: I am amazed how easy it is to read!!!! I am one of those readers who skips lines and went through all kinds of "training" in my elementary years which did not help at all!!! So, when I was able to read and not skip lines... OMG!!! And I was able to read faster too!!! I can share this experience with my students!!! How cool!!!!

Suggestions for Improvement: Make it available on online testing sites!!
Log in of students who have been reading to give credit for time logs...
Measure content and level of reading by students

Verdict: IT HELPS STUDENTS READ BETTER!!!
It augments what we are already doing in class.
It is easy as a chrome extension for all students at our school.
It's very reasonably priced!!!

Jan, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: i would use this tool for an intervention of my low readers in class. I would put it on the chrome books that my low readers students would use unless I can download it on all of my chrome books. It would help in close reading informational texts to help with reading comprehension.

Strengths: I like the idea that this program actually change colors line by line and will change the background color for specific students to help with students' reading. I like it that it can be used for any text even in google.classroom.

Suggestions for Improvement: I agree this program is great for students who have problems seeing letters on a page, but I would like to know the reading level to help my students are still in System 44. Not really sure how to change it now. This program does say what it is suppose to do.

Verdict: I would recommend this program to my principal for the lower readers in classes because even though I have 4 students in System 44 and READ 180, not all of my low readers with low comprehension are getting a lot of help. When my System 44/READ 180 students return to the class, I have to teach Social Studies and Science. This color code would help with their reading so they can read completely a passage and understand it to articulate the core ideas.

valerie, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it with students who are having difficultly tracking words and sentences. Additionally, i would also use with students who are below grade level in fluency to see if it makes any difference in results.

Strengths: It is a simple application that could potentially make a huge difference in a child's ability to read and comprehend text. It separates out lines of text by simply changing the color of the text. Could help students with attention issues and students who are overwhelmed by large amounts of text on a page.

Suggestions for Improvement: Maybe add a different selection of colors, for example, using blue and orange since they are opposite colors on a color wheel, the lines would stand out more than the colors of blue & red.

Verdict: It is a low cost application that could possible improve a child's fluency numbers, which, according to research, can also increase their overall comprehension of text.

Rsp, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Project Based School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I work with students who have dyslexia. I currently use sticky notes to help them when reading. It will help to Keep them on track without using them.

Strengths: I just found out about this tool today and haven't had a chance to really get into it. I'm excited to get into it and can comment more on it later.

Suggestions for Improvement: I had to update my iPhone in order to download the app. While this isn't the programmers problem, it is mine, it would've been nice to have it download a previous version of the app until I was able to update my phone.
Again, I can comment more once I use the product more.

Verdict: It might not work well for all students but teachers need a variety of tools for students access grade level curriculum.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to help my students with tracking while reading paragraph text.

Strengths: This tool helps students with visual processing disorders, ADHD, and reading disabilities. It is very helpful if you have students with special needs reading articles on computers.

Suggestions for Improvement: This product should also be available on Nook and as an Android App. In these times, products should be available to all devices as some districts use multiple types of devices.

Verdict: I wold recommend this because it helps students with tracking issues read multi-lined text.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this product whenever students were reading a text on an electronic devise.

Strengths: Strengths: it makes decoding easier. It is visually stimulating.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1. It could have more than one capability (other than the color-coding).
2. It would be nice if it worked on Word Docs.
3. It would be nice if it also read texts aloud to students.

Verdict: I would recommend this device because it makes reading fluency easier. When continuing on to a new line the color coding makes it easier to read on.

Lindsay, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jan 26, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it as a tool to support students who struggle with reading fluency.

Strengths: In addition to helping readers stay on track in the text, I like how they have 4 color options, for the text, to choose from. I like how there is an option to turn a pdf or other document into a colored text with the BeeLine Reader.

Suggestions for Improvement: As a teacher it would be great to see some sort of data collected on the students who use the product, to see if it actually helps them become a better reader.
What are the statistics on what happens to the reader when it is not a colored text? Do people develop better fluency skills? Or go right back to struggling when it's not a colored text?
(There may be one already, although I couldn't find it) It would be great if there was a print feature directly from the extension where you can print out the colored text.

Verdict: People who are not fluent readers or have disabilities have difficulty tracking words on a page. BeeLine Reader uses a color gradient on the words to help keep track of where you are in the text. It's easy on the eyes, helping to keep them from straining when reading on a screen.

Sy, Apprentice. School Type: Middle School, 1:1 Devices
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this any and all reading related topics. I feel that the Chrome app and PDF version would be most applicable to specifically college and high school level students. Even in math where reading is at times minimal, I feel that it would make the process more approachable to all students.

Strengths: It addresses the problem of moving from one line to another extremely well. It's design is very versatile as a Chrome attachment.

Suggestions for Improvement: Instead of having a single charge per app/tool on a single device, it could charge a flat rate for an entire device. Maybe $3-5?

Verdict: I would recommend it because it helps all reading in a very simplistic, effortless and all encompassing way. It further lessens the gap that students with disadvantages such as dyslexia, color-blindness, or English not being their native language might encounter in a normal environment.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up