Product Index
Teacher Needs
In Summit Reflections, educators review tools that they have seen at an EdSurge Tech for Schools Summit. Summit Reflections can only be completed onsite at the event; reviewers are incentivized to leave reviews.
Mike, Teacher. School Type: High School, College Prep School, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: i would use it for tutoring, to connect with my students via internet. This eliminated the hassle for parents to go out of their way to drive to their tutors or vice versa. Also, opens up doors for better and improved learning for the students as they get a virtual learning space.

Strengths: This product allows you to address the whole classroom but also allows the educator to create modified lessons which you can share with specific students. It's great because each student has their own account and since both modified lessons and original whole class based lessons are being given on the same grounds, ALL students feel included and no child is left behind.

Suggestions for Improvement: I am not TOO familiar with the product yet however, I was wondering is there a space where students can chat with one another about the lessons which are provided to the whole class? As that would be helpful for the teacher in order to log on and access the chat and see what sorts of difficulties/successes and questions/wonderings the students are having through the process and the things they are speaking about with their peers.

Verdict: This is a great system to keep track and manage all of the lessons you want to teach. But I love how it does not just stop at the fact that it is a great tool for teacher. Rather it opens up a virtual space for students to share resources and their learning.

Gail, Special Ed Teacher. School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population, Low Income Population, BYOD Devices
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I could digitally set up the different programs that my students presently use available all in one space.

Strengths: Keeping all of the digital spaces all in one spot for easy access by the students. They can access it at home or at school.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would make sure that the cost is very affordable for all students. Maybe a free section and then a premium section with more access to different types of programs.

Verdict: It makes navigation of different digital spaces much easier for teachers and parents to keep track of where the students need to go to complete assignments

Teacher, School Type: Middle School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starfull starno star Advocate

Usage: I would introduce students ts to new material and have them explore material that I choose independently.

Strengths: I like that teacher can organize their classroom and are able to be in cotrol of the sites that students can view for a subject area.

Suggestions for Improvement: I would like there to be a tool box for teacher to view and use in order to make lesson planning easier. Student comment boxes and chatroom would be great.

Verdict: This makes research engaging and fun for students. As a teacher I find it safer for students ts who are working on projects independently.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Kyte tries to share resources which brings about learning especially for high school students. I wanted to combine Physics and Math and ' for teachers by teachers' would make a lot of fun. Teaching math combined with physics would make students much more independent and life long learners.

Strengths: communication and collaboration

Suggestions for Improvement: I do not as of yet, but I see its potential for sharing and see its importance in the classroom . Since technology is the way to go today, learning will become much more engaging and involved.
Connect
user friendly
connect the content

Verdict: Students love technology and love learning on their own. As teachers, I feel we must train students to be independent in their learning. This product helps them in that sense, but it could also arise issues if they misuse it. I think it'll take them a while to get used to the new environment

Spec Ed, School Type: Elementary School, High ELL Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: I would use it for spec ed programming individual students

Strengths: This would help organize teachers in terms of programming for individual needs of students. In the case of these students, it would help to alleviate the stigma of doing different work from their classmates.

It would help teachers keep a handle on specific programmes for specific kids.

Suggestions for Improvement: It might be helpful to include an overview of what programmes or products might be helpful for teachers to educate themselves about in order to decide what resources they would want to have on their platform for both themselves and their students to have access to.

Verdict: ultimately the cost --which was not made clear at my presentation

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: Would use to keep track of students' assignments, and to use as a resource centre for them.

Strengths: The product is visually appealing and seems easy to use. It offers a lot of opportunities to interact with students (eg assign work) and to keep track of things.

Suggestions for Improvement: The badges should be aligned with the Ontario Learning Skills, making them usable for reporting to parents. The program would also benefit from having an option that you can have the information read to you.

Verdict: We are currently using D2L. It seems that a lot of the same features/abilities are being provided by this program. However, this program does seem more appealing.

Teacher, School Type: Elementary School
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starfull starno starno star Neutral

Usage: As student led instruction to recap lessons.

Strengths: Linked to the curriculum

Suggestions for Improvement: I would change the person who is promoting the product. He was not very engaging and did not make me interested in using the product. I think if I came across this website on my own I would be better off. Also, the materials available for the upper elementary was lacking and I would appreciate more programming for grades 5 and 6 specifically.

Verdict: I wouldn't necessarily promote it because but it is something that can be used from time to time.

Andrew, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: The internet connection at my site does not allow for live streaming which is essential for this software.

Strengths: The product provides an interesting and fun interface for students to immerse themselves into and will allow certain types of students an entry point to subject content.

Off site connectivity.
For students that are school avoidant, absent or ill, they can still be part of the learning via the streaming options.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) French language apps

2) An interface that would be more appealing to older students

3) Usability for times when there is no internet access. (ie built in activities that can be marked and and results to be uploaded).

Verdict: Pro
It's interactive and allows for students to stay engaged even if they are not present, due to the streaming options.
Its visually appealing and fun.

Con
Connectivity issues may be a problem.

Andrew, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: The internet connection at my site does not allow for live streaming which is essential for this software.

Strengths: The product provides an interesting and fun interface for students to immerse themselves into and will allow certain types of students an entry point to subject content.

Off site connectivity.
For students that are school avoidant, absent or ill, they can still be part of the learning via the streaming options.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) French language apps

2) An interface that would be more appealing to older students

3) Usability for times when there is no internet access. (ie built in activities that can be marked and and results to be uploaded).

Verdict: Pro
It's interactive and allows for students to stay engaged even if they are not present, due to the streaming options.
Its visually appealing and fun.

Con
Connectivity issues may be a problem.

Andrew, Teacher. School Type: High School, Low Income Population
Oct 3, 2015

full starfull starno starno starno star Wouldn't Advocate

Usage: The internet connection at my site does not allow for live streaming which is essential for this software.

Strengths: The product provides an interesting and fun interface for students to immerse themselves into and will allow certain types of students an entry point to subject content.

Off site connectivity.
For students that are school avoidant, absent or ill, they can still be part of the learning via the streaming options.

Suggestions for Improvement: 1) French language apps

2) An interface that would be more appealing to older students

3) Usability for times when there is no internet access. (ie built in activities that can be marked and and results to be uploaded).

Verdict: Pro
It's interactive and allows for students to stay engaged even if they are not present, due to the streaming options.
Its visually appealing and fun.

Con
Connectivity issues may be a problem.

Get our email newsletterSign me up
Keep up to date with our email newsletterSign me up