Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Jan, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would use this program for class management. My grade level has a business day at the end of each trimester. Students create a product or a service to do at a booth for other students at business fair. My students collect "Funny Money" to obtain a business license for the business day fair. This program would delineate how they are saving for the license and/or how they are spending their money they earned. Students earn money for good behavior, completing assignments, and how they manage their work daily. They also spend their money for not good behavior, not completing assignments and leaving the classroom for their personal use (bathroom, needing their backpack because they were not prepared for the class).

Strengths: Students are learning banking and know exactly what money they have spent and what money is saved for any particular goal. Students don't have to take time to take their paper "funny money" to count it. It would save any student's grief of accusing someone taking their money when in fact they just misplaced it the envelope of money.

Suggestions for Improvement: At this time it was easy for me to register, so I don't think there would be any problems using this. It is very friendly and clear for the students to understand.

Verdict: I would use this program because it provides a running list of how the students are spending and/or saving their money. They don't have to worry about it being misplaced /lost or even someone taking their money.

Tracy, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: This is great! I'd use it for rewarding students and teaching budgeting.

Strengths: I love that it shows what purchases or losses and gains are for. I like being able to photograph purchases. I love that students can set goals.

Suggestions for Improvement: I'd love the ability to create checks to go with the account. I trade students around. I think it would be good if they could use a checkbook in other classes.

Verdict: This teaches budgeting and the value of money. It makes students accountable for behaviors and learning. I think it will promote responsibility.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this to teach money management, specifically spending and saving concepts. I look forward to using a digital platform to replace my classroom currency and also allow parents the ability to see funds and how they are used.

Strengths: I love that the program is digital. It will save lots of time arguing with students about the money that they've "lost" when it has actually been spent. This also allows me to show parents what students have been paid and when for their class jobs.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would really appreciate an area where teachers could upload a Class Store and have students be able to purchase those items similar to online shopping).

Verdict: I would recommend this as a classroom incentive tool. If it were purchased, incentives could be applied school-wide and all parents could be informed of their status.

Lynn, Computer Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as a supplemental tool after money and coins lesson. I would also use it to check for learning and to revisit concepts students are still struggling with.

Strengths: It is visual and interactive. I like the added classroom economy aspect. I did this as a paper and cut out management system but the app is so much easier to use. the kids apply it to everyday life.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would try to make the offline tools more accessable. I would try to integrate more common core problems that relate to fractions and perimeters. I would use the goals section to be interactive with others online, as a competition of sorts.

Verdict: It is visual and the kids like to use technology. The kids also like interactive games and I think they would remember the concept more if they were able to have a hands on experience.

Michelle, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, BYOD Devices
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it as a way to teach students to be financially responsible. It would aid me in demonstrating real life consequences for saving and spending within your means.

Strengths: It solves the problem of copying off classroom money
Worrying about when students say they lost their money/someone stole it.
It allows students access to their own finances.

Suggestions for Improvement: Have a way to set up pre arranged dollar amounts related to consequences both good and bad, for example click of a button gives Jane $2 for being on task. This way it will not disrupt classroom learning or stop the teacher from learning.

Verdict: I would recommend it for teachers that use classroom money. It would replace students losing money. it would also allow them hands on experience to track their money in a bank format.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would encourage students and parents to use this program to manage money and build real-life math skills with an option to share what they learn in class.

Strengths: It helps students apply mathematics skills to their lives in real time and builds responsibility at a young age.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would add virtual money/allowance, rewards for earning certain amounts (an activity or ability for teachers to add rewards), and maybe prompts for students that are not saving any money.

Verdict: Since it involves real-life skills, I would recommend it to parents and students as an optional way for children to evaluate how they are managing money and to build responsibility.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I use a token economy in my classroom and this looks like an interesting way to incorporate more technology and accountability into the system.

Strengths: I like the ability to manage a whole class at once with this token economy. The fact that there is an online component parents can see is great.

Suggestions for Improvement: I think the cost of the program is a bit too much. I'd like to see a modified interface where I can develop moderators who can add or delete funds with final approval by me later in the day.

Verdict: It offers an online version of accountability that can be accessed by parents and students in upper grades. It can be helpful with classroom management.

Sarah, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I use for behaviors in the classroom the monetary system. Paper money is very cumbersome

Strengths: I am so over the paper money. It would be nice to move away from it and this program would allow me to do it. I would definately do this

Suggestions for Improvement: Out of time...
management and control to help keep track of students
Parent involvement
A buy in for the students for sure
All of thses comments go above!!! I was unable to copy and paste it above and I ran out of time... sorry...

Verdict: Great for teaching real life skills.
Useful using the monetary system with behaviors in the classroom.
Great for the parents to keep up on their students

Lindsay, 5th Grade Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, College Prep School
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use this tool as a reward system for students. They would be able to set goals and earn/lose "money" for certain behaviors.
I will also use this as a parent, teaching my children about the value of a dollar.

Strengths: It is great for kids to set goals and make decisions about (virtual) money and see what happens to their money when they make those decisions.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Add ways for teacher to see how it supports curriculum, such as grade level standards.
2) Add all features to the app, not just the student view.
3) ? Is there a feature for parent communication? So parents are informed about student behavior of being used as a reward system.

Verdict: It seems like a good tool to teach students about finances wth goal setting, deposits, debits and deductions.

Pm, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Jan 23, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Kids seem to have no concept about money and how to manage it. Finance skills are so important for people to know. This program looks like a fun and interactive way for students to learn math and finance skills.

Strengths: It teaches children how to manage money in a safe and engaging way I like that you can use the program on different mobile devices.

Suggestions for Improvement: I do not know enough about the product to see if there are any improvements that need to be made. I'm not sure if you can access and use it on iPads, iPods, or smart phones. If not that would be an improvement that I would recommend.

Verdict: I love the fact that a teacher can create a classroom economy with rewards and chores for students to use. I also love that their are real life scenarios for students to use.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up