Product Index
Curriculum Products
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Tech Coordinator/Robotics, School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: There are two courses that could use this product.
One class is the maker class that would like to do more circuitry work and the kits look like they could fit the bill.

One class is about coding and we could use it to look closer at coding the circuitry.

We could use the experiment in our science classes to make more real world connections to the content.

Strengths: The ability to cross the subjects is a major plus for this project. STEM schools could use it in mulitple ways.

Suggestions for Improvement: It's still a little pricey for most schools to use large scale.
If there was a way to make the kits more affordable would probably make the product more accessible.

Verdict: I think you could use it across different classes, from math to science to computer science.

David, Learning Through Interest Coordinator. School Type: High School, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices, BYOD Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use this in a focused project session where students would work for a focused 'design challenge' over 2-3 weeks.

Strengths: I love how they are building some structure into utilizing Arduino's and also making the design process authentic (possibly going to space). And as an earth science teacher, I also like how the technology is helping to convey complex planetary processes.

Suggestions for Improvement: Not sure yet. Perhaps finding other organized ways to put these devices to use. (Undersea experiments, atmospheric experiments, gettting researchers and explorers to put them in remote places (like Antarctica or Mt Everest.)

Verdict: For our new school, these tools and resources help us build our practice.

Aimee, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population, College Prep School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: It only has functionality in a physics and computer science integrated course.

Strengths: It would integrate authentically computer science and physics.
The data from the probeware is available anywhere there is a computer.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) Have a non-coding option. I'm not willing to learn to code to use a probeware that doesn't have the same functionality that other probeware does.
2) Expand your functions. This appeals only to a very limited market because it doesn't have much applicability outside of a physics and/or computer science classroom.
3) Have a non-coding option (again!). I don't want to use the limited time I have to teach chemistry to also try to teach my students coding.

Verdict: If the course is integrating physics and computer programming, this item seems like it would fit well, but otherwise, it doesn't have a broad enough application to be relevant to other contents.
It doesn't have probes for other metrics (like specific chemical signatures), and although it can integrate with other probes, that requires writing or finding the code to integrate it.
Which brings me to my next point, it requires knowing some coding. Maybe not a lot, but I, and most of the teachers (even most of the science teachers) don't know any. And my students (by and large) don't know any. So there would need to be extra time spent teaching myself then them how to code before I could even begin to teach them about science.

Rana, Math And Physics Teacher. School Type: High School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starfull star Advocate

Usage: I would collect data from satellites to create projects to work on

Strengths: Good variety in types of data that can be collected.

Suggestions for Improvement: more info to be collected in data sets
resources on projects and curriculum in math/physics/engineering that can be done with the data

Verdict: Awesome way to do PBL that integrates with math and science

Katherine, Teacher. School Type: Elementary School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: If I am an upper grade teacher, this would be a great tool and program for students to have the opportunity to incorporate science lesson with hands on experience and the use of technology.

Strengths: It provides all the materials needed with kits, and online programs for teachers to use.

Suggestions for Improvement: It would be wonderful to have cost cut down in order to provide more schools to introduce this product and program to students.

Verdict: A great tool for students to learn collaboration and learning with science, math and reading content that can excite students learning.

Mr, Teacher. School Type: Middle School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, 1:1 Devices, Blended Learning
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: Cost is too high. Would try and crowd source, but need that to fund.

Strengths: I really like the connection to students learning and pulling in space. Having set lessons about what the students could track on their website.

Suggestions for Improvement: getting it into the classroom at $3000 is pretty steep.
The ability to find a cheaper way to fund
No low cost model.

Verdict: I think the idea is great, and the ability to program a device is critical in this day in age. Having pre-made lessons on how to use the Ardruino based unit is crucial.

Sharon, Director Of Innovation. School Type: Elementary School, Middle School, Project Based School, 1:1 Devices
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would use it w/ 5th grade -8th grade science and 7th & 8th grade intercession loved the ISS satellite connection

Strengths: Cost is high because we already bought ardunios & grove sensors I love that curriculum is open source

Suggestions for Improvement: Work w/ blackly and Python develop online course mapping new CSTA standards to connections with NGSS science standards

Verdict: It works with our current ardunios and raspberry pi experiments can be done in space. Cost is high for sensor

Teacher, School Type: High School
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: To teach earth science in particular about earthquakes, volcanoes. It would use it for engineering projects

Strengths: 1) It uses recent tech advances
3) It doesn't look fully developed or tested enough in classroom

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) more experiments available
2) more user friendly
3) cheaper

Verdict: In favor: It's real high tech, cutting edge, uses satellite
Against: It doesn't have enough activities or labs yet. shows great potential

Student, School Type: Higher Education
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Extra-curricular activities for students interested in the field of space

Strengths: Introduces students to space study and some of the career opportunities in this sector

Suggestions for Improvement: partner with summer space camps to fully reach the target market

Verdict: Very interesting subject area however not related to the curriculum enough apart from upper secondary/ higher education

Speech Therapist, School Type: High School, Higher Education
Sep 10, 2016

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Very high for my students as I work with special education students.

Strengths: Its a great tool. It works very well as it provides visual feedback and interactive.

Suggestions for Improvement: communication and sharing of data between schools. Sharing views. Sharing ideas.

Verdict: It may be useful for a pass time activity for general ed high functioning students.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up